We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wood Farm Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Turramurra, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What a find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

We found this purely by chance what a great experience
Claire is a great host extremely friendly, great cook.
The breakfast was amazing.
So nice to be able to walk around a working farm
The rooms are large and extremely comfortable with period furniture.
A decent bathroom and good sized shower, unusual for England.
The information pack in the rooms was very helpful.
Unfortunately we could only stay one night, the four of us can not thank Claire enough for one of the highlights in accommodation on our trip to England

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank peterdisyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
95
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

An absolutely wonderful B and B. Helen is a lovely host and went out of her way to ensure that, as a Coeliac, my needs were catered for. The breakfasts were wonderful and very filling - her scrambled eggs were awesome - best we've ever had! We were in York for The Great Gathering of A4 steam engines at the railway museum, Wood Farm is 5 mins from the park and ride so was perfectly situated. On finding that we'd been to the museum for this special event, Helen left the local paper out for us to read - how thoughtful. Wood Farm is peaceful with lovely views - highly recomend.

Room Tip: They are all lovely - Poppy is very nice as it has double aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turaabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

After being double booked by another local B & B, we booked into Wood farm at the last minute. We we're made to feel very welcome on our arrival and during our short stay. The room was spacious, bright, clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was fantastic with a varied choice. I would not hesitate to stay again and will be recommending Wood farm to family and friends.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markdddd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yateley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

Wood Farm is a small working farm in the complete peace and quiet of the countryside that belies its position just off the York Ring-Road giving speedy access to the City Centre and easy access to various major routes away from the City

We would support all the previous positive reviews about staying at the farm and would not hesitate to return if again in the York area

Friendly, helpful, clean and comfortable - wonderful views

Room Tip: The 'Garden Room' faces wonderful rural views - the bathroom is a just a little tight on spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PMandPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaluma, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and highly recommend this relaxing and friendly accomodation. The room was spacious, immaculately clean and had everything the traveller needed. The location was perfect, close enough for sightseeing in and around York but with a feeling of seclusion. Both hostesses were quite helpful in directions and suggestions.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbfcbf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Ww stayed for four nights and couldn't reccomend it more highly! the beds were supremely comfortable and the decoration and ambience delightful. Claire and helen were so helpful - lots of local knowledge and infomation about local attractions. Breakfast wonderful - with home made breads and preserves. I am very fussy about where I stay and really Wood Farm ticked all my boxes!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank serafinaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

we stayed for 1 night as i had an interview for a job. It was a lovely place to stay and not that far from where i had to go. the breakfast was lovely and host was really nice and friendly. i was very supprised how quiet it was for a working farm, but it was so quiet in the lovely rooms. I will hopefuly be there again next week

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy1356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipton-by-Beningbrough
2.4 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel
6.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn York North West Hotel
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn York North Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Sidings Hotel
The Sidings Hotel
#1 of 3 in Shipton-by-Beningbrough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wood Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wood Farm Bed and Breakfast

Property: Wood Farm Bed and Breakfast
Address: Wood Farm | Shipton by Beningbrough, Shipton-by-Beningbrough YO30 1BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Shipton-by-Beningbrough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shipton-by-Beningbrough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wood Farm Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome assured all year at Wood Farm (arable and livestock farm). A Victorian house with period features and antique furniture. Hearty Aga cooked breakfast (using local produce including homemade bread and preserves) awaits you after a restful night in large en-suite bedrooms (one with four-poster bed). The farm is ideally situated for visiting the historic city of York, Herriott country, North Yorkshire Moors, Yorkshire Dales and many National Trust Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Wood Farm Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wood Farm b&b
Wood Farm Hotel Shipton-By-Beningbrough
Wood Farm Bed And Breakfast Shipton-By-Beningbrough, UK - Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing