We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and in need of TLC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marton Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marton
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Old and in need of TLC”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Spent the weekend at the Marton Country Club, OK it's tired and in need of investment. If you want the Ritz for the price of a 1* Hotel you are on a different planet. I really cannot understand why people always see a negative or just like to moan. The rooms are large and the basics are there. The staff were friendly and the breakfast is a self service and plenty of it so you can fill your boots failing that pop across the road to the Rudds for a chain meal. The place is tired but has a character about it, People do your homework before embarking on a trip to save the hasle. I have stayed in worse in the UK and in the USA but you get what you pay for. I know the Club from old an knew what I was getting.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a refurb room for the space, if you don't like it ask for a change.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    68
    59
    42
    76
See reviews for
74
73
24
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
middlesbrough
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Terrible hotel, disgusting cold food, dirty decor, rude staff and a manager with "little man syndrome". This place makes faulty towers look like the ritz. Would urge people to give this place a miss because once you have been you will definitely not return!

Room Tip: There isn't a good room, they are all bad!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marton hotels

Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

This hotel is really in need of complete refurbishment. I had booked a 'superior' room via the net however if the room I stayed was superior I cant imagine the condition of non superior room. There was a smell to the hotel, worn carpets, bedroom furniture scratched. The duvets were thin and useless, bathroom required some work to remove stains around bath, shower screen not cleaned properly. The walls are very thin and there was a thin door connecting my room to another room which meant I could hear every conversation even though the other guests were not talking specifically loud. Their telly kept me awake til 2am! It was not a pleasant experience and I could not wait to leave. The only positive comment I have is about the food, I ordered from bar menu on the first night and it was very nice.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Locals4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Read reviews and take note, this place AT LEAST needs to have a rethink on its name!! Bad bed sits for rent is more apt. Very tired décor, poor staff. not even electric showers. Stained carpets, mouldy bathrooms. IT DID however have a reasonable TV.

Room Tip: Premier inn down the road!!
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank cidersuperstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Do not stay here, I can not emphasise this enough! It is truly dire and the worst hotel I have ever had the misfortune to stay in. The décor was like walking back into 1971, didn't look like it had been cleaned and updated since well, 1971. The smell when you walked in, was like a big wet dog, which died in 1971... the room was although spacious, very dated, the bed spread was stained and had quite clearly not been cleaned, the furniture was in disrepair, the bathroom had lots of mildew around the shower and the shower door, the sink had a hair grip stuck in the plug hole, which had been there for a long time going by the slime around it. Although breakfast is included it was vile and inedible. The staff were surly and rude. In fact it was so bad, that as soon as we walked in the room we tried to book another hotel, but unfortunately everywhere else was fully booked.

Room Tip: Choose the Premier Inn down the road (1.5 miles away)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natasha999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We have stayed here around 3 times when we go and visit family in Middlesbrough. We have always had a good experience and found the hotel very good value for money. It is quite large and in a nice location in Middlesbrough though not near the town. The rooms come in two grades - refurbished and unrefurbished - obviously the latter being cheaper. We have stayed in both and although the refurbished rooms are nicely decorated, the unrefurbished rooms are OK too. The price includes breakfast and the food was excellent every time we've stayed - a great choice of cereals, toast, cooked English breakfast and drinks. There is a car park and the hotel is straight off the dual carriageway which makes things easy. The downside however, really revolves around the attitude of some of the staff. This is disappointing as courtesy and flexibility cost nothing, it shouldn't matter how cheap the rooms are! We arrived at midday after a 5 hour drive - the check in time was 1pm. We were immediately told that the room "probably" wouldn't be ready. The man on reception did not check with anyone and immediately stated that check in isn't until 1pm so we could wait. Yes, strictly speaking, check in isn't until 1pm but I have never stayed anywhere where they rigidly stick to this and aren't able to be flexible. I suspect it was to entice us to spend money in the bar. We had a family occasion to attend so didn't return to the hotel until around 6pm. I later found out that our room was actually ready first thing in the morning as my brother was shown it when he went in to enquire about a family room. He did not like the room and decided to go elsewhere. I know we were in the family room despite booking a double room because we had a locked adjoining door in our room through which we could hear every word/movement from the person next door. This meant we had to move rooms at around 1am as we had no privacy whatsoever, and neither did the occupant next door - unbeknownst to him we had heard every word of his telephone conversation. This was an unrefurbished room but it didn't even have lamps. The staff in the restaurant are a mixed bunch - some really friendly and helpful and some arrogant and surly. Thank God for a lovely young lady on reception who was very welcoming and also the night receptionist/manager who moved us into a different room, with no fuss doing whatever he could to make it easy for us. We probably will stay again because the positives outweigh the negatives but it's hard to understand how some businesses would lose good customers for the sake of good service which doesn't cost them anything.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank borolass70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

On arrival at the hotel we were offered an upgrade. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom could have done with a bit of a clean to remove some limescale.
Breakfast could not be faulted neither could the evening meal we had. The staff were all friendly and very helpful. The only criticism was the lack of wi-fi in our room. Apparently some parts of the hotel cannot get this so do ask on arrival. All in all this was an enjoyable stay and great value for money. The hotel may look a bit tired but it was more than adequate for our needs. We would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SharonJane2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marton
2.5 mi away
Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
1.6 mi away
Blue Bell Lodge
Blue Bell Lodge
#8 of 11 in Middlesbrough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Middlesbrough Central South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middlesbrough - Centre Square
2.1 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#9 of 11 in Middlesbrough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
3.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
#4 of 11 in Middlesbrough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marton Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marton Hotel & Country Club

Property: Marton Hotel & Country Club
Address: Stokesley Road, Marton, Middlesbrough TS7 8DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Middlesbrough > Marton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marton Hotel & Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marton Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marton Hotel And Country Club
Marton Hotel & Country Club Middlesbrough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing