We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning, homely & excellent hosts!”

Colton Haggs Farm Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tadcaster
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Colton Haggs Farm Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Tadcaster B&B and Inns
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stunning, homely & excellent hosts!”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The website doesn't do it justice, just such a lovely B&B, perfect amenities and the host was spot on. Beautiful hearty breakfast and comfortable bed. Luxury bathroom, a real treat. In a quiet location but perfect for business or pleasure, very quick trip to York Business Park.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
28
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stayed for 3 nights at this delightful 'home from home' . Catherine has only been doing B & B for two years, but it doesn't show! Nothing was too much trouble and we were made very welcome from the moment we arrived.
Although Colton Haggs is a working farm, it is very relaxed with superbly appointed accommodation. We had the room with the bath, but the room next to ours with the huge walk-in power shower would have been perfect as well!
Catherine manages to juggle farm life, B & B with great breakfasts, and her 3 children with aplomb. Chris(Catherine's husband), is laid-back beyond horizontal, with a hidden Yorkshire sense of humour, well worth exploring!
The local pub, Ye Old Sun Inn, is two minutes away by car and very handy for a full range of pub cuisine.
We'll definitely be finding an excuse to visit York again !

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed at this bed and breakfast for a night during our stay in York. What a gem! Perfect weclome after a very long drive. The room is basic but beautiful and the bed was so comfortable. Topped with a fab breakfast, we'll certainly stay here again when we travel to York.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stella D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Cove, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I've just had the privilege of enjoying the very high quality and great hospitality at Colton Haggs Farm Bed & Breakfast! The hugely comfortable and well appointed rooms have been designed from the granary barn of the working farm. The quality of this location has made me think why should I ever again look to stay in the standard hotels like Premier Inns or Travel Lodges. Catherine Nichols is a superb host and just can't do enough to ensure you enjoy your stay. Breakfast is provided in the small exclusive kitchen and as an added extra, the lovely old inn, Ye Old Sun Inn,' is just along the lane and where you can get some great meals.
Would definitely recommend and look forward to visiting again.
Thank you Catherine,
Sandy Lobban

Room Tip: There are only two rooms on the first floor, both equally good in terms of quality and comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed just one night with and it was perfect. Lovely welcome, beautiful room and breakfast was great. We had dinner in the pub just along the road - which was good too.

All in all a great overnight stop en-route for home!! We will certainly stay here again when we are in this part of the country.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dazndaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I've not stayed in a B&B for many years and my husband - never. I spent hours not long before a University open day trying to find reasonably priced hotels in York, but everything was either booked or disproportionately expensive. I then spent hours on the journey being subjected to: "I can't believe you've booked us into a B&B".

But, as the other guests at Colton Haggs remarked - what a find!

The room and bathroom were beautifully finished and spotlessly clean. I'm trying as I write this to think of anything I could find that was wrong, but I really can't!

We arrived at 10pm. The lights were on and we had a warm welcome from Catherine, the owner, who showed us where everything was, but then left us so we could just crash after a long, tiring day. There were three of us in one room, which was spacious enough for two adults and one teenager.

There was tea and coffee in the room, and milk and juice downstairs in the kitchenette - along with fruit and yoghurt, if we wanted it.

Breakfast was terrific and perfectly cooked, with clearly great thought given to what you might want - it was all there. There are two guest rooms, but any concern we may have felt about eating with strangers was dispelled straight away. One breakfast table was set in the kitchenette and one in the lounge.

Catherine bustled through, making sure that we and the other guests were alright and had all that we needed, but was at pains also not to intrude. However, when we started to chat, she was happy to do so and was really helpful with questions that we had, too.

She quite evidently loves what she does and it shows.

The setting is just right - close to York, rural and tranquil, but not isolated. There's a beautifully-kept courtyard with table and chairs that we would have loved to have had time to use, but we were regrettably only on a one-night visit. (We had originally booked two, but had to cut the trip short with just a couple of days' notice - again, this was not a problem, which was really refreshing!)

We would absolutely stay here again and recommend it whole-heartedly.

Even the B&B skeptic in our party is now a convert. The title of this review is how he described it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123Tete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

All the reviews prior to this are all true and more! Breakfast was huge and VERY delicious. Catherine and her family were a delight and one of the daughters ran off to the next home over just to get my wife some nonsugar sweetener for her morning tea. The views were breathtaking and the whole experience was that of peace and relaxation. This is a "must stay" for anyone looking for an authentic and off the beaten path experience. Needs to be 6 stars!

Room Tip: Only 2 rooms. Plan ahead and reserve one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mooseofblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tadcaster
1.2 mi away
Travelodge York Tadcaster Hotel
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 46 in York
1,279 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
8.8 mi away
Days Inn Wetherby
Days Inn Wetherby
#1 of 3 in Wetherby
1,798 reviews
4.6 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colton Haggs Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colton Haggs Farm Bed & Breakfast

Property: Colton Haggs Farm Bed & Breakfast
Address: Haggs Farm Hagg Lane | Colton, Tadcaster LS24 8ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Selby District > Tadcaster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Tadcaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colton Haggs Farm is located in a rural position on a working farm seven miles from York city centre. We are minutes away from the A64. The B&B is located in the newly converted Granary and consists of two luxurious King size en-suite bedrooms. Each room offers DTV, Tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer and complimentary toiletries, wifi. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing