We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit”

The Angel and White Horse
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Tadcaster
Attraction details
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Fine range of Samuel Smith Beers and Lagers all at unbelievable prices. The food is good..recommend the steak and kidney pudding. Disappointingly the food service is only 12 to 6pmWorth a visit to see the mighty Shire horses stabled in the courtyard.

Helpful?
2 Thank Glenappleyard
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    13
    6
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Super pub”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Delighted to find the pub as good as my friend's recommendation led me to believe - excellent food, service and beer. Beautiful pub, unsullied by modern rubbish. A real pub in every way. Highly recommended, worth a journey to get there.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I don't often do reviews, but was pleasantly surprised when we discovered the Angel and White Horse on a visit to friends in the North and found our experience to be worthy of a supporting review and well worth a future visit. Friendly atmosphere complimented with good food, good service and of course a good pint! Only disappointment was we had to carry on our journey and were not able to stay longer.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank AddersR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sulzbach, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We were on our way to York and just drove through Tadcaster on the off chance of finding somewhere to eat and was fortunate enough to find the Angel & White Horse, fantastic food and really great value for money. Can really recommend the sharing starter and my wife said that her Hunters Chicken was the best she had ever tasted, it was so good we went there again on the way back to Manchester Airport and it was just as good the second time.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin1605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds UK
Level Contributor
130 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“What's not to like?”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I'm not sure why this appears as an 'attraction' on TA rather than a restaurant? I guess the shire horses in the yard (beer garden) must be the reason.

We recently visited Tadcaster and are delighted that out of all the pubs we chose this one. The decor added real character as did the maze of rooms leading off from the bar. We all ate there - two of us had Sunday lunch (beef sliced as mum used to do it), one had lasagne and one had southern fried chicken burger. All of us agreed that the meals were excellent and good value. Speaking of good value - there was a great offering of beers and lagers and all were almost half-price compared to Leeds pub prices. Highly recommended every which way and would love to return.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterLeedsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Angel and White Horse also viewed

 
Towton, Selby District
 

Been to The Angel and White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing