We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Hview91
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom

Overpriced & Unfinished - Average Experience

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Dec 2017
The bungalow was spacious and though very basic, not at all unpleasant. Some of the items in my room were broken (balcony table missing a leg, mosquito net with many large holes), and the fan was worthless in as much as it circulated the warm air from outside to which the bungalows are constantly exposed at the roof.

It was difficult to work out who ran or worked at the resort as they simply didn't greet or speak to you; and there were so many builders it was impossible to differentiate. With that in mind, construction was constant throughout the day, which made sunbathing in front of the property very unpleasant as either drills or loud music would prevent you from relaxing. Ultimately, the resort isn't finished or is mid-renovation. It is worth noting here that after speaking to someone at their 'partner' resort (Reef on the Beach) the two have very recently disassociated from one another and that Coral have since made plans to market the resort to backpackers.

Their pricing will need some serious readjustment, as at $40 per night it isn't worth it as a mid range resort, let alone as a crash pad for young travellers.

There are minimum food options here too - which would be both cooked and served in the middle of a building site. In my 3 days here, I saw no one order anything.

The beach itself (and thus the hotels location) is beautiful. But there are many other properties along the stretch which offer far superior options and service for less or at least better value for money.
Date of stay: December 2017
Room Tip: Put simply, way overpriced.
Trip type: Travelled solo
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.3 miles from Coral Resort (By Reef Resort)
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £191
  • Hotels.com
2.1 miles from Coral Resort (By Reef Resort)
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £172
  • Hotels.com
2.1 miles from Coral Resort (By Reef Resort)
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £125
  • Hotels.com
2.2 miles from Coral Resort (By Reef Resort)
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £1,032
  • Booking.com
5.3 miles from Coral Resort (By Reef Resort)
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Priceline
  • Official Site
    £101
  • Vio.com
2.3 miles from Coral Resort (By Reef Resort)
Free Wifi
Beachfront
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
    £80
  • StayForLong
4.0 miles from Coral Resort (By Reef Resort)
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £55
  • Booking.com
0.4 miles from Coral Resort (By Reef Resort)
Free Wifi
Pool
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
7.3 miles from Coral Resort (By Reef Resort)
Beachfront
Restaurant
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
    £186
  • Trip.com
3.0 miles from Coral Resort (By Reef Resort)
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Koh Rong
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
11
4
4
4
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
11
4
4
4
8
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed there for 3 nights.
The bungalows are nice, big and clean. The bathroom was clean as well, but has no door.
All bungalows feature a big terrasse with chairs & a table.
There are 4 “ocean view“ bungalows available, but actually one of them is located behind the reception & restaurant, so you have no real ocean view. The other ocean view bungalows have better view, but are still not directly at the beach front, so you see the ocean behind the planted trees and big sand beach.
Breakfast is not included and was between average and bad, especially when you consider the prices.
Staff was friendly, but not really helpful and alert.
The beach is very nice and clean, but they only have about 7 beach chairs, which is not enough for all guests.

Conclusion: Lovely Bungalow, but bad value for money (way overpriced)

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Weltenbummlerine
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 November 2017

It seems Coral and associated Reef were still preparing for high season during our visit. . .yet charge high season prices starting Nov. 15.

Perhaps the biggest blunder was the Khmer staff:
"What are my options for snorkeling? Sorry, we don't really know about that."
"Where can I see the Plankton at night? Sometimes you can go somewhere and see some plankton."
"This advertisement on your reception counter says this tour goes on Tuesday. . . tomorrow. Do you know how to contact them? No sir."

Many menu items were unavailable and the cocktails were uninspiring, so we found ourselves elsewhere to eat and drink. Long Set Resort is a bit pricier than its neighbors, but has a great restaurant with 12-6pm happy hour large $3 cocktails. Pura Vita's staff were very cheerful and hustled to provide good service. The staff at Reef, foreign and Khmer alike, were also very accommodating for activities.

The music in Coral's restaurant was also egregious. First, for it's volume level that disturbs several rooms in its proximity. Second, the "Khmer techno" runs completely counter to the relaxing atmosphere that should be promoted. On the topic of tranquility, it's also important to note that the neighbor on the far side is undergoing some ambitious construction projects.

It was really a 2 star experience for us, but there's a new Western fella coming in that should hopefully be able to straighten a few things out. . .just seems he should have been there before Nov. 15 =/

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 3 days at Coral Resort located on 4k beach, then moved on further to Sok San beach. Can therefore comprare and review with sense since we tried 2 resorts on 2 different areas.

If you pay USD$15 per night (or $20 at MOST during Best season)  this would have been rated 3 stars. HOWEVER we paid USD$60 during low season start: No breakfast included, no warm shower, no toilet door, just a Fan, broken chairs, broken table legs, floor boards that were spaced so far apart you'd Lose your belongings between them if you'd dropped them, the list goes on... Staff was very friendly (but that shouldnt count here because Cambodians are very warm people in general). Basically we had the impression that the owners didn't care about hospitality at all. You'd pay less for better hospitality in EUROPE!  If you buy a Brand New Cherry QQ (Cheapest car ever)  even with leather seats, full Electronic Equipment and porno rims, you cant expect to pay $50,000 because thats just another product. Whoever reads this, spend your money on SOK San beach instead. I have a Review there that'll Inform you of what Basic Hospitality for the price span of $60-$100 a night on koh-rong you deserve to get. Now, thats where you should be staying to get a positive impression of KOH-RONG. Coral beach is just a typical "cut throat Cash in where you can" type of Business. Go home and get yourselves a 9-5 Job, gentlemen. Hospitality isnt your Strength. Unless you learn from your Sok San Colleagues, or your Long Set Resort neighbours (they have a World class Restaurant by the way, food at long set beach Was 5 star), i wouldnt be surprised if Coral Resort closes in the next year or 2. The only positive thing was the dive centre. We had a very good dive guide, but that was all. If you have to stay on 4k beach and would have to pay anything above USD$20 a night,  DON'T stay at Coral. If its less than $20 a night it's ok. 

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank Lut D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Me and my partner spent 3 nights at Coral Resort and loved it! Dave and the staff are really lovely and helpful, the rooms were great and the beach was amazing despite the stormy weather. I would definitely recommend staying here for a few days to rest and relax. The food was great and reasonably priced and the adorable puppy was an added bonus.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lachymilligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Coral_Resortkr, General Manager at Coral Resort (By Reef Resort), responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Lachy, thanks for your review mate! It was a pleasure having you guys stay with us. Hope to see you back one day in the dry season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

Only stayed 1 night but would have loved to stay longer The Australian Manager Dave a Chef and and his Wife Srey Pow are the perfect hosts service is impeccable and the meals unbelievable. Large very clean rooms with beautiful views of the pristine beaches at very affordable prices.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Coral_Resortkr, General Manager at Coral Resort (By Reef Resort), responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Terry, thanks for your wonderful review mate! It was a pleasure having you here and hopefully next time it will be for longer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews