We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Earthy, Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lonely Beach Koh Rong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The beach here is absolutely beautiful, so is the surrounding landscape, magnificent sunsets, fresh air and awesome bird sounds. It takes 4hrs by boat to get to the island, a long boat trip, slow boat. The accommodation is very basic with Kmer bathroom, but normal toilet. The bungalows are clean, bed clean and comfortable. The food is basic, some tasty, and well priced. Make sure you take lots of insect repellent, and a torch at night to walk around from the restaurant to your cabin. We had to ask for clean towels each day, so make sure you ask for those. An awesome place, but lacks infrastructure.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ruth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

Lonely Beach has its own boat transfer service so arrange this with them beforehand. The boat ride is 3hrs long but allows you to enjoy the views of the sea, busy coast and provides a good opportunity for pre-beach sunbathing. Dani, the resort manager, is kind, warm and cheerful. He's also fluent in many languages, including German, French, English and Cambodian. The resort itself is basic, it allows you to experience island life as it should be. No frills, no modern amenities like air conditioning or hot showers but you can't expect more if you're looking for a pristine, lonely beach, true to its name. The waters are crystal clear, the sand powdery to the touch and the photos you take away are postcard perfect. The food is also surprisingly better than most high rated restaurants, which made the whole experience even better. The sunsets are beautiful, the starry nights and fluorescent plankton in the water at night, simply magical. The nights spent in the bungalows let you be as close to nature as possible, with spiders, geckos and birds all around. Highly recommended resort for those looking for a romantic, idyllic and quiet getaway.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank OliKay2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

As long as you understand how Basic this place is going to be, and are ok with that, then you must visit! We stayed in the dorm for 3 nights in April 2014.

The beach and it's surroundings can only be described as paradise. The most amazing sunset Iv seen in 2 months travelling and nature right on the doorstep. The owner was a lovely guy who was happy to chat to us :)

Would have been even better if there was an offer of a boat trip or guided walk to break up the days of sitting on the beach (as pleasant as that was!)

The food on the whole was really nice and reasonably (ish) priced.

Would recommend :-)

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I don't know where to start....as the ferry turned up to Lonely Beach, I was convinced I had found paradise. The place was so peaceful, the waters calm and inviting, and the surrounding jungle mostly untouched. It was exactly what I was looking for - I needed to disconnect from the world for a while and it was the perfect island escape. I've not been to Thailand before, but I heard other people remark that the island itself is like what Thailand was many years ago. I stayed in one of the Bungalows for 4 nights - they were basic, comfortable and very clean, and solar-powered. Danny, the French guy that runs the place, is a very nice guy, knows a lot about the area and is very helpful. The kitchen staff were lovely, always available, and whip up some great, reasonably priced meals. Highly highly highly recommend the fish/seafood if they manage to get some (all dependant on availability). The fresh juices were lovely. The beach is raked every day which eliminates the sand fly problem. I spent a lot of time in the water - I had never seen anything like it, the beach was extremely clean and the water was exactly how it looks in the photos I posted. The night-swimming with the plankton was great, as was swimming under millions of stars!

NOW is the time to visit this place. Talking to locals, there is already talk of developments on the island, including building a main road through it (at the moment there are no cars), a hotel right where Lonely Beach is, and even an airport. It's not a matter of if, but when. I feel extremely grateful to have found this place, and the other travellers I met were to. There was mutual agreement as to how lucky we were to be there and experience this amazing place.

Handy Tip: Take enough insect repellent/sunscreen for your stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diego G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for something different from your usual hotel or hostel then this is the place to stay! No wifi and no running water... But this is what adds to the charm of the place. Most of the time is spent on the beautiful empty beach anyway! At night time it is possible to see the plankton in the ocean, I also saw shooting stars and fire flies! The dorm is good value for 8 dollars and the food tastes yummy and is also reasonably priced. If you can handle insects and bucket showers then you will love this place!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank hughannak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

One of the most romantic days spent there! You get wellcomed like a good friend. The place has an energy efficiency plan, no wifi and lots of perfect sand and clear blue water. There is a hundred meters to the next sunbed! Food is awesome, too. We want to go right back!!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank arck84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

we had the most amazing laid back time and felt like staying with friends. danny, the owner, makes you feel at home right away!
the bungalows are simple but lovely made and the whole energy saving concept is well done! just bring enough moskito repellant as well as sun screen as it is really lonely out there! no wifi neither but that makes it even more relaxing!!! we would send family and best friends there! call yourself lucky if you make it there!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Markus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Rong hotels
4.3 mi away
Sok San Beach Resort
Sok San Beach Resort
#2 of 38 in Koh Rong
327 reviews
7.4 mi away
Coconutbeach Bungalows
Coconutbeach Bungalows
#1 of 38 in Koh Rong
239 reviews
7.7 mi away
White Beach Bungalows
White Beach Bungalows
#3 of 44 in Koh Rong
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Song Saa Private Island
Song Saa Private Island
#1 of 3 in Koh Rong
431 reviews
7.4 mi away
Nest Beach Club
Nest Beach Club
#2 of 44 in Koh Rong
51 reviews
2.2 mi away
Palm Beach Bungalow Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lonely Beach Koh Rong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lonely Beach Koh Rong

Address: Koh Rong 18000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Koh Kong Province > Koh Rong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Koh Rong
Price Range: £10 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lonely Beach is your unique opportunity to experience true beach life. We're situated in a remote bay in the North of Koh Rong, miles away from the party beach in the South. It is so remote, that you can reach us only by the Lonely Beach boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lonely Beach Koh Rong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing