We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£18
Priceline
£18
Go to your Happy Price
Expedia.com
£22
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Camille R
Antwerp, Belgium

Great, but a bit overpriced

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Aug 2016via mobile
Lets's start with what I loved: first and foremost (and definitely upping the rating) the Dutch owners and chef are wonderful people; warm, welcoming and friendly. Loved them and how open they were. They really did their best to make you feel home and have a good time. Then, the beach has an amazing view, but is unfortunately covered with rocks, making swimming somewhat hard and sometimes painful. It's VERY secluded - which we loved - with just a small authentic fishing village nearby. The bungalows are very basic, but clean, however showering was a bit troublesome, sometimes there was no water at all. I loved our stay, but there were unfortunately a few things that really could be improved: to begin with the menu was a bit bland and IMO with low quality/portion/price ratio. We missed small snacks, everything on the menu is a full meal. However, this is the situation ATM, the chef is new and assured me they'd change the menu entirely. I have high hopes for that. The bungalows seem a bit overpriced too, since they are that basic. And finally, the boat trip, which you have to take, because otherwise you can't get there, is definitely overpriced. It's basically an oversized songthaew, which goes reaaaally slow and costs 25$ (2-way) pp. So, all in all: wonderful people, really chill atmosphere, with plenty to do (snorkeling, swimming with bioluminiscent plankton, hikes, ...) but a bit overpriced for food, lodging and transit. Thank you all, we really enjoyed it and I'm certain you will be able to lift it to the next level!
Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£58
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £67
  • Agoda.com
    £39
  • Trip.com
    £68
3.4 miles from Palm Beach Bungalow Resort
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Beach Front
Booking.com
£93
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    £59
  • Vio.com
    £64
  • eDreams
    £93
5.3 miles from Palm Beach Bungalow Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
£85
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £85
  • Vio.com
    £78
  • Trip.com
    £82
3.5 miles from Palm Beach Bungalow Resort
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Booking.com
£4
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    £4
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
5.3 miles from Palm Beach Bungalow Resort
Beachfront
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £83
  • Agoda.com
    £64
  • Priceline
    £83
3.5 miles from Palm Beach Bungalow Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £194
  • Agoda.com
    £171
  • Hotels.com
    £197
5.1 miles from Palm Beach Bungalow Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £126
  • Agoda.com
    £92
  • Hotels.com
    £130
3.7 miles from Palm Beach Bungalow Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £110
  • Agoda.com
    £83
  • Hotels.com
    £101
3.9 miles from Palm Beach Bungalow Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £35
  • Trip.com
    £29
  • Priceline
    £39
6.0 miles from Palm Beach Bungalow Resort
Beachfront
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £57
  • Hotels.com
    £52
  • Priceline
    £59
5.6 miles from Palm Beach Bungalow Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Koh Rong
Reviews (422)
Filter reviews
422 results
Traveller rating
186
122
43
32
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
186
122
43
32
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mosquito net remote island beach bungalow hammocks badminton cambodia paradise koh fan bucket
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
171 - 176 of 422 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

We booked at palm beach resort, we knew by mistake that we were obliged to go with them to the island (2h) and that there was almost no other way to come back with the regular ferry, we had tk leave the next day at 9h30 and it took again 2h! It was like being stuck there
Nice place but really cut out of everything, almost no water to shower, the food of the restaurant is not really tasty

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Pauleh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 June 2016

We got a bungalow right on the beach, just a few meters from the sea. Was really nice to hear the sound of the ocean at night. The place was perfect for relax. Comfy bed, mosquito net and bathroom. Simple. No need for more. Although they have some luxury bungalows if you want.
There are many things to do, like kayaking, exploring fishermen village, snorkeling, swimming at night with bio-luminiscent plancton, or having some drinks and playing billard at the bar.
The food was great, and the staff was very friendly, polite and they are very good english speakers. Another good point is that the owner is always there in case you have a major need.
The boat to the island was a bit slow, it took like 2 hours, but is a experience...
I think is a great place for all kind of travelers. Also they told me they are building some dorms for backpackers.

Room tip: You can get a bungalow right on the beach. Also they have "jungle bungalows".
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ariel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 June 2016 via mobile

Palm Beach is no 5 star resort, it is authentic, and we had an experience of a lifetime.

We stayed in one of the "tree house" bungalows which they call the "honeymoon suite" which is nestled high up at the tree top with panoramic views over the ocean. The inside of the bungalow has a feature wall which is actually part of the tree trunk. At night you can sit on the balcony under the moonlight just listening to the waves crashing just below. Now I travel quite regularly for my work often staying in 5 star hotels all around the world, but this has to be the most special place I have ever had the pleasure to stay in.

One afternoon we took a boat cruise around the island and there was a spectacular sunset and the people surrounding me were so beautiful and genuine that I felt like I was with my family than the people who run the resort. It was one of those moments when the penny dropped and you realise this is what relaxing and having a true holiday is all about and what I have been searching for.

This resort is located in one of the most remote parts of the island and on most nights on one side it is so quiet you can have the whole beach to yourself. One night we decided to take a skinny dip under the stars and we swam out far enough to see the plankton which glows like sparklers under the water. It was an experience so out of this world it felt like a little slice of heaven on earth.

One afternoon we took a short boat trip to Preaek Svey, a nearby village where the locals live in shacks made out of corrugated iron and old timber slats built over the water on rickety timber stilts. The people here don't have much at all but from walking around the village I was infected with their contentedness.

In all we booked our stay for 3 nights but somehow ended up staying for 10. We could have easily stayed for 100, time has no meaning here. We made friends there for life and unforgettable experiences. Now that isn't something that happens to you everyday.

Palm Beach is a place to go if you feel like going somewhere to escape the rat race for a while.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank inpharmation
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 June 2016

A painfully slow ferry fueling our anticipation of the island finally let us get the first glimpse of the place. I couldn't believe my eyes - for the price I had paid, the place looked out of a luxury travel magazine. Then... the boat jerked left a bit, then a bit more... and then we finally saw the quay where we were going to get offloaded. Our Khmer captain told us what we saw first was Song Sa, something I may not afford in this lifetime.
Okay... so the Palm Beach Resort. It is so rustic... it's as if you've cast away and are living on some undiscovered island. There's no electricity, no wi-fi (therefore), no transport, no roads, nothing really - which is the greatest part. Well, it's not so empty. There's the restaurant, which is kind a' well appointed. The little bungalows are nice too.
The owner/manager Mr. Rick is mmm... a person you'd enjoy with if you get along. I had a great time chatting away into the night with him and the number of cocktails he made for me. Food is good too - typical SE Asian sea food.
CREATURE WARNING! There are geckos. And they're huge. And they're all over the place. They're harmless. But, I am petrified of them. Some kind a' like them.
Okay, so, the resort has palms and hammocks... and you can read a book with a cocktail or a beer, or simply snooze all afternoon. There are Kayaks and the ocean is calm and shallow, so it's perfect to paddle around in the mornings.
CREATURE ALERT! Be careful if you try to swim or jump off the kayak in the shallow areas. There are sea urchins, and their spines sting.
In the night, there's this beach towards the other side of the restaurant, where the sea is shallow for quite a distance. Take a flashlight and walk in. There you get to see the fluorescent plankton. It is something else. Must experience it.
CREATURE CAUTION: Sand flies have a painful sting and scratching the itch is very painful and not a pretty sight. Carry insect repellents.

So, we didn't really think of the super luxury Song Sa next door (actually it's another island) for as long as we were at this (Palm Beach Resort) place. The return ferry was a smaller boat with a lot of backpackers. It was slower than the one that got us to the island. So slow, that we missed our flight out of Sihanoukville to Angkor. Nevertheless, the experience was a memorable one.

FINAL ADVISE: I heard that there is a lot of investment coming to the island from Chinese businessmen, and the island would end up becoming a Koh Samui and lose all it's natural, cut-off charm.

Room tip: Choose the bungalows away from the restaurant.
Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank AshwinGarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 May 2016

Unlike other resorts on Kohrong this one is secluded and by itself.
A peaceful haven with long unspoilt beaches on either side of the resort. Don't go for only one or two nights, because you will be sorry and extend.
The owners, Moraya and Roy look after you real well, the staff is friendly and always there toattend to your wishes.
Ah-sey behind the bar gives excellent and friendly service.
One feels at home and can relax.
The accomodation was great with 24 hour/day electricity.
Our 4 nights were over much too fast.....

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank mpsunseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews