We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Appalling”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Island Palace Bungalows and Guesthouse
Ranked #19 of 36 Koh Rong B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Appalling”
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

How this place has the nerve to charge $25 a night is beyond me. The 'rooms' are more like dorms, as you can hear everyone and everything all night. Bathroom crap, staff unfriendly to the point of sarcasm. They gave us the keys, pointed to me and said 'he knows where the rooms are' and went back to their smartphones. They need to pull their socks up or the place will deservedly fail.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank DJBobH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    9
    14
    4
    11
See reviews for
1
18
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Perched on the top of palm trees, the little wood bungalows are nice but very simple. No real comfort, only a few hours of electricity and wifi but you are in nature... so you expect authenticity and hearing birds around. This is what you can have at Island Palace Bungalows. Take your earplugs if you want to sleep well, no isolation, of course you are in a wooden small house! Don't expect too much from the service.
But the island is definitely a place to go to and stay 1 or 2 nights on.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoeF22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

It's overpriced (35 dollar) for this very very basic room,u can see into small hols to the other rooms and down, if somebody talk in a room 10m away u hear it and we also had rats in our room,its basically not isolated from the nature at all ether

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank bigdavus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Koh Rong hotels

Sarasota, FL
Level Contributor
107 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

There seems to be a serious lack of information about what this place and island are like, so, here we go:

First, the island:

This is a party island, at least the east side of it is. I am ‘only’ 34 and I was in the top 3% of the oldest people on the island. The strip of hotels and bars on the east side are a prime backpacker destination, while the west side, though only 2-3 guesthouses, is where the real magic happens beach- and beauty-wise. So, if you’re an “old” lady like me, know that. You can always hike or take a boat to the west side, if you still want some nightlife, though. (I didn’t hike because I wasn’t feeling the jungle full of snakes vibe).

Music on hotel row starts at 8, gets louder at 10, and doesn’t stop til anywhere from 1 to 3 a.m. Ear plugs help.


Now the guesthouse:

* We stayed in a longhouse on the beach on the 2nd floor; there are a total of ten or so rooms in this big building up front (the bungalows are set behind on the hill). The top of the wall/ceilings are totally open and connected, so hope and pray you have courteous neighbors who don’t come home screaming and smoking at 3 a.m.

* Wifi did NOT work the 4 nights we were there, and electricity was sporadic, sometimes going off at 2 a.m., sometimes 11:30 pm. Kind of a bummer when that fan goes off, both for cooling and for white-noise :(

* Despite being relatively open to the elements, bugs were not a big problem in the room at all. We looked, no bed bugs to speak of (and my husband is pretty much a bed bug expert due to his work! I know, what a claim to fame, lol)

* Cold water shower, which was okay, but no sink, which was a little weird. I ended up liking it in the end, though, as there was a chest-high spigot you could easily wash your face in.

* While the staff was pleasant, they weren’t very present. Don’t expect too too much in the way of attention, if that’s something you need.

* We paid around $16 for the room; any more would have been criminal.

* The guesthouse is the VERY first one you encounter when coming off the pier (the slow-boat pier, at least), so that's great for those of us with a lot of luggage! By the way, the slow 2 hour ferry is pleasant, although it’s more pleasant when the waters are calm, lol.


Other suggestions:
*Food at Monkey Island up the beach (north) is absolutely fantastic. Their veggie sausages are some of the best in the world, as are the cute dogs in residence, and the staff is always fantastic. Great happy hour from 6-9, too.

*If you need a boat or a snorkeling or sunset tour, talk to Sun just 20 meters north of Monkey Island, with a stand on the beach under the pine trees. Tell him BJ & Lauren sent you.

*Your behavior: don’t be a dumb drunk, and don’t smoke in your room. 4 buildings just 3 doors down the beach straight up BURNT DOWN because of a dumb tourist on our 2nd morning. Having to pack and evacuate your hotel from a dead sleep at 6:30 a.m. because there is a raging inferno down the way is no fun (neither is losing your entire property and livelihood, I’d imagine).

All that said, Koh Rong is lovely, but know what you’re getting into. Have fun!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank QiDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
111 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I admit I’m a bit older than most of the 18-25 year-olds staying at/around this hotel option. That said, it really is at the very center of the action on the beach and therefore is SUPER loud. It is right at the pier where you come in on the boat, so it’s easy to find when you arrive. The Guesthouse has only partial walls (the ceiling is open to the next room and the next room and the next)--so you can hear EVERY word of your neighbor and your neighbor’s neighbor. You are also only 1.5 meters from the guesthouse next door so you can hear everything going on there as well. The music goes until about 2am. Earplugs make it better, but it’s still loud. The bathroom is terrible--dirty and no sink. The wifi was probably the weakest connection on the island--almost never worked in our guesthouse room.

The staff are nice. I didn’t see the bungalows on the hill, but they might be more acceptable. I suppose for the $16/night in the guesthouse it’s not a terrible value but I’d definitely opt to spend a little more for something better next time.

I definitely recommend that the rooms have fire-extinguishers. There was a fire a few doors down at a different guesthouse and fire-extinguishers would have prevented the fire from spreading and completely burning down four guesthouses. Please buy a few extinguishers and mount them outside the rooms!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BJ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

We booked this place because koh rong has a deficit of nice accommodation at high season- it is also a haunt for very young backpackers and being a bit older the location was pretty dire as it's just behind the short bar and club strip which goes on until very late and plays music I'm surprised these kids even know.
It was massively overpriced at $44 for a twin bedded simple bungalow and the cleanliness was a little dubious as there were various mosquito kill stains on the bed sheets- oh and we didn't get a towel for that price either.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jessieso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

In months of backpacking this was by far my worst experience. Two words - bed bugs. Lots and lots of bed bugs.

This is the first time I have ever looked at a bed and been able to see bugs crawling all over it (not exclusively bed bugs).

I have stayed in many rustic places in Southeast Asia and Europe, but this was unlike anything I had previously seen.

On a positive note the staff was friendly, the rooms were large and the bathrooms were clean.

However, I would steer clear.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank DAW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Rong hotels
3.7 mi away
Coconutbeach Bungalows
Coconutbeach Bungalows
#1 of 36 in Koh Rong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
6.1 mi away
Palm Beach Bungalow Resort
3.8 mi away
Sok San Beach Resort
Sok San Beach Resort
#2 of 36 in Koh Rong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Paradise Bungalows
Paradise Bungalows
#5 of 43 in Koh Rong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Beach Bungalows
White Beach Bungalows
#3 of 43 in Koh Rong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monkey Island
Monkey Island
#15 of 43 in Koh Rong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Palace Bungalows and Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Palace Bungalows and Guesthouse

Property: Island Palace Bungalows and Guesthouse
Address: Koh Touch Village, Koh Rong 18205, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Koh Kong Province > Koh Rong
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Rong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Island Palace Bungalows and Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Palace Bungalows is a brand new family run guesthouse of the highest standard for Koh Rong, a developing tourist island. Koh Rong is said to be the last gem of the southeast Asian waters, so make sure you stay in luxury for your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Island Palace Bungalows and Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing