We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Skinmeister
Los Angeles, California

Nice beachfront resort

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 Apr 2023
We stayed at Sok San Beach Resort for 5 nights this last month and really liked the place. Our room - we actually booked one of the "Family Rooms" was very spacious and - while a bit rustic - equipped with everything we needed. When we arrived the staff at first had to search for quite some time to find our reservation in the system (that part was a little unsettling after a long day of travel to get to this island hotel). But after this initial 'hick-up' they really went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable. The beach in front of the hotel is pristine, the water dreamy-turquoise blue ... just like in a travel brochure! Breakfast buffet was okay, it was nice that they had an "omelette bar" with staff preparing your order right in front of you. And for lunch/dinner - if you didn't want to have all meals at the hotel itself - there were plenty of other good restaurants in nearby Sok San Village, to keep it interesting. All in all, we would definitely recommend Sok San Resort to anyone traveling to Koh Rong island. It's a very good choice.
Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£81
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • StayForLong
  • Trip.com
3.8 miles from Sok San Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
£192
  • Expedia.com
    £196
  • Agoda.com
    £166
  • Hotels.com
    £175
2.5 miles from Sok San Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
£77
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £60
  • Vio.com
3.8 miles from Sok San Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
£69
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    £76
3.8 miles from Sok San Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Beachfront
£37
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    £33
  • StayForLong
3.9 miles from Sok San Beach Resort
Beachfront
Restaurant
£16
  • Priceline
  • Lol.travel
  • Hotels.com
    £25
3.4 miles from Sok San Beach Resort
Beachfront
Restaurant
£76
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    £82
  • Expedia.com
    £81
3.3 miles from Sok San Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
£91
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £100
0.2 miles from Sok San Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
£122
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £127
  • Agoda.com
    £105
  • Priceline
3.9 miles from Sok San Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
£886
  • Expedia.com
    £848
  • Agoda.com
    £734
  • Trip.com
3.7 miles from Sok San Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Koh Rong
Reviews (736)
Filter reviews
736 results
Traveller rating
275
210
137
68
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
275
210
137
68
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family chalet white sand nearby village sea view other parts of the island boat trip sihanoukville beach paradise pavilion garbage power bites
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 736 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2023

Where to start? Arrived today, Wi-Fi does not work. A poor start. Was showering before going out to dinner and the power went out. No lights, no water. We had dinner in the restaurant and the menu was hand written. I kid you not. Not a great start to the holiday.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JamesK5057
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 March 2023

NOPE DON’T DO IT. The hotel is nearly falling down.. the towels and sheets are thread bear,
THERE IS NO TOILET PAPER AVAILABLE!!
The rooms are tiny and need updating. Have not bothered to even clean the taps or the mirror in the bathroom.
Things are literally falling apart . The outside lights don’t work, the bed is like a rock & there is so much rubbish on what could be an amazing spot!!! Such a shame . Wouldn’t recommend this place.. Go to the new one up the road instead!!

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SallyS2145
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 January 2023 via mobile

Ignore the negative reviews!
We visited Sok San Beach Resort for Christmas 2022 and had an excellent experience. Very happy with the accommodation, we had a family chalet and a sea view pavilion - both were clean, comfortable with everything you need. Good hot shower, aircon, ceiling fan, fridge - even an iron and ironing board in the family chalet. Really comfortable beds (not hard and definitely no sign of bugs!). The beach is stunning with plenty of comfortable sun beds and beach towels supplied.
The restaurant offers a good range of Cambodian, Thai, Chinese and western dishes, and the waiting staff are brilliant. They served a fantastic buffet banquet on both Christmas and New Year’s Eve - very impressed! Breakfast was buffet style with lots of choice - serving both English and Asian breakfast dishes, eggs cooked on demand as omelet, fried or scrambled, plus cereals, fruit, pancakes.
Our only small gripe was with housekeeping - who failed to leave us clean towels on a couple of occasions, despite taking our used towels away, leaving us with none! We would have been happy to use the same towels for a few days, so suggest Sok San introduce a system whereby housekeeping only replace used towels placed in the shower. Much better for the environment too!
On the whole we really loved Sok San and feel that they are working really hard post the pandemic - I think the negative reviewers may not have considered that this is the first proper season they’ve had for two years! They are back on track, lots of maintenance happening around the resort. I would definitely go back and do not hesitate In recommending.

Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ElisaOfford
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 December 2022

If it was twenty years ago and I was a backpacker staying here for $20 a night I'd be delighted, but it's not......and I'm not paying $20 a night either!
Don't get me wrong, if it's natural beauty you are after then this place has it in bucket loads.....but that is simply an accident of nature and of no credit to the hotel itself!
The Seaview Pavilion rooms are TINY and very tired, the family rooms at least have space but are dark and lack privacy if the hotel is busy.
There is no ATM on the island, no TV in the rooms (I know there is more to life - but it would be nice to be pre-warned) and the hotel only bothers to re-stock the most expensive beer meaning you have to go elsewhere unless you enjoy being ripped off.
In addition, the bedding is stained, the towels are threadbare, the boardwalk is virtually rotten and the "Kayaks for Hire" look like they slid off the deck of the Titanic.
It is a shame as this place could be paradise, it just needs two things......a new Manager who knows how to run a business and manage a team and a few thousand dollars spending on it to bring it into the 21st century.

Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Timmyshoos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 November 2022

Our first room was very small (you don't even know where to put the luggage), stinking and full of mold . After having complaint with the travel agent, we got an upgrade of a larger room, however the whole infrastructure is not maintained at all, the pathways are broken, the mattresses on the beach are dirty and fully used. The linnens have spots.. Spa was not available (doesn't exist!) nor massage. Continental breakfast was lousy too (1 jam, 1 type of fruit and toast brea (apart of cerials). Only expensive foreign beer.. the draught was still broken (was reported I see now already in September!!)
The only nice to mention is the staff of the restaurant, which very very friendly.
Rest I can confirmed of previous report by mishbroz.

Date of stay: November 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 994suzannes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews