We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great experience”
Review of GoldenEye

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
GoldenEye
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oracabessa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

What a great way to celebrate our 25th anniversary.We could not have asked for a better place.The staff was great very friendly Ifelt like a friend when we went to the bar instead of a guest at a resort.Our beach villa was great very roomy steps from the sand with our own beach chairs.We were going to stay half on the lagoon side and half on the beach after being in the beach villa we decided to stay on the beach.You can snorkel from the beach which was awesome. We did the glass bottom boat tour with Captain who was very knowledgeable.We felt like we had the resort to ourselves it was very private. Everyday i ordered something that was not on the menu and everyday it was made no problems at all. I cannot say enough good things about the staff they were always friendly with a smile or kind word.The day we left I felt like we were leaving new friends. It is very special and I am so glad we got to experience the wonderful people, food and resort it was well worth it.Thanks for making our week so special.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo B, General Manager at GoldenEye, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Charles B:

Thank you for this great review and for choosing GoldenEye for your 25th Anniversary.

We are thrilled you had an amazing time and you are correct, one of the beauties of our resort is that even when the hotel has full occupancy our guests can get that quiet, private and peaceful feeling.

Again, thanks for the review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,
Ricardo Bowleg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

I'm in awe of this property and what it shares with its guests. It's got a totally KOOL VIBE amidst UBER CHIC luxury!! Out of all the places I have ever visited around the world, I have the best sleep here. You wake up to the sounds of slowly crashing waves and cheerful chirps of the local birds. During the day you relax on the beach, lagoon or the Bizot bar /pools. For those that want to be active, kayaking out of Golden Eye into the sea and back in the lagoon around snorkellers cove and the bay is a fun and excellent option. The snorkeling right outside the property is the best you'll find because the Oracabessa foundation has funded coral development in the area. Inilek and his crew plant new coral and have instituted a no fishing zone. As a result, there has been a 400% increase in the sea life in the past year. During the evening, one could head to the exclusive spa or play some tennis, later ending the day by the pool. The Sunset Yoga class is great way to wind down as towards the end of the day.

Love it every day I'm here and longing for the next trip back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveller1439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We are at present enjoying our third visit to Goldeneye, each visit better than the previous one. Goldeneye is quintessentially Caribbean and represents the best traditions of Jamaican hospitality. The staff are extremely pleasant and helpful; you get to first name terms with most of them, and yet they are never in-your-face. There are enough activities to fill a leisurely day. Glass-bottom boat, deep sea fishing in a country boat, yoga by the sea at sunset, tennis, snorkelling, kayaking round the island, and of course swimming in the sea, pool, and lagoon. It would be great idea to have a fitness centre as well. A jump into the lagoon from the suspension bridge is an experience not to be missed.

Great dining too. Bizot bar by the sea provides informal dining. Specialties are Pantrepant breakfast (named after the owner, Chris Blackwell's farm, which supplies fresh organic produce), jerk chicken and pork, pizzas, and salads. Do not miss a drink in the evening watching the spectacular sunset. The Gazebo is for formal dining and has an excellent and tasty menu. It is a sad day indeed if you do not meet and make friends with a few guests at the Bizot and by the poolside.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raghu1232014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo B, General Manager at GoldenEye, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Raghu 1232014:

Thank you for your review and for choosing GoldenEye for your vacation.

We believe Jaimaica offers more than just sand and sea but also the warm hospitality of the people and the culture and GoldenEye is a true reflection of this.

We are happy that you had an amazing experience with us.

Regarding the fitness center, we are consistently reviewing our product and as such we will be looking at incorporating a fitness center. While we look into this new venture we do have available Sunset Yoga classes for guests 4 days per week at 5pm on Mondays, Wednesdays, Fridays and Saturdays.

We do hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Ricardo Bowleg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

From the moment you enter through the gates you know you have arrived somewhere exclusive. The welcome cocktail "Goldeneye" doesn't disappoint and is just that little more special than the normal rum punch one expects in the Caribbean!

My beach cottage was fabulous, spacious and included a full size fridge and small kitchen area.
The food at The Gazebo was superb and I can honestly say it was the best steak I have ever eaten (and I've had a lot of steaks!).

It's an unique destination for those with discerning taste .... I can see why Ian Fleming couldn't leave!

Room Tip: They are all amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SpecialK1702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo B, General Manager at GoldenEye, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear SpecialK:

Thank you so much for this great review and for choosing GoldenEye for your vacation!

It is always rewarding for us and the staff when we get great comments like this. I will be sure to pass this on to the Chef about the steak.

We are thrilled that we have "exceeded your expectations" and we look forward to welcome you back to GoldenEye in the very near future and of course, there will be another "GoldenEye" (cocktail) waiting for you.

Best Regards,
Ricardo Bowleg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Just returned, agree with all the superlatives, but add a few comments for the discerning travelers, who want details. We were in fabulous Lagoon Villa 12, I couldn't get much info on the differences in the Lagoon cottages and villas before, however villas have much more space, the kitchen is cute with those retro appliances, the daybed/sofa in so great to lounge on during the day. One of the 2 story villa/cottages is partly on lagoon and part on beach if you can't decide, believe it is 13. But you can get beach cottages a lot of places, the big deal here is the lagoon. It is like having a giant clear swimming pool to jump in off your deck--no snakes or scary creatures, just unbelievably crystal clear sea green water. Bring water shoes if the bottom grass bothers you, but it is beautiful. The outdoor showers are to. die. for. The villa is modern, state of the art, cold if you like a/c, or true Jamaican with screened shutters if you prefer. Incredible quietness and peace. One day we were the only couple at the bar, the beach and only one other table at dinner at the restaurant. This is real peace and seclusion for those who like that, but others may go a bit stir crazy. I must say I could do without the stone manmade object in the middle of the water on the beachside, it is Disney-like, and definitely does not fit in with the scenery, not sure if there is a purpose there, be careful if you try to step up on it, very slippery, also at places beach has a bit of a rocky bottom, remember, water shoes. Staff is great, particularly managers. Food is good Jamaican fare. Try the vegetarian burger at the Bizot bar, best ever.
Have breakfast on your porch every morning. Tour the Fleming villa if you can, we asked to go and if empty, they will try to work you in, it was great. We reread James Bond novels, which are widely available, takes you back. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Lagoon villa 12, or lagoon cottage 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Debra1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo B, General Manager at GoldenEye, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Debra:

Thank you so much for the great comments on our property, staff and food.

The beauty of GoldenEye is that it offers many different features around the property to suit different tastes. I must agree with you the Lagoon Cottages are excellent; very private and sitting on the tranquil natural lagoon.

I must reiterate that even when the hotel is full our guests can get that quiet, private and peaceful feeling.

We are thrilled you had a great vacation and look forward to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Ricardo Bowleg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We have been traveling to Jamaica for years, to Negril. We were fortunate enough to get to stay at Goldeneye for 3 night prior to heading to Negril 2 years ago in November. I loved the 2 bedroom we stayed in, the one bedrooms were the same with out the upstairs, and the lagoon suites looked equally relaxing. Nice beach, great staff, and great food! Only negatives were the food was great but pricey, and watch the steps going upstairs in the 2 bedroom, if they get wet from a rain storm, stay off of them! Just take my word from experience, a broken finger, and seriously nasty thigh long bruise. But seriously if you have the opportunity to stay here jump at it, you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: There is not a bad room on the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank AshBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I just returned from a long weekend at GoldenEye as a guest at my neice's destination wedding. I have been to Jamaica dozens of times and this resort really is the best for a relaxing getaway.

Pros:
Setting - truly ideallic, peacefull, and clean
Lodging - the villas are really spacious, private, and well maintained
Service - the staff are friendly, helpful and always have a smile! (This is a true differentiator for a country that struggles with 'western' service standards)
Food - the food is very good. They prepare both local and western foods. The ackee & saltfish, coconut muffins, curry goat, and escoviche fish were among my favorites.

Minor negatives:
Man-made beach - it is very well maintained and raked each morning - but the sand is a bit thin in spots.
Distance from the airport - the drive from the Montego Bay airport is a solid 90+ minutes. I always thought the drive to Ocho Rios was long... this is 15 minutes further.

It should also be noted that this resort focuses on creating a peacefull and relaxing atmosphere and does not offer a ton of activities. They have a small spa, kayaks and paddleboards available and a sunset yoga class - but otherwise, your days will be spent lounging by one of the two infinity pools or beach with a cool drink by your side. So... it's great for couples looking for a romantic getaway, it's good for young children, and NOT so good for teenage kids and those looking for reggae parties and beach volleyball.

It is not an all-inclusive model - only breakfast is included in the room price.

Overall, I can't say enough great things about GoldenEye. My wife and I have put it on our list of favorite vacation spots and promised ourselves to return!

Room Tip: Beach side for the views. Lagoon side for the serenity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cluesct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oracabessa
8.7 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,337 reviews
39 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
506 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
93.4 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
70 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
61.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GoldenEye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GoldenEye

Address: Oracabessa Bay, Oracabessa, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Mary Parish > Oracabessa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oracabessa
Price Range: £315 - £1,169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — GoldenEye 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GoldenEye Hotel & Resort overlooks the Caribbean Sea in the quiet village of Oracabessa Bay on Jamaica’s north coast. Named after one of Ian Fleming’s World War II missions, Operation GoldenEye, this Island Outpost property is owned by Chris Blackwell, Jamaica-raised founder of Island Records. The stunning 52-acre property is home to secret coves, breathtaking private beaches, tropical forests and a singular lagoon. There are 49 stand-alone Beach Huts, Lagoon Cottages and Beach and Lagoon Villas, as well as Fleming Villa, designed by Fleming, himself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, MrandMrsSmith, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your GoldenEye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldeneye Hotel Oracabessa
Goldeneye Hotel Ocho Rios
Goldeneye Resort Ocho Rios
GoldenEye Jamaica/Oracabessa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing