We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A jewel in Jamaica” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of GoldenEye

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
GoldenEye
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oracabessa
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A jewel in Jamaica”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Nobody can take you to Goldeneye unless you are booked there! There is no name on the gate and only a few know where it is! Such is the mystery and intrigue of the few acres of sandy beach and a lagoon, that inspired Ian Fleming to write his Bond novels. Chris Blackwell(owner of Island Records-which launched Bob Marley) now owns this remarkable getaway and can be seen like one of the locals deep in a book! The villas are carefully planned and most open onto the lagoon and the few lucky ones onto the beach. The famous scene in Dr No where Ursula Andress walks on to the beach is right here. The lagoon is a lovely place to swim and canoe and the sea has live coral- lovely dive sites but less marine life for some odd reason! The food is fantastic, though pricey, but you are amongst history, so what the heck! The staff is excellent and very courteous. Maybe the only thing missing is a gymnasium(but I believe the owners want the fitness to be el fresco and el naturel) Villas can be used for cooking your own meals, inviting in your neighbours(which we did) and the the outdoor showers add a little dare to your stay! Can't wait to be invited back by my pal who has his private villa there. Blessed to have such pals!!

Room Tip: There are 2 bedroom Villas(sleep 6) and One bedroom villas(sleep 4) -some open out to the lagoon an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nauhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    31
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
49
162
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We typically don't do the laid back beach vacation, but this summer we were getting a bit burned out and last minute decided to book Goldeneye for a week. So glad we did! Although it was a long trip (we made the poor decision to go cheap and not book a direct flight, so after enduring 2 flights + a 1.5 hr wait through immigration, and then another 1.5 hr drive out to Goldeneye, I was dead tired.

Funny though - as soon as we finally landed foot on Goldeneye...everything changed. Renewed sense of energy. How can you not be reenergized when you realize you can just jump off your deck into the lagoon - a perfectly clear water lagoon - in the heat of summer!

Kayaking, snorkeling, paddle boarding - you name it! The water is super warm and inviting...and the spa is amazing. Swim up to the spa or kayak over - it's super luxe and wonderful.

I can't say enough good things about Goldeneye - it felt like a super special secret we got to be a part of. The staff is wonderful - very accommodating without being intrusive. We really loved everything about it. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: LOVE the Lagoon Villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citysearcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

amazing place. great food, but it takes a while and is a little pricy, the lagoon is great and so are the pools. Amazing staff and service. It is one of the best that I have ever had. If you go there expect to see some famous people.

Room Tip: beachfront is the best, besides the ian fleming villa. I stayed in the 2 story beahfront villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Everything about my last family stay at Goldeneye burned an indelible passion in my heart for this special place in Jamaica. From time to time back in the States, I think about the amazing moments at Goldeneye with my family, so many that I was compelled to return for a second summer. Simply stated, it has to be in the Top Ten finest beach resorts in the world. The resort is intimate enough to find privacy and quiet, but vibrant enough to challenge all of your senses. While I have only stayed in the beach houses, there are other excellent options on the lagoon and the cliffs that I will try on my no doubt next trip to this beautiful slice of paradise.

Great things about Goldeneye: the houses are exceptional; great value for your money though note that it is a pricey trip. But in life you get what you pay for (or save for anyhow!). The complimentary breakfasts are outstanding. Lunch at the Bizot bar is wonderful - adults to teens just loved the diversity and quality of the carribean menu. Most of the staff, particularly Laurel - hostess and tour guide extraordinaire, Candace - concierge to the stars, and Arthur - sports activities guide, are rock stars. They are really fine people who care about the island and the Goldeneye experience.

Things still needing a little nudge: dinners at the resort are very expensive and the quality, from service touch to the plated entrees, are just not matched to the high prices. Unlike every other part of Goldeneye, you do not get what you pay for. But at least they have an amazing cuban cigar selection to enjoy after dinner on the veranda while playing backgammon! Some service staff, while meaning well, just don't have the magic touch to be working in the most exclusive resort on the entire island. With that said, love in their hearts abound and much is forgiven when it comes to the uneven service in certain areas. This heavenly place could be 6 stars (yep, kind of in a Bora Bora or Dubai kind of way) if they can elevate the service touch in all departments. But I have to remind myself I am on an island.

So with that little dose of criticism during my second visit in two years, I STRONGLY encourage a stay at this unique, amazing, special place on earth. Not many places can be perfect for vacationing honeymooners but able to satisfy a family of teenagers space wise and activity wise. This place is perfect - why on earth would I come here two summers in a row? By family acclamation! Peace, mon.

Room Tip: the beachfront villas (two story ones) are PERFECT for a family. Our family of 5 including three tee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo B, General Manager at GoldenEye, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Scott R:

Thank you for your review and it was a pleasure hosting you again.

We truly appreciate your feedback and will take your comments regarding the service and staff into consideration.

We are disappointed that on this visit the food did not exceed your expectations. We will be sharing your comments with the Chefs and F&B Team so that they will make the necessary adjustments.

Overall we are delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us we look forward to hosting you again.

Best Regards,
Ricardo Bowleg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

wifey and i just returned from ten nights at goldeneye, and couldn't be happier with the decision to honeymoon there.

after an easy cab ride (about 1.5 hours) from montego bay airport, we found clayton, who is THE MAN, waiting to show us the grounds and our room. let's just say that this place is stunning. the photos you see online can't do it justice. walking through the trees, past the restaurant where you'll enjoy amazing, fresh dinners, you cross a bridge over the crystal-clear lagoon and walk past the small, beautiful, quiet beach lined with four or five of the beach villas.

then infinity pool. bizot bar. sun and shade. amazing music coming over the hidden speakers.

and, if you're wise, you arrive at your lagoon villa, where clayton shows you everything you want and need to know. the bedrooms are roomy and super-breezy with the window slats open. the bathrooms are huge and well-appointed with tons of towels, a big tub, and an outdoor shower that feels better than any shower you've ever taken. ever. there's even a small bottle of the fantastic blackwell rum - the same liquid that's in the drink you suddenly have in hand. that would be the "goldeneye," the signature resort cocktail made with the aforementioned rum, fresh pineapple juice, and a little lime juice. caution: wives can become addicted to this stuff.

we stayed in lagoon villa 8, which offers you the exclusive chance to open the doors from your bedroom directly to the still, clear waters of the lagoon. wake up. open the doors. jump in. this was our morning every morning.

ok, time to just list the rest of the highlights:

- the entire staff, from clayton and robert to the bizot bar staff for breakfast and lunch, the watersport guys, housecleaning, the concierge, and the groundskeepers is incredibly friendly. and it's genuine, not forced. which made the place really feel like home.

- wayne, one of the groundskeepers, saw me running morning laps around the resort (the nearly 1-mile loop is mostly gravel and some dirt, so be prepared if you're wanting a good sweat.), and showed up with fresh coconuts that he cut open and poured out nearly every day that week. this is the life. he also brought fresh mangoes when he found them.

- the included breakfast is fantastic, as is all the food at goldeneye. fresh local ingredients are used to make ackee and salt fish eggs, fish fritters, spicy omelettes...you can't go wrong. especially when blue mountain coffee is part of the story.

- the lagoon is the place to be. because nobody else is there. and if they are, you wouldn't even know it. peaceful and almost completely without tide, this is a perfect place to swim, kayak, and snorkel. there are very, very few fish, but you can find those out in the ocean if you want.

- if the fleming villa isn't occupied during your stay, you need to check it out. he wrote every james bond novel there. the rooms are awesome, the private beach almost isn't fair. and you can point at the toilet and tell your wife that beyonce sat there.

- have i mentioned that clayton is the man? dude has been there for 26 years. and he's only 30.

- the drinks at bizot bar are fantastic.

- the glass bottom boat is more fun than you'd expect. for real.

- this place is so quiet. maybe because there's not a TON of stuff for kids to do, we saw mostly other adults, but even when they were there, it felt super secluded and quiet.

- since we were there for so long, we wanted to get out and have dinner at toscanini. italian in jamaica. yes. listen: we're from new york. and this was one of the absolute best italian meals we've ever had. twice, actually. because we went back. the cab was easy to and from, completely arranged by goldeneye.

- leaving makes you want to cry.

- there is no better place to be. we miss it. we will be back.

Room Tip: lagoon villas are fantastic, quiet, secluded, and right on the perfect, clear, warm water. wake up a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jordan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo B, General Manager at GoldenEye, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Jordan K:

Thank you for this great review!

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed honeymooning with us.

I will definitely share your comments with Clayton "THE MAN" and the rest of the staff .

I must agree with you that we use only fresh local produces in our restaurants.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon and there will be lots of fresh coconut for you when you return.

Very Best Regards,
Ricardo Bowleg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weehawken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed 3 nights to attend a wedding. I must say I felt like I was in paradise. The food was excellent, breakfast,lunch and dinner. We stayed in a beach front room. Those rooms have a full kitchen. which I would recommend if you like to cook is too purchase a few groceries before you check in. It literally feels like home on an island. The resort is not all inclusive and is pricey but so worth it. The showers are located outside in the "backyard" in your room. That took the 2nd day to get comfortable with. I most defiantly would go back. The only difference I would much rather cook on some days and bring your own adult beverages. The service was EXCELLENT. I hate to say this but i visited other 4.5/5 star resorts in montego bay and some of the staff almost act like they don't wanna work. NOT at this resort AMAZING! Make sure you bring water shoes for the beach a lil rocky in some areas.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiffany g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo B, General Manager at GoldenEye, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Tiffany:

Thank you for this great review and for choosing to stay with us for the wedding.

We will certainly share your comments with the staff.

Again, thank you for the review and we look forward to welcome you back home in the near future.

Best Regards,
Ricardo Bowleg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Spectacular. The perfect honeymoon trip. So relaxing and peaceful, great beach and pools to sit by. The service was absolutely incredible - everyone was really nice and easy going. Clayton, the concierge, made every effort to make our trip special. The lagoon cottage was perfect, so nice reading on the deck and swimming after. The room had a/c and a mosquito net over the bed for nighttime so no worries about sleeping in heat or any bugs.

Room Tip: Lagoon cottages are magical
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bklynwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo B, General Manager at GoldenEye, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear bklynwanderer:

Thank you for your review and it was a pleasure having you here.

I will certainly share your great comments with Clayton and all the other staff.

We all look forward to welcoming you back and certainly, we will have a GoldenEye cocktail or some other fruity concoction waiting for you at The Gazebo.

Best Regards,
Ricardo Bowleg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oracabessa
8.7 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
70.0 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
59.9 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#3 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,419 reviews
61.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
58.7 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#4 of 6 in Rose Hall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GoldenEye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GoldenEye

Property: GoldenEye
Address: Oracabessa Bay, Oracabessa, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Mary Parish > Oracabessa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oracabessa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — GoldenEye 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GoldenEye was Ian Fleming's Jamaica retreat and where he wrote all 14 of the James Bond novels. Today, accommodations at the original resort include: The Ian Fleming Villa, 11 one and two-bedroom Beach and Lagoon Villas, six Lagoon Cottages, and one Ocean Front Villa. Located on a stunning 52-acre site, GoldenEye is home to secret coves, breathtaking private beaches, tropical forests, and a seawater lagoon. The property is also home to the FieldSpa and two restaurants - Bizot Bar (a beach bistro) and The Gazebo (finer dining). GoldenEye is located 20 minutes east of Ocho Rios. It is a 90-minute drive from Montego Bay Airport and an 8-minute drive from Ian Fleming International Airport (private aviation). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your GoldenEye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldeneye Hotel Oracabessa
Goldeneye Hotel Ocho Rios
Goldeneye Resort Ocho Rios
GoldenEye Jamaica/Oracabessa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing