We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oracabessa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Golden Clouds Villa Estate
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Golden Clouds villa has become our home-away-from-home special place. We fell in love with the beautiful villa, it's spectacular views and fabulous staff 27 years ago. The villa offers every type of relaxation or activity you want without even leaving the grounds! PLUS the food is so good, the restaurants in the area can't compare to Blossom's home cooking.
We have shared this wonderful vacations spot with hundreds of people over our 27 years of visits. More than 95% of first timers have gone at least one more time. Some people have even travelled to Golden Clouds as many as 15 times. We travel frequently and have stayed at other villas in Jamaica and the caribbean. NONE have come close to the personal, professional and spectacular experience of staying at Golden Clouds. We are heading back again this April. We are just as excited to go as the first time. The weather in April is fabulous. Don't pass up an opportunity to stay at Golden Clouds. You'll love it!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Golden Clouds Villa Estate
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2013

My family just got back from a memorable vacation at Golden Clouds in Jamaica. We knew we were in a very special place from the moment we pulled up to the gate and drove down the long private driveway. The property consists of one large 7-bedroom villa located right on the ocean and also has a smaller 2-bedroom villa located in the gardens. Both villas have a swimming pool, and our teenagers decided they would “live” in the garden villa while the rest of us enjoyed the comfort and beauty of the main house.

The property has a long list of amenities including beach, tennis court, water trampoline, snorkelling equipment, ping-pong, and a well-equipped exercise room so there was never a shortage of things to do. The villa was so big that even with 15 people there was lots of places to gather and socialize and other places to relax and chill out. I spent most of the time on the beautiful terrace reading my Kindle, with a Pina Colada close by. I also spent a lot of time in the Garden, which was huge and full of the most interesting plants and flowers (beautiful orchids everywhere). The meals were outstanding, with a great variety of local and international cuisine. Ms. Blossom was a fantastic chef and we enjoyed everything that she prepared. I highly recommend Golden Clouds and the staff are amazing (particularly Blossom Jackson, and Ken).

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GL99977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Golden Clouds is one of the finest vacation destinations in the Caribbean. It is serene and peaceful, but also has a sense of excitement and adventure mixed with old world elegance. The property is spectacular with gorgeous guestrooms and ample seating areas. The beach and pools are a delight and are perfect for relaxing and taking in the stunning scenery. The resort grounds are vast and there is ample space for quiet private areas with seating throughout the gardens, terraces and beach. The villa is very well-managed and the staff are the friendliest and most helpful people one could ever meet and they have a wonderful way of making each guest feel special. The food by the amazing chef, Ms Blossom is outstanding and the service is out of this world. The rooms are bright and airy and I slept great every night (thanks to a comfortable bed and a quiet air conditioner).

We travelled as part of a larger group including 13 adults and 5 children. It was not our first time to Golden Clouds – we had visited three years ago and were looking forward to coming back. Our memories were of a beautiful villa with lots of things to do. We were thrilled to find there was even more amenities than our last visit. The new playground was a big hit with our younger ones and the new water trampoline was popular with everyone. The kids (both young and old) spent a lot of time in the games room, playing ping-pong, or playing tennis and basketball.

If you are considering a family vacation with children, I highly recommend Golden Clouds. We are already planning our next trip and can’t wait to return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We spent a week at Golden Clouds in March 2013 and what an experience! We had family and friends coming from all over the world so we booked out the entire estate which turned it into our own private sprawling mansion!

In the lead up we dealt with the owner, Oksana, who was super helpful and always responsive. Not only would she be quick to answer our questions but would come up with ideas that we had not even thought about which really enhanced our experience.

When we arrived we were in the safe hands of Blossom and the staff of Golden Clouds. Blossom is a magician in the kitchen and day after day produced exceptional food. It did not feel like a hotel at all, more like being at home with your own private chef. The stuff of dreams really.

Generally we had all we could hope for in the staff and wanted for nothing.

We had over 20 friends and family staying you never felt crowded and could escape with a book to one of its many stunning private areas if you felt like it.

There is not a beach in the traditional sense but what they do have is a beach area which is a huge deck/landing down below next to the ocean that is covered in soft sand. You gain access to the ocean by walking down a short ladder (not dissimilar to the kind you see at swimming pools). The water was warm and tranquil most days and we spent ages in the water.

There is a tennis court which the kids enjoyed, a volley ball court, table tennis, a couple of pools, a bar, a gym room, various decks with stunning views.

Would we go back? In a heartbeat. Thanks Oksana for arranging everything and thanks Blossom and the staff for delivering beyond our expectations.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BartmanSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

On behalf of my parents and brothers' families, I would like to say thank you to the management and staff of the Golden Clouds for providing us with such a wonderful place to spend a week in paradise. It was truly a reunion to be remembered for our parents and all of their clan.

Where do I begin? The staff at the Golden Clouds were a true joy. Blossom's every meal was delicious and perfectly proportioned for our large size. She was very accommodating to our variety of needs and made the most wonderful chocolate cake for our father's big day! The serving staff was also a pleasure to get to know. Jackson and Kenneth made sure we wanted for nothing during our entire week and went out of their way to make sure we were content. It was truly a pleasure getting to know all of them and we so much enjoyed their company.

The accommodations were outstanding. The 19 of us had no problem settling right in. There was not only plenty of room for us, but the conditions of the rooms and grounds were fantastic, right down to the what seemed like brand new bathrooms. The surrounding areas were also very comfortable and we all commented that there were so many places to go and escape. As far as safety was concerned, we saw a presence of the guards just enough to make us all feel very content.

The facilities were also perfect. The beach and reef were put to great use. Many of us spent an abundance of time chasing the colorful fish and sea creatures with the snorkel gear provided. We saw stingrays, squid, barracuda, and even a sea turtle! We also played a lot of tennis, ping pong, shuffleboard and had a glorious volleyball match. My father commented that it was such a nice touch to provide us with brand new tennis balls!

The access to the van was also very convenient. We took a ride to Dunn's River Falls one day and took a nostalgic trip to Kingston on another.

We will all have very fond memories of our week in paradise and will soon wish we could once again feel the warm ocean breeze as the winter season draws near. Thank you again for providing our marvelous week and there isn't one of us that didn't say we would love to do it all over again!!

Kindest Regards,
Ian the rest of the Powell Clan

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ipowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

I organize a trip every year to get my family altogether as we live all across the country. If everybody makes it there are 19 of us. Every year I get a little more savvy which is reflected in the quality of the villas we rent (always in the Caribbean). So I'm always a little nervous until I actually see the property in person. But from the moment we drove through the front gate of Golden Clouds down the long driveway (it's a 6 acre property with manicured lawns and floral arrangements everywhere), I felt a sense of certainty... I made the right decision.

I'm not a big fan of large resort hotels where there is hustle and bustle everywhere. I want relaxation, privacy when desired, and opportunities for gathering all of our group together when and where we want to. Golden Clouds brings all this to the table.

The staff are very friendly and helpful, going out of their way to ensure an enjoyable and relaxing stay. It's hard to describe the views from this oceanfront property. The common areas of the main social area include multiple balconies where you can hang out and enjoy the breeze and the view under the shade of an umbrella if desired. As the kind of guy who wears SPF 60, I was appreciative of the shade. For sun worshipers, there is a private beach which is a quick walk down the steps. There are some protected reefs right in front of the property so it's good that they supply fins, masks and snorkels! One thing I appreciated was the ease of access getting in and out of the ocean (which is about 5 feet deep or so at the access point). They have installed stairs to walk in and out of the water. No excuse not to swim...

The grounds are huge (as you would expect from a six-acre property) and the staff engage in lawn and plant maintenance daily. The tennis court is a great feature as long as you don't play in the heat of the midday sun...The rooms are kept meticulously clean and the bathroom I had was exquisite. The type of bathroom you'd find in a five-star hotel. The rooms overlooking the ocean are unbelievable, and the other rooms range from nice and comfortable to awesome.

Food: This can make or break a vacation. Of all the properties we visited in the last eight years, everybody agreed this was the clear winner when it came to the quality and variety of the meals. The cook (or should I say master chef) is named Blossom. She's been with the property for many years and her meals are a key reason why we came running when the bell rang to announce breakfast, lunch and dinner! Talk about Pavlov's dog... salivating each and every time.

I speak for the group when I say we could not have had a better time. We will go back again next year and that's the first time in eight years that we decided to do a repeat. And everybody was in agreement which is rare for our extended family. Five stars for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

I gathered with ten friends for a week at Golden Clouds. Along with a fabulous staff who tended to our every need, we experienced the wonder of each other in this exquisite oceanfront villa, which boasted lush grounds, two swimming pools, and a Zen Garden.

One could choose amongst numerous sitting areas to relax, read, or meditate. For those who preferred more activity, a tennis court and exercise room were also available.

The coral reefs located off the private beach attracted colorful fish and other marine life, creating perfect conditions for snorkeling and diving.

On a daily basis, Blossom, the head chef prepared three wonderful meals for our group. The food was varied and always tasty. We had fish, chicken, beef, and each morning started with fresh fruit followed by a hardy breakfast. There was more than enough to eat, and Blossom's desserts were to die for!

I've traveled extensively in the Caribbean and stayed at some beautiful places, but Golden Clouds tops the list. Its intimate setting, attention to detail, and a library with over 1500 books make it unique. For authors, filmmakers, or other creatively-minded people, you'll also appreciate the villa neighbors "Golden Eye", once owned by Ian Fleming where he created his character, James Bond. Talk about an inspiring place to come up with your next book or film!

Golden Clouds is truly paradise on earth—a terrific place to rejuvenate, feel inspired, and create dreams that will last a lifetime. I cannot recommend it highly enough for your next holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank eden b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oracabessa
10.0 mi away
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel
#9 of 35 in Ocho Rios
245 reviews
8.6 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,303 reviews
0.4 mi away
GoldenEye
GoldenEye
#1 of 2 in Oracabessa
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
#8 of 35 in Ocho Rios
8,712 reviews
10.4 mi away
Moon Palace Jamaica
Moon Palace Jamaica
#7 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,295 reviews
2.1 mi away
Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Clouds Villa Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Clouds Villa Estate

Address: Highway A3, Oracabessa 1150, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Mary Parish > Oracabessa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Oracabessa
Price Range: £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Clouds is a luxurious 11-suite oceanfront estate situated in a park-like 6-acre setting. The villa has its own private beach, 2 swimming pools, tennis court and 6 acres of beautiful gardens. Surrounded by manicured lawns and tropical flowers, the property consists of a main villa with 9 suites, and a garden cottage with 2 suites. A minimum of 4 rooms are required to book Golden Clouds and the property is only booked for one group at a time to ensure the ultimate in privacy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Golden Clouds Villa Estate Hotel Oracabessa
Golden Clouds Villa Estate Jamaica/Oracabessa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing