We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful trip”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oracabessa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Golden Clouds Villa Estate
Yarmouth Port, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful trip”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My family, all 19 of us, had the pleasure of staying at Golden Clouds last April. Before we arrived, the owner went over menu options and answered an avalanche of questions. We felt welcomed even before our arrival. I recommend the food plan. The meals were wonderful, authentic Jamaican. Blossom (the cook) made every effort to keep all of our varied diets satiated. The staff were incredibly friendly and went out of their way to help us relax and when asked, bring us some insight into Jamaican culture. We spent long evenings with some of the staff playing what appeared to be the true Jamaican past time, Dominoes (not the kids game I remember). On multiple occasions, David the bartender would go snorkeling with us and having grown up there, he knew all the right places to see the best marine life. The service was professional and friendly. The food is fantastic. But the star of the show is the Villa itself. A more beautiful location would be hard to find. The place is filled with flowers and obviously much time is spent with the landscape. The protected coral reef is the backyard. There is lots of space for relaxing or playing (tennis, basketball, table tennis, etc.) Enough activity for all of us and we ran from ages 8 to 80. There is not a lot of activity in the actual town, but with a shuttle driver (available to us everyday throughout most the day), we made it to many great attractions (waterfalls, blue hole, ziplining, water tubing) and managed to miss some of the stock cruise excursions as our shuttle driver seemed to have considerable local knowledge. We will definitely be back to Golden Clouds!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 22Sam1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I had heard all about Golden Clouds from my cousin, who was there many years ago for a wedding. We decided that we would have a family reunion in Jamaica, and based on her recommendation Golden Clouds was our first choice as a location. We booked the all-inclusive package, which meant that everything was included from the food to the tips to the transportation. On a per-person-basis, the price is excellent. We were constantly impressed with the level of service and how beautiful the property and buildings are. We have travelled throughout the world and have never been to a place like Golden Clouds. It is like having your own private resort to share with your family and friends, where your every need is taken care of.

There were almost as many staff as there were guests, and they made sure that we were never wanting for anything. Our kids were in heaven with so many choices of activities from the beautiful private beach to the games room and playground. David and Kenneth were always on hand to serve us drinks or help with the watersports – the snorkeling was amazing. We booked yoga classes twice during our stay and also had tennis lessons from Delroy who is the local tennis pro. The meals were superb and we enjoyed Ms. Blossom’s cooking tremendously. Golden Clouds is a dream vacation for young and old alike. It is simply perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I was going to Jamaica and due to outstanding reviews I decided to stay at Golden Clouds villa. Being a huge fan of the Caribbean and having stayed at many different places, I have become very spoiled and selective when it comes to accommodation and service. As soon as we arrived we felt like guests at a friend's home.
As opposed to many properties in the area, the villa has a good size PRIVATE BEACH, beautiful gardens, a tennis court, 2 full size pools, table tennis table, gym and a ton of little outdoor spaces with stunning views. While sitting on 6 acres, it maintains a cozy feel of a colonial home.

Every room is tastefully decorated and looks like it’s been recently remodeled. The owner kept old world colonial style, which is so difficult to find in the villas nowadays, while having everything brand new. The bathrooms are completely gutted with sparing no expense: they have high end finished you will only find in 5 start hotels in US.

The staff is helpful and accommodating. It does appear that they love their job and happy to be there what gives a very good energy to the place.

The food is organic, very fresh and home-made. Everything is done from scratch. Your Pina Colada will have fresh coconut from the tree instead of concentrate you will find in hotels.

The area is very safe; you can have a walk outside the villa along other high end villas. Ocho Rios is 15 minutes drive away.

To sum it up, it an excellent value, because of the property layout you can have a big group at the same time without feeling that you are on top of each other. I would definitely go back and recommend it to everybody.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariyaChicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Aah! Whether for friends or family, regardless of age, Golden Clouds is a dream that reaches way beyond one’s expectations. Pre-planning by Oksana Simpson and the welcoming staff allow everyone to indulge in the magic of this historic, luxurious and spacious mansion immediately upon arrival. Nothing to do but explore the magnificent gardens, with its myriad of recreational activities and secluded hideaways, the enticing pool encircled by bougainvillea and shady lounging areas, the sandy beach a few steps from the azure-blue ocean, a coral reef within easy swimming reach, and breathtaking sunsets from the terrace.
The staff willingly accommodated our every need, from pina coladas down on the beach, to candles for a special surf & turf birthday dinner, gluten-free alternatives, or the repair of the baby’s aqua float. We only had to communicate our needs to Blossom, Jackson or Ken and whatever it was magically appeared. A family of eleven, spanning 72 years, we’ve brought home great memories of the fun times we shared together in Oracabessa. Re-entry has been hard, but we hope to return to this golden paradise before too long.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DineMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We spent a wonderful week at Golden Clouds and can't wait to go back. When we entered the man gate and began the long drive through the estate's gardens we knew we were in a magical place. The main building sits on the edge of the ocean with a large private beach below. The list of amenities that are provided by this resort is very long and includes tennis, ping pong, volleyball, basketball, shuffleboard, and in addition to the beach it also has two swimming pools.

The staff are simply amazing. Blossom the chef is a wonderful person and she prepared great meals morning, noon, and night. We had great service from Jackson, Kenneth, Charlie and Sean, and the maids were terrific as well. It was the first time we had travelled with our extended family which included children, aunts, uncles, and even grandparents, as well as a few old friends. There were 18 of us in all, and everyone agreed that it was the vacation of a lifetime. The children really enjoyed themselves and made good use of the playground and games room. We even hired a babysitter when we went on some excursions such as ziplining or visiting the Noel Coward museum.

The excursions were very popular with our group and all the adults went on at least one. We had booked an all-inclusive package and had a van and driver for the week so we made good use of the van to check out some of the local excursions. The Mystic Mountain zipline was particularly popular, but we also enjoyed a bit of shopping as well.

I would highly recommend Golden Clouds for anyone who is looking for a wonderful vacation with a large group of family and friends. It is truly an amazing place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

20 of us, including 9 kids, went to Golden Clouds for a family reunion/vacation. (The kids ranged in age from 3 to 19.) We all had an excellent time. The staff was friendly and helpful, and Miss Blossom's food was really good. We especially loved the Christmas dinner she cooked, with turkey, stuffing, sweet potatoes, etc. And she makes great cakes. We loved snorkeling through the reef right off the beach and we saw squid, puffer fish, eels, rays, etc. We left the villa a few times - to go Dunne's Falls and to Reggae Beach - but we mostly stayed on the property because there was plenty to do and it was so peaceful and relaxing. The rooms, especially the upstairs suites, were lovely and have balconies overlooking the ocean (and good air-conditioning and new bathrooms). We played a lot of basketball, tennis and shuffleboard. Our only complaint was that the tennis court isn't in great shape. But we really highly recommend Golden Clouds.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I had the most wonderful occasion to visit Golden Clouds as part of a tour package from Japan. We stayed for a week in Negril and then we had the pleasure of staying at this jewel by the sea on the other side of the island. I was fortunate to have an ocean-view room and enjoyed the sunset from my balcony. The swimming in the sea was very good with coral reef near shore with many tropical fish. It was like swimming in an aquarium. The food was wonderful and we enjoyed every meal. The property was very large with beautiful gardens. I enjoyed the tennis games and shuffleboard and swimming in the pool in the evenings. It was magical to swim at night with a sky full of stars. The people of Jamaica are very nice and the staff at Golden Clouds were most gracious and happy. They made us feel very welcome and we shall come back again one day to this lovely place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tetsuro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oracabessa
8.6 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,277 reviews
2.8 mi away
Moxons Beach Club
Moxons Beach Club
#2 of 3 in Boscobel
101 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
GoldenEye
GoldenEye
#1 of 2 in Oracabessa
316 reviews
2.1 mi away
Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club
8.8 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 35 in Ocho Rios
2,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Clouds Villa Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Clouds Villa Estate

Property: Golden Clouds Villa Estate
Address: Highway A3, Oracabessa 1150, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Mary Parish > Oracabessa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Oracabessa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Clouds is a luxurious 11-suite oceanfront estate situated in a park-like 6-acre setting. The villa has its own private beach, 2 swimming pools, tennis court and 6 acres of beautiful gardens. Surrounded by manicured lawns and tropical flowers, the property consists of a main villa with 9 suites, and a garden cottage with 2 suites. A minimum of 4 rooms are required to book Golden Clouds and the property is only booked for one group at a time to ensure the ultimate in privacy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Golden Clouds Villa Estate Hotel Oracabessa
Golden Clouds Villa Estate Jamaica/Oracabessa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing