We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Surprise after a bumpy Journey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tamarind Great House
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Oracabessa
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The Surprise after a bumpy Journey”
Reviewed 15 April 2011

My husband discovered Tamarind house around 2006, when we took the long drive from St Elizabeth to St Mary, Ocho Rios. The road was very bad, but I think we were used to it as the road was similar to where we were based. The thing to remember is not to be put off by the road, as it is worth every bump. But once we had arrived at Tamarind House, we were blown away by the beauty and the absolute peacefulness of this place. We were greeted by Gill and Barry, who were so friendly and welcoming. We got on immediately.
The grand entrance is a sight to behold and almost reminds you of the house in 'Gone with the Wind', there are these beautiful stairs that look so spectacular. At Christmas with the lights and Christmas tree, it is simply stunning. The bedrooms are large comfortable very clean and spacious. You are sure to get a good night sleep.
The food was excellent. Gill is a great cook. One of the great features of Tamarind House is that literally everything you eat at Tamarind House is sourced on the premises, i.e. Fruits, vegetables, Tilapia Fish and many more.
The grounds are well maintained and it was just nice to walk around or even sit by the swimming pool.
Tamarind House is a must for us every time we visit Jamaica.

Room Tip: Fruits and Vegetables are grown on the premises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janlin21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

Our stay at Tamarind Great House was very pleasant. The room we were in was spacious and quiet, with a lovely balcony and fantastic views. The food at dinner was tasty and reasonably priced. Breakfast was interesting, with a range of tropical fruit as well as toast, tea/coffee.
Gillian and Barry were friendly and helpful and the pool was clean and relaxing.
If you are scared of dogs be warned, their guard dogs are large (and friendly to legitimate visitors).
The road to get to the house is horrendous but we made it (several times) in a Toyota Yaris, so you can too!
In town we ate at Susie's (between the ATM and the post office boxes). The food was delicious and they didn't charge us extra for being tourists instead of locals (unlike a lot of other places, sadly).

Room Tip: Eat at Susie's for some real Jamaican food
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatpigeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2011

we spent 2 nights at the tamarind great house and it was a great experience.
although the way up the hill was a little adventureous we made it finally up there and didnt regret it. it was a rainy and stormy night and we just had a normal car... we have to admit we were a bit scared. the roads condition was... well... not the best... but after an hour drive in the dark we finally made it. and the heartfull and warm welcome made us forget our stressfull journey. it s beautiful and quite... really a little gem in the jungle.
very good service, beautiful house, really a good place to relax. just to let you know: it s a little away from the beach and the sea... it is in the mountains in the jungle... but it s perfect if you wanna relax from the loud and crowded ocho rios or another crowded city or attraction.

kurz auf deutsch:
war echt eine tolle erfahrung, die wir jederzeit wieder machen würden!
kann das tamarind great house nur empfehlen... ist aber nichts für jemanden der den trubel einer großstadt und/oder nachtleben sucht.
es ist ein schönes renoviertes herrenhaus, geführt von einem englischen paar, das einen sehr herzlich und persönlich aufnimmt und auf wunsch auch ein leckeres abendessen bereitet. das frühstück war auch klasse!
es ist nicht sehr günstig aber auf jeden fall war es die erfahrung wert.
vielen dank für dieses tolle erlebnis

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hapa76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2011

This place felt like we were in "the real Jamaica" after 7 days at an all inclusive concrete mall of a resort. the drive up the hill is amazing ( and somewhat treacherous!) and when we arrived we felt immediately at home. Gillian and Barry have done an amazing job with teh place- everywhere you look there is beauty, natural jungle, gardens, small sculptural 'moments' and the amazing air and colors of Jamaica. Gillian greeted us in bare feet, always a good sign- and gave us fresh squeezed orange juice and direction to 2 beautiful walks- up a magnificent ridge with amazing sights of jungle, cows, spiders and birds, and the other to a river leading to a waterfall. too cold to climb that day but Barry said there are two pools on the river- one 3 ft deep! They farm the land for mangoes, lettuces, oranges, herbs, lettuces, chickens, and coconuts so the food Gillian prepare was amazing. Living in Chicago we have paid much more for much less in quality and quantity and the room was beautiful and clean in a lovely romantic setting. Drinks on the veranda with the mountains and stars behind and a lovely pool that would have made for a delightful late night swim were the temperature a tad warmer. I kept envisioning yoga sessions with a view of the mountains, a sail with Barry out of Oracabessa and days of walks and conversations. Our only regret was having only one night to spend. Intimate but not isolated, an easy drive up the hills to a place that seems out of this world.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nvkchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

My friend and I wanted to drive around Jamaica in order to see the beautiful sites . We like to stay somewhat off the beaten path and that is exactly where Tamarind Great house is located. We made the mistake of getting there at night but had a guardian angel of a man drive in front of us up the mountain to this spot. Not that it was dangerous, but no street lights and the roads look like an earthquake hit them yesterday. So definitely get there before dark. It took us 30 minutes to get to the house from the main road. Normally Gillian emails people with directions, but we didn't receive (but got their anyway).

Once we finally arrived, we were greeted by Barry and Gillian and their 2 dobermans. All 4 were incredibly friendly and welcoming. We were starving and Gillian offered us the most delicious pumpkin soup and gourmet salad, all made from the garden. We also shared a glass of wine with her during dinner. We got to choose b/w 2 bedrooms and we chose the bottom floor because of the patio access. Linens, mattresses, and towels were definitely not luxurious (thin, scratchy and terribly lumpy old pillows) and due to the exquisite beauty of the house, I expected better. That's probably the only improvement I could suggest.

The next morning Gillian made us one of the best breakfasts I've ever eaten with more fruit from the garden and delicious eggs . The blue mountain coffee was delish .

I assumed the food would be extra, but was surprised at the price of breakfast when we settled the bill. But, it was all so delicious that it wasn't an issue - I was happy to pay it. However, we spent our last dollar on the bill (note to all that you have to pay in cash ) which was not expected. Because of that, we weren't able to go to James Bond beach (because of the $5 entrance charge). That was a real drag and hopefully when you stay there you will have read this review and plan better than we did.

I've never wanted to stay at a B&B but talking to both Gillian and Barry was an absolute treat ! If you have some extra time and like to stay at interesting spots (we're not into resorts) then Tamarind House is a must ! And we honestly had 2 of the best meals here , from our entire trip.

Gillian was also kind enough to let us use her cell for a call to local hotel and their computer to search for said hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elvisatc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

the latter part of the journey to Tamarind Great House is somewhat hampered by the island-wide government inability to maintain local roads, but so worth it nonetheless (off-road vehicles advisable).
The House is truly impressive and the location stunning. Gill and Barry are the perfect hosts, who will go out of their way to make your stay everything you could wish for.
The food is excellent - a lot of the meals are made with ingredients produced and grown on the estate.
Not only is it ideal as a base to explore the island, but I spent many days relasing by the pool.
In my 10-year sojourn on the island it became my favourite home-from-home and the ideal Christmas location

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisydaydream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2010

I've been living in Jamaica for the last two years and have had a chance to dine at a variety of restaurants and hotels, some highly rated. I want to say that the meals I and my companions have enjoyed at Tamarind Great House have been, hands down, the best I've had on the island. The rooms are spacious, the view from our room's large balcony were of the verdant green hills above Oracabessa, and Jillian and Barry are gracious and entertaining hosts. We first visited for my birthday last December and so enjoyed the experience that we came again this year. The house is really magnificent--you'll be awestruck by the beautiful wood floors made from a single guango tree--airy and light, and designed to catch the breeze and offer cool shade on the hottest days. If you're not content to stay behind the gates of an all-inclusive, but want to experience more of the real Jamaica, I strongly recommend a stay at Tamarind Great House

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamaicaBirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oracabessa
9.2 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,294 reviews
92.6 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
10.4 mi away
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel
#10 of 35 in Ocho Rios
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
38.0 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
488 reviews
8.9 mi away
Kaz Kreol Beach Lodge
Kaz Kreol Beach Lodge
#9 of 35 in Ocho Rios
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Great House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Great House

Property: Tamarind Great House
Address: Crescent Estate | St Mary, Oracabessa, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Mary Parish > Oracabessa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Oracabessa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tamarind Great House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer our guests at Tamarind a unique environmentally-friendly setting providing luxury accommodation at very affordable prices. Secluded waterfalls, plantation tours, James Bond Beach and Noel Coward's Firefly are only a few of the nearby attractions. Ocho Rios is a 30 minute drive, with its varied activities, such as botanical gardens, the famous Dunn's River Falls, Dolphin Cove as well as Mystic Mountain tree top tours. Of course there are lots of restaurants and duty free shopping, as well as a large local craft market. Tamarind Great House is built on the site of an original planters estate, first built in the 18th century. The house has solid wooden floors from locally sourced trees throughout the downstairs, with antiques and locally made furniture to enhance the feel of colonial Jamaica. Our guests enjoy the relaxed atmosphere of Tamarind, with its spacious bedrooms and large balconies. Our 13 acre farm produces fresh organic fruits and vegetables used in our kitchen. The road to Tamarind is a Jamaican country road, and the scenery to the house shows you every side of the real Jamaica. We are an owner run guest house, therefore catering personally to your requests. Away from the main road, a relaxed and safe setting, surrounded by verdant hills, tropical flora and fauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Tamarind Great House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Great House Hotel Oracabessa
Tamarind Great House Jamaica/Oracabessa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing