We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jersey was amazing but campsite was tired.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BleuSoleil Camping

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Ouen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
BleuSoleil Camping
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Jersey was amazing but campsite was tired.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

We arrived at the BleuSoleil Campsite to be shown our caravans. The caravans had not been cleaned thoroughly, so our first job was to visit the nearby shop as the one on the campsite does not really exist. We cleaned the caravans ans then settled in as this was not going to dampen our holiday. The overall campsite was overcrowed and uncared for. The pool was freezing and had never been heated during our stay. The kids enjoyed the hot tub but as an adult I was not going to venture in either. The bar and eating area was clean but we did only have drinks as we left the camp everyday to see Jersey. A car is required for this holiday due to the location of the campsite. I would like to say that we did have help with issues we had in the caravans like, tv broken, tap broken, toilet broken. Garry did help where possible and was very friendly. I would not stay here again though due to the cleanliness of the the campsite as a whole.
Jersey it'self is an amazing place and we enjoyed every minute of our first visit and will be back next year.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Leeann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    3
    0
    5
    9
See reviews for
11
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Torpoint, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

We camp alot at home all around devon and cornwall, therefore we've stayed in lots of different campsites, sadly blue soliel would come at the very bottom of our list. We are not fussy and do not look for top of the range campsites we are happy with basic but clean is a must.

We chose blue soliel because of it's location we like to surf and decided that we would probably spend most of our time at St Ouens beach so this campsite seemed the perfect choice,sadly this would prove to be the only thing blue soliel had going for it.

On first arriving at the campsite after a long day driving we were shown which filed we should camp in and to find where we wanted to be and carry on, no warm family welcome for us that we've read so much about . The ground was very uneven and as more people arrived we soon realised the small field would soon be over crowded.

After a much needed early night that wasn't too noisy ,apart from the early bin collection, the children were eager to use the pool, which looked a bit bigger on the website, after dropping a toe in I realised that myself and my youngest would not be using the pool today, it was feezing and it stayed like this for all of our stay although on the website it says the pool is heated.

From here things seemed to go from not great to worse then worse again, the childrens play area was dreadful very run down ,and the t.v. room seemed to have all matter of films the children were free to use, thankfully my children checked with us before watching anything.

Then the showers and toilets, the previous evening i put this down to a long hot day and told myself that in the morning things would be alot better, sadly i was wrong the pressure of the showers was dreadful ,only ok if you happened to be the only person using the shower and no one pulled the flush, obviously this was never the case on a very busy campsite with only four showers and four toilets for everyone, which also seemed very inadequate. The floor was constantly dirty and the toilets especially two in particular never flushed properly, I have never smelt a ladies quite this bad.Most mornings the toilet roll had run out and we soon got used to taking our own !!

The shop that had been on the website was rediculous not really a shop just a stock room for the bar no milk bread or newspapers the first shop on a campsite i've ever seen with no stock and never open, especially in peak season.
We did have lunch in the cafe once the staff were friendly and the food was fine. The bar was very busy in the evenings which was fine we never used it as our youngest went to bed so we stayed by the tent. We are not apposed to any one having fun especially on holiday the the bar seemed to be a front for the management staff and their freinds to have a good social. Very often the noise went on way after eleven when sometimes I assume staff thought it fine to empty the glass bottles in to the glass bins situated in the family camping field. Then people would leave the campsite in there cars to go home (more noise). The owners also had a dog which was free to roam around the campsite and do it's business with no one behind it to clean up leaving this disgusting job to my husband and other campers that i saw cleaning up after it too.

We had been looking forward to our first proper family holiday away from home for a long time we saved hard and thankfully we have not been put off by this bad experience we will put it down to just that ,experience, we met some lovely people and had a great time no thanks any one or any thing on this campsite. We will return to Jersey to do all the things we didn't manage to fit in but we will go to one of the other campsites. While we were in Jersey we visited both the other campsites and we'd be happy to stay at either of them.

Room Tip: Don't stay at Blue Soliel stay one of the other campsites
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank beachlovers230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

We have just returned from this campsite and must say we were hugley disappointed. We stayed in one of the new caravans ??? New in the 1960's perhaps but no where near the standard you expect in the 20th century. The caravan was tiny and absolutely filthy. The cooker did not work, there was no hot water and I could not even fit in the toilet. To cap it all off the toilet water leaked straight out on to the carpet in the main bedroom area which was rancid. We had to use the toilets and showers in the main block all week which were a little better to be fair.

There was no shop available during the visit, the pool was absolutely freezing and the size of a postage stamp. The grass was bare and if you enjoy having other campers sat on top of you then this is the place for you.

Basically I would not wish this place upon my worst enemy.

On the plus side the campsite has free Wi-fi and there were lots of staff around, however not sure what many of them were doing other than clean out the toilet waste. Jersey is a stunning place for a holiday and absolutely perfect for families but this place is frankly a disgrace to the island. We still mamanged to make a great holiday in spite of this but it could have been so much better.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank chris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

Bleu Soleil was sold to us as a family campsite, so we took our 6-year-old girl there for a family holiday to Jersey.

Problems started the minute we arrived, when the tent they provided to us hadn't been cleaned, with someone else's rotting food in the coolbox. We asked to be moved, not a great start. We then had to move again when our new tent turned out to be full of water. Our third tent was a mess, with rips all over the floor, zips missing, holes in the side....but to be honest we just couldn't be bothered moving for a third time so we stuck with it. Really not a great start. However, it was at night when the problems really started....

Being a "family" campsite, there are supposed rules about noise. Everyone has to keep the noise down from 10PM, all music has to be off at 10:30PM and no noise is allowed on the campsite after 11PM. These rules were allegedly in place because this is a "family" campsite. Unfortunately, it's all nonsense. The campsite is populated largely by groups of French teenagers, who have no intention of turning the music off or keeping the noise down.

The "Management" (and I use the term lightly) have absolutely no backbone, and no matter how much you complain they won't enforce any of the rules. Night after night saw groups of teenagers having music booming out and making noise way after the curfew, our poor little girl was so tired and upset, it absolutely was not and is not a family campsite. After trying to go through the correct channels to address the issue, in the end I just handled the problem myself, confronting anyone who was making unreasonable noise way after the curfew. It really wasn't what I wanted from a relaxing holiday, spending my nights in nose to nose confrontations with French teenagers.

Other than that? Well, the facilities for children are pathetic, a few old slides and a tiny freezing cold swimming pool. The toilets and showers were disgusting, the mens in particular were constantly full of unflushed faeces. No one is ever on reception if you need anything, and the "shop" is actually just a store room for the bar, with nothing in it except cheap vodka - which isn't my little girl's drink of choice.

If you have a family, please avoid.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank miguljkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

Well we had the best holiday ever the campsite had everything that you need, we stayed in one of the caravans which is new to Jersey and they had everything that you need granted they are touring ones as Jersey do not allow Statics on the Island but the Owners and the staff went out of there way to make sure that we enjoyed our holiday all the food offered in the restaurant is Jersey Produce and it was fantastic, the best New Potatoes etc that I have ever had as they are grown in next doors field.

We are telling all our friends and family about this little gem and we will be back!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GarryBHereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

This has to be the most 'interesting' holiday we have been on. The caravans were new in 2010 - to the campsite. Definitely not new, tired and worn and at least 15 years old. Ours had been abandoned where it stood, once we had jacked up the legs so we didn't fall out of bed, attached the waste water pipe, mended the curtains and fixtures it was fine. Not great, just fine.

Don't be fooled by the claim that they have own showers and toilets, these caravans are not plumbed in, they tell you not to use the toilet or shower except if caught short. You are given a key to private showers - which are two shower / toilets shared amongst the occupants of 5 caravans and any campers to pay extra for these (that's a lot of people). The showers were filthy, it took 48 hours for their first clean (by which time we had already bought a large bottle of Mr Muscle). From the day we arrived to the day we left the talcum powder on the floor under the sink was still there. I have camped numerous times and normally showers and toilets are cleaned at least twice a day, if not more. This said, I looked in on the main shower block and was immediately grateful for what we did have - swilling around in other peoples dirty water is not my idea of fun.

This level of cleanliness (or not) put us off trying the hot tub or pool, so can't comment.

The shop - looked great and well stocked in the picture on the website. In reality it is the bar / kitchen store room - that will sell you anything they happen to have which is not a lot. They are missing a trick here, with the nearest shops a 7 minute drive away. It is all there, it just seems that they staff don't care. They spent more time pressure washing tents than cleaning - priorities?

We did eat in the restaurant one evening - food was nice.

Also the site is very noisy, we were dismayed to come back one evening and find that 45 noisy teenagers had taken up residence for 3 nights. I pitied the poor families with toddlers. Some warning that they had booked would have been appreciated.

I felt that the price charged did not reflect the services given. A more realistic price would have meant that the facilities would have been more acceptable.

This said, in its defence, it is cheaper than a holiday cottage and fits with a budget holiday - however if they were a) honest about what is there and b) took more care with cleaning, they could have a lovely site which people would want to return to. It is on the nicer side of the island, the beaches at Plemont Bay and Greve de Lecq are beautiful.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cavviecath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
home
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

We have just got back from blue soleil campsite,we had the best 7 days ever.The owners david and lesley were the nicest couple ever so friendly and kind going out of their way to make us happy,,thanku 4 the scones both of you.Wayne the chef well what can i say his food was the best and well priced,we had breakfast and dinner there every day..The swimming pool and hot tub were used daily by our kids and they were lovely and clean...Showers and toilets were clean and tidy,and showers were lovely and hot..The tent was clean and tidy fully equiped with all you could need,beds were comfy and clean...Dont know how people can give bad reviews on this campsite it was lovely,watch out Blue Soleil the medlocks will be back.Bethany and Danielle cant wait 2 see blue the dog again...THANKU 4 A LOVELY WEEK.......

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steveu680610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Ouen
0.0 mi away
Hotel De Normandie
Hotel De Normandie
#3 of 5 in StSaviour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.0 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#1 of 2 in St. Ouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison des Landes Hotel
Maison des Landes Hotel
#2 of 2 in St. Ouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BleuSoleil Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BleuSoleil Camping

Property: BleuSoleil Camping
Address: Leoville House La Route de Vinchelez, St. Ouen JE3 2DB
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Ouen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Speciality Lodging in St. Ouen
Number of rooms: 204
Also Known As:
Bleusoleil Camping Hotel Jersey
BleuSoleil Camping St. Ouen, Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing