We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Daisy Cottage Campsite & Retreat
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved it!!”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and 4 kids are just back having spent 3 nights in a bell tent at Daisy Cottage.

What a unique and fantastic place - totally love the chilled out atmosphere and can't recommend the place highly enough. Will definitely be coming back and look forward to seeing the renovation work that is planned for this winter.

If you're the kind of family who are looking for a relaxed stay hosted by genuinely nice people then you can't go wrong with Daisy Cottage.

If you're looking for a 'corporate' camping experience then this may not be for you - however it'd be your loss as this place is very special indeed!

Thanks for a great stay guys - counting down the days till we can come back!

Fiona, Rob, Faith, Joel, Gracie and Dan x

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Pastypower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    13
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
35
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 rainy nights late August. The campsite is pretty small and feels very homely. Its walkable to the gorgeous Plemont bay which is as equally worth a visit as Jersey's bigger beaches. Breakfast was pricey but worth it as truly delicious. Rained non stop when we stayed so sadly didn't get much use out of the pool and morning yoga was cancelled due to weather. At least the caf/bar is luxuriously cosy and the showers very hot :)

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank emmasiob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

I would just like to back up the comments made by some of the other users who has left reviews.
Yes there was dirty underwear and used razors left around the toilet facilities during our stay. And the staff wouldn't have seen then because my partner and friend spent some time cleaning the toilets and disposing of them in the bins themselves before being able to use the facilities. At one point my partner gathered up all of the above and hung them in a bag on the office door. Obviously everyone has the same entitlement to use the facilities but the large group of girls mentioned were constantly gathered in the toilet area leaving behind a right mess. When another camper asked management to have a word with them she was told that basically there were only there another day so to try and put up with it until then.
Also regarding pitch sizes, im sure there is some legal requirements for space between tents. Not on Daisy Cottage it seems. We were inches apart from tents either side of us and a footstep from the road. Other tents were ALLOWED to block access paths to the facilities forcing children to have to use the road and the carpark for access. Not safe obviously. I think every single child that was there during our stay participated every evening in a game of hide and seek or 'manhunt' and to keep 1 guy sweet who complained and had only arrived a few hours earlier our children were sent to play in a different field. As soon as we were aware of this we called our children inside as it was dusky and wanted them near us so as far as items being thrown into the pool i dont think anyone should be pointing the finger.
Jersey itself is absolutely stunning and we spent an arm and a leg on the holiday but the dissapointent of the site really spoiled it for us and let the whole experience down.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank GatchyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed at Daisy Cottage in August for 12 nights. There were four of us including 2 teenage children. When we booked we asked for a large pitch as we had a tent and van and on arrival were shown to our large pitch which had plenty of room for us to spread out.

The campsite is in a great location we loved nearby Plemont beach and there were also plenty of nearby shops to choose from for supplies you could also buy the basics at the campsite. Also in Jersey as the island is so small nowhere was more than about 15 minutes away. We had a few evening meals and breakfast in the wonderful Daisy Cafe all of which were very tasty, great value and really good portions! There was free wifi which luckily reached our tent and kept the children very happy! I also asked to use the washing machine and Edith said no problem I'll do it for you!

Although there were only four toilets and showers for ladies, we never had a problem, like any campsite in August sometimes you would expect them to be busy, also there was always lots of hot water. We didn't have any issues with parking as we had plenty of space on our pitch and we felt the campsite was very well lit, we did take a torch with us but it was not needed!

Please don't be put off by any previous negative reviews it really is a great little campsite. There are a few issues that the owners are aware of and are working hard to resolve, but if you want a small, quiet, relaxed, friendly, clean and tidy campsite, Daisy Cottage is for you. The biggest thing you will notice are the wonderful people that work there, everyone is so friendly and helpful and they will do anything they can to make your holiday the best it can be.

We would like to wish Michelle, Les and Team Daisy all the best and carry on the great work!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Nichola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My husband and I are NOT campers but had left it very late to book a holiday for ourselves and our 2 children (aged 5 and 8). We wanted to return to Jersey having stayed in a hotel for a couple of nights at Easter. With no hotel availability, I frantically searched for something else and, having been recommended Daisy Cottage Campsite by a friend a while back, I rang to book a yurt. We have been bowled over by every aspect of this campsite... the yurt is HUGE and feels better than a hotel room. We are converts. We found that it gave us the freedom to cook on the BBQ provided with each yurt as well as eat great home cooked, reasonably priced food in the lovely café. The toilets were clean. Our children believe they are staying in a magical palace with fairy lights and a wood burner and they have the freedom to wander around this safe and friendly campsite, finding friends and playing in the park. What really makes this campsite extra special is the staff. They really go that extra mile to help and welcome visitors. We were actually reassured by earlier reviews criticizing staff for insisting on quiet after 10 pm as we didn't want to be kept awake all night by drunken revelers and this aspect of the campsite was a real positive for us. Staff are really serious about ensuring that everyone has a good stay and we feel it is a bonus that they would challenge anyone who threatens this. Campers were encouraged to be relaxed and have a good time but the 10 pm quite time was respected and I'm glad it was in place. The campsite has a real 'retreat' feel to it. My husband and 8 year old son even tried early morning yoga by the pool! This is definitely a real 'find' for us and we will come back.

Room Tip: Yurts are a bit pricey but worth the money. However, the bell tents seem spacious as well and worth...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Les S, Owner at Daisy Cottage Campsite & Retreat, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for taking some precious time to write such a lovely review.

We are always very pleased when guests enjoy their stay. We are also pleased when guests understand our ethos of calm relaxed and peaceful living especially when so many people only have a week or two each year to recharge and enjoy quality time with friends and family.

As mentioned in your review the 7 metre yurts are very large and easily sleep six comfortably.
Our yurts are hand made locally and furnished and decorated using much natural and recycled materials as possible and have a very rustic look and a very relaxing feel about them.
After the rush of the season, Peds the Yurt man will be winterizing the yurts by adding insulation for our winter retreat programme which is due to begin late September. when the log burning stove is lit they will be warm and very cosy.
We are always looking at ways to remain competitive in terms of cost, and will be reviewing our pricing Structure very soon ready for 2015.

We trust your journey home was a good one and we hope your minds stay in daisy cottage mode for a while to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

we stayed here a family of 3 with an 8 year old boy for 3 nights during a trip to jersey at the beginning of august. when we arrived we were shown to our pitch by one of the very friendly staff and given a choice of 4 pitches on a grid beside the play area. it was apparent that the pitches where on the small side, close to the road and theres not a lot of privacy. the parking for the site was very poor and we had to park beside our pitch and incorporate this into our space. there was also a path running beside the pitch and a fence reducing the chance of running guide ropes out properly. our tent is only a 4 man and we struggled and any bigger would have caused a lot of problems. the toilet block mens toilet block was ok, not great by any stretch and could do with updating and a bigger boiler to handle more hot water to run the showers during busy periods. theres no open space for children to play. there seems to be too much space dedicated to therapies that from what i could see the majority of site users didn't use. theres little going for this site apart from maybe the pool area, cafe and location. the cafe served good tasty hearty meals but seating on an evening wasn't adequate. the pool was passible but small. there seems to be wifi onsite but i couldn't connect or even pick it up anywhere. the surrounding beaches and countryside are stunning. we won't be returning to daisy cottage but we will definitely be returning to jersey.

Room Tip: if you do decide to go to daisy cottage then chooses a pitch further from the cafe and toilet block...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barry p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Les S, Owner at Daisy Cottage Campsite & Retreat, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time.

The therapy rooms are in fact extremely busy with Campers and locals alike and definitely a worthwhile appendage to Daisy Cottage. Natural Therapies has two chiropractors and 4 excellent massage Therapists. On offer are a full range of therapies including Swedish,Sports,Indian head massages, reflexology and much more and a range chiropractic services as well.
We are also running several retreat weekends and meditation courses throughout the shoulder and winter months.
Michelle is the proud owner of Natural therapies and is a qualified teacher of massage she will be running some accredited Swedish massage courses and massage courses for couples also throughout winter.
Michelle is an extremely talented and experienced Therapist who's background is in working in a Hospice for many years with terminally ill patients and also supplies therapies to seriously injured servicemen including amputees and those suffering PTSD and other debilitating conditions. she also has experience with head injured and MND clients, as well as those who just need to relax and unwind. Natural therapies is at the heart of Daisy Cottage and will remain a very important addition to the whole experience of our guests stay. A lot of guests have actually involved themselves in some of the charity work that Michelle supports on site which gives everyone a real feel good factor and is also so worthwhile.

We as advertised are a very small campsite. The current standard pitch at Daisy Cottage is
9 X 7 metres. There are larger pitches available for those with larger tents, caravans and motor homes if requested when booking. any tent larger than 9 X 7 metres is probably not an average 4 person tent.
For next season we intend to reduce our pitches in number and increase them in size to achieve the same retreat feel we achieve during the shoulder months.

You also mention you were given a choice of 4 pitches. Yet chose one near the shower blocks but advise others not to? But don't say why. I must add though that quite a few people request to be near toilets so obviously it is a personal choice.
There, as mentioned in previous replies was a temporary water pressure issue which was managed quickly and efficiently by an emergency plumbing team. and we also previously mentioned have a winter project planned to upgrade our plumbing system.

Our Cafe has 32 covers inside and 30 covers out side. With only around 150 campers and a hand full of locals on site at peak times I would say we have more than adequate seating. Thomaz our chef produces a fabulous range food from our menu as well as an ever changing specials board, and is competitively priced. We also serve coffees, Cappuccinos, frappes, Lattes, Mocha's and a range of specialty teas. There are a range of home baked cakes, sandwiches and snacks available. Or you could just kick back and enjoy a glass of wine or beer from the bar.
We are open for breakfast from 8am until last orders for food 8pm.

Daisy Cottage may be only small, but it's got plenty going for it, and going on, It's a shame that you didn't benefit from the more positive experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I have just returned home after a week in a yurt at Daisy Cottage and will definitely be returning again. The site is small, clean and well run. The staff go above and beyond with customer service, led by the wonderful Michelle. The cafe was reasonably priced and the food was excellent. The yurt was perfect - roomy, clean and very relaxing. We also had some treatment at Natural Therapies - the treatments were average prices and all of the therapists were professional and friendly. Daisy Cottage is definitely worth a visit!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank domhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Les S, Owner at Daisy Cottage Campsite & Retreat, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for reviewing Daisy cottage we appreciate you time.

Thank you also for your kind response to our Staff, who do indeed go the extra mile to ensure all is well for our guests. In general I believe they find pleasure the social interaction with guests and have an enjoyment of their work generally. As their employer i feel very lucky to have assembled such a good team who also give myself and Daisy cottage a great deal of extra miles.
Tomaz our Chef and Edith our manager have worked hard to produce a menu that is reasonable and to produce food of a good standard and will be pleased with your review.
You also mention the therapy team. Again a very experienced and dedicated bunch, who also take pride in what they do.

Thank you again, we appreciate your comments, and will ensure our staff see your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Ouen
3.4 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St Brelade
967 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
723 reviews
6.8 mi away
Talana Hotel
Talana Hotel
#4 of 5 in StSaviour
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Mountview
Mountview
#21 of 32 in St Helier
203 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sarum Hotel
Sarum Hotel
#28 of 32 in St Helier
75 reviews
8.3 mi away
Beachcombers Hotel
Beachcombers Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grouville
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daisy Cottage Campsite & Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daisy Cottage Campsite & Retreat

Property: Daisy Cottage Campsite & Retreat
Address: La Route de Vinchelez, St. Ouen JE3 2DB
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Ouen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in St. Ouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Daisy Cottage is a very Small friendly Campsite where we aim to provide simple Camping in quiet, relaxed, rural surroundings for Tents Caravan or motor homes. There are no Noisy Bars, water parks etc. We are a stones throw from The beautiful Greve de Lecq beach or short 5 min drive from the famous St Ouens Bay which is ideally located for water sports and world famous surf. There are a restaurants and grocery shops very nearby, we are also on a bus route to give access to St Helier and other parts of our beautiful island. We als offer you the opportunity to relax in your pitch or to take advantage of our onsite therapy centre for a massage,reflexology,Indian head massage, chiropractic or Niels Yard facial with one of our amazing Therapists in our luxurious therapy rooms. Or you can join in with Yoga or guided meditations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Daisy Cottage Campsite & Retreat St. Ouen, Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing