We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Neeleshwar Hermitage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed at Neeleshwar Hermitage for 2 nights, we had booked 3 cottages and we were 3 families with 1 child each. Though the property was beautiful and rooms excellent the staff were just not children friendly. Infact during all the meals we were served last even though we had kids considering the fact that they had a set menu.There were limited option for food and alcohol which was a disappointment

On the last night we found a metal screw in the rice bowl and the staff just didn't seem apologetic about it considering the fact that 3 kids had just had the same bowl of rice a few minutes back which was really scary.

The spa within the property is not up to the mark considering the fact that its a boutique hotel which had a spa that claimed to be have a trained staff on Kerala Ayurvedic massage.

Overall it was a disappointing experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank venx77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

I spent 4 nights here after 12 days of traveling around Kerala, I chose it as my last stop for some proper relaxation time. It didn't disappoint at all. My cottage was spacious and super comfortable. The outside bathroom was great, i enjoyed hearing the cow gently mooing from next door every morning! Breakfast is served in the restaurant on the beach which is a beautiful, peaceful setting, at both morning and evening. The service in both restaurants by Arun and his team was definitely a highlight of the trip. They were so attentive and polite and nothing was too much to ask. Knowledgable about the menu, advising me with what to chose, ready to bring anything else i asked for. Early morning breakfast tea served on my veranda was lovely. I had several treatments in the spa which were first rate. The pool is gorgeous and big. The setting is incredibly tranquil. Local life goes on around the resort and walking along the miles of deserted beach, talking to the locals made for a truly immersive experience. A dream place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hannah h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

As other reviewers have mentioned it is not an easy drive to get to Neeleshwar but the road is being worked on at the moment and it should improve. When you arrive you are welcomed and then taken to your thatched cottage (ours faced the beach & was separate). The rooms are spacious and the novelty of the bathroom being outside was very easy to get used to (they have anti mosquito rings burning every evening so no problem with being bitten!). We had spent two nights on the Lotus which was magical so were quite relaxed when we arrived and didn't take up the offer of yoga or meditation but did have some wonderful treatments in their Spa. We also loved the free short boat ride they offer on the small lagoon
in front of the hotel where you see two different types of kingfishers, bee eaters and other birds. The beach is stunning and goes on for miles but beware of the various piles of pooh that the locals leave on it you have to watch your steps sometimes. The pool is an infinity pool but the area is quite small and can get crowded if everyone wants to be there at the same time and there are not enough loungers or sunshades - really l think they need to invest in a few more umbrellas. When we were there most of the guests were over 60 and if you are a party person this is not the place for you. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and felt extremely relaxed when we departed.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank fido0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Given that this was one of the places I had booked to enjoy complete luxury on this trip, I was slightly disappointed when we were shown to our room, as I had expected a completely separate villa (rather like Orange County - see review) but whilst many of the rooms were separate, ours was semi detached with just a small screen separating our side of the veranda from our neighbours. However, that aside the accommodation was fine with a bathroom open to the fresh air (not a problem except when attempting to avoid mosquitos!). Very peaceful, good infinity pool and lovely beach. The sea was beautiful although we seemed to be the only people who went in it whilst we were there. Large dining area with tables spread out to ensure privacy. Food was good although not the best we had on this holiday. We enjoyed a nice massage each and there is high emphasis on health - no smoking policy on the entire site, limited alcohol - not really a problem but I think the guests should perhaps be allowed to make their own choices about such things, or the policies highlighted more clearly when booking.

Room Tip: Stipulate if you want a separate villa rather than a semi-detached!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LizzieLou1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

After 4 weeks in Assam and Bhutan we chose to relax for a week before returning to our 'normal' lives. What better place could there be; the moment the gates closed and we were ensconced in our wonderfully appointed sea facing bungalow we felt we were the only guests around! The well trained staff catered to our every need. Early morning Yoga, poolside meals, cookery demonstrations and the wonderful afternoon on the houseboat. We were so chilled that we could not stir ourselves to take advantage of the Spa - a good reason to return for the full works. Thank you to the whole team who made our stay memorable

Room Tip: All rooms are great, verandas with fans, hammocks between the swaying palms. I chose sea over the ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClanHendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This is a very comfortable and relaxing place to stay! The Bungalows are most comfortable with the novelty of semi-outdoor bathrooms which are excellently appointed, the Gardens are
absolutely beautiful and the beach goes on for miles. The Staff are all charming, whether at
Reception, serving the delicious food, in the Spa or the small but lovely Shop. Whilst we stayed there, we visited the local fish-market by TukTuk, took a sunset trip on the backwaters and attended a local Theyyam festival - all arranged for us by the Resort, and all well-worth doing if you can tear yourself away from the Beach and the lovely pool.
The Resort is arranged so that you can have absolute privacy if you require it, but we found it fun to talk to other guests.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennyW2091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This is a seriously remote destination - 2.5 hours drive from Mangalore airport on not so great roads. In my opinion this is a great place for couples to chill out, but for a solo traveller it was anything but ideal. The staff are all very pleasant and try hard to please.

The pool area is a little disappointing as it is shallow. The sea was rough most of the days that I was in residence and the red flag prohibited swimming. I might be writing a somewhat different review had my stay been shorter. I think it is a 4 day stopover if you are travelling alone otherwise you just go stir crazy. I should have left early.

The yoga each morning was fun followed by breakfast, but what to do for the rest of the day…..walk the beach and read endlessly. Perhaps I expect too much. My fellow guests were absolutely charming. For me it was a square peg in a round hole situation.

Room Tip: one of the three seafront cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aston1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kasaragod
12.4 mi away
Taj Bekal Resort and Spa, Kerala
13.9 mi away
The Lalit Resort & Spa Bekal
0.2 mi away
Kanan Beach Resort
Kanan Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Nileshwar
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Hotel Bekal Palace
Hotel Bekal Palace
#3 of 4 in Bekal
125 reviews
16.8 mi away
Thalathoor Heritage
Thalathoor Heritage
#1 of 10 in Kasaragod
75 reviews
0.6 mi away
Malabar Ocean Front Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neeleshwar Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neeleshwar Hermitage

Address: Dist. Kasaragod, Kasaragod 671314, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kasaragod District > Kasaragod
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Kasaragod
Price Range: £179 - £581 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Neeleshwar Hermitage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Neeleshwar Hermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neeleshwar Hermitage Hotel Kasaragod
Neeleshwar Hermitage Kerala, India - Kasaragod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing