We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful church, friendly clergy”

St John the Baptist Church
Ranked #3 of 11 things to do in Loughton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: St John the Baptist is a very fine piece of Victorian architecture and probably the main sight in Loughton. It is about 20 minutes walk from Loughton station and on the 20 and 167 bus route.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful church, friendly clergy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

We had our wedding banns read here and attended a few services. The church itself is beautifully built, nicely situated and I have been told it is very popular for weddings.

The clergy were very helpful with the wedding banns, friendly and welcoming. It seems to have a thriving congregation and we felt very accepted as visitors.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Drew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Venue for My daughters wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

This church is really amazing inside, the alter reminds me of Russia and the Tsar all very gold and splendid.

It has a lovely calm atmosphere. I am so looking forward to the ceremony in March 2013. Will write new review then.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

This is a beautiful church and a lovely setting for a wedding. The vicar was very friendly and made the service very enjoyable, being serious and funny when appropriate.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanettefox57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A real family of worship”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

A lovely place to worship. In particular the family service is great, which integrates the children into the service, rather than sending them away into separate rooms.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsbeenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
114 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great place for a concert.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

I've been to a few concerts at this church over the years and it is a lovely venue and very beautiful inside. Because it is away from the main High Road, I think people forget it is there, but its accoustics are excellent.

Sometimes they use the nearby church hall for refreshments and walking across the path can be dodgy as it isn't lit too well, so take a torch with you. There is a tiny carpark, but free parking is available in the street, although on the last occasion I went there - there was also an event in the church hall and we had to park quite a way up the road. That for us was a minor detail, the concert was good enough and the church as always feels so welcoming.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank happyessextraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St John the Baptist Church also viewed

 

Been to St John the Baptist Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing