We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great get away”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Castle Hills, Texas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Adan S
Katy, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great get away”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Great ranch house, just like home every single thing item available. Except food but we brought out meat, chicken, n sausage. Plus breakfast stuff. 9 miles north of town, will a nice senic view too excellent drive. Bbq pits were a plus very handy. Oak wood available. Porch all around house with swings n rocking chairs. Fire pit nice but would be good for cold nites plus fireplace in house. Saw longhorns, deer, peacocks, ginnies, all types of birds for humming birds to red cardinals. Wood floors were nice. Will return in the near future. Soon.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m0m23ags
Cypress, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Our dreamhouse!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Enchanted Porch worked out perfectly for our extended family as we traveled to attend a hill country wedding. We wanted a place that would be comfortable for the older crowd, but fun for the young adults, and this place was perfect. The house was great in design, features, furnishings, and "cuteness!" Great kitchen, plenty of bathrooms, and the best part - a wrap-around porch that made the scenery, wildlife, and domesticated animals a pleasure to watch. Deer, hummingbirds and songbirds were everywhere. Longhorn cattle made the trek up to the house once on our stay, and we took the opportunity to feed them, following the instructions left for us by the owners. Even saw some llamas on one of our walks through the ranch.

The location is 9 miles from town, which wasn't a problem. And the same road also leads to Enchanted Rock, which made for a great morning for the young people on the trip.

We'll defnitely be back, and highly recommend this house to anyone looking for a country setting near the great town of Fredericksburg.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sitkasmit...
El Campo, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Girls' Getaway”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had a really great stay at the Enchanted Porch recently for a bachelorette weekend. The house had plenty of places to sleep and plenty of ladies' rooms for a group of gals (which is important for getting ready to go!). The house was well-stocked with kitchen supplies for cooking in, yet it wasn't too far to go into town for dinner, either. Beautiful surroundings and excellent porch with lots of seating for kicking back and watching the sunset. I would highly recommend the Enchanted Porch for a great Fredericksburg getaway.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nruizhear...
Henrietta, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pena Girls Cousin Reunion”
Reviewed 25 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The Enchanted Porch in Federicksburg, Texas was amazing. Our group of 14 varied in ages from 81 years to early twenties. We had plenty of room for sleeping and visiting. The warp around porch was amazing. We utilized the grill propane grill, for one of our meals and the kitchen was large enough for us all to use. The area around the house was calm and peaceful. We got to visit with the Longhorn that were only a walk away. The WIFI was easy to use, once we found out what the password was. If we ever go back to Federicksburg for another reunion, we will definetly stay at the Enchanted Porch.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheryl A
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Enchanted Christmas”
Reviewed 30 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We spent Christmas 2012 in this lovely house. Our group consisted of my husband & myself, our 3 adult sons, daughter-in-law and 3 yr. old grandson. The property is located 9 miles outside of Fredericksburg and on 60+ acres. It is out in the country - just where we wanted to be.

The house has 4 bedrooms. Two are located on the 1st floor and share a full bathroom with a tub. One of those rooms has a Queen bed and a twin bunk-bed, the other room has a King size bed. Married son, DIL and grandson took the Queen bed/bunk-bed room.
The other two bedrooms are located upstairs. The upstairs is a loft that overlooks the living/dining area below. After climbing the stairs you reach the 1st loft bedroom. It has a bunkbed with a full bed on the bottom & twin bunk on top. There is also a sofa. The whole area is open, but there is a small bathroom with a shower adjacent to the loft area. The 2 bachelor sons took these bunk beds and they worked well for them. You walk through the loft bedroom to reach the Master bedroom.

The Master bedroom is very large with a King bed, sitting area with a sofa (turns into a bed) and a nice bathroom with shower only. You walk through the loft bedroom to access the Master, but it has a door that closes it off to the loft bedroom. It's a great room.

In addition to the 2 bedrooms downstairs, there is a living/dining area, small kitchen & utility room.The house was very clean and nicely furnished. The beds were comfy. There was plenty of everything - linens, quilts, pot/pans, dishes, glassware etc. It was simply perfect for us. We cooked most of our meals at the house. in the evening we watched movies or played games.

The porch is wonderful! There are swings on the front & back porches and plenty of rocking chairs/ small tables to use - great for playing 42. The stone patio area is wonderful too. We brought our bean bag & washer games and played alot outside during the warmer days. The owners have a plastic cabinet outside on the porch with bird seed and cow treats. We all enjoyed feeding the cows the treats. And, we took long walks on the property. Some beautiful areas in the back.

There is a fire pit, gas & charcoal grills to use. Unfortunately for us, there was a fire ban in place so we weren't able to use the fire pit and charcoal grill. And the day we had scheduled to grill steaks, a cold front was blowing in and the wind was howling so we didn't think using the propone grill was a good idea.

The house has wi-fi and was easy to acess. However, we were not able to receive most calls on our cell phones. A couple came through, but most did not. For the most part, text messages went through. And since we were on vacation that was ok with us.

All in all, this was a perfect, relaxing Christmas for us and we hope to return again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Reviewed 18 June 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Texas
Reviewed 14 June 2012 for a stay in March 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing