We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crocus Gere Bor Hotel & Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Villany
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Very quiet, stilish, friendly. Prepare yourself to be amazed by the quality of the wine.
Tip nr 1: Best Tartar Beefsteak I ever eat
Tip nr 2: Gere Kopar from 2007 in Magnum is outstanding!
Tip nr 3: very pleasant, clean and friendly wellnes area

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rmuntean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at the hotel for a weekend, enjoyed a private bath cabin accompanied by a bottle of wine. Staff is extremly helpful, atmosphere is warm, every details are well accurated. Rooms are nice and bathroom is comfortable, all you need to relax.
We recommend the hotel for any wine lover.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaKlara74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed here in October for two nights after a 12 hour drive through Croatia. The staff was very accommodating and upgraded us to a larger, more central room. The room was very comfortable and homey. The spa facilities are beautiful with a large indoor pool, saunas and whirl pools. I had an amazing massage with grape seed oil. We also did a short wine tour of the Gere winery where we tasted some absolutely delicious wines. I would love to give this establishment five stars, but can't after having their tasting menu in the restaurant. I think there were 6-7 courses to the menu and the ideas were quite inovative but, unfortunately, did not always translate well to the plate. The whole meal experience took 3 hours and by the end of it, we were too exhausted and frustrated to fully enjoy the experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gayle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We had a relaxing and recreational 3-day (from Sun to Tue) stay with a good friend of mine at the end of October - fantastic timing: before the high season (Márton nap) but still chance for warm weather.
I start with the hospitality: it was amazing! Friedly, cheerful, natural, polite. The location was perfect, in the center of Villány, easy assess by car and started from arrival you can reach everything on foot within the city. Building and garden were well maintained and aesthetic. Room was very comfortable, spacious, well equipped. Don't miss the degustation menu at the Mandula Restaurant. But you can go for any other food on the menu - you will be very satisfied. Spa was clean and provided good opportunity for having rest.
What I also want to highlight that the other guests of the hotel were also friendly, respecting others and able to enjoy the high standard services! It is a big thing!

You know - going to Villány is fun for everyone even for a one day trip but staying at Crocus Gere and spend more time in this atmosphere is recharging and unforgettable experience. Highly recommended to everyone!

Room Tip: I beleive this hotel has only good rooms. The only thing that you should know that there are ongoing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgina552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We spent 2 nights here in mid October and hated to leave. The property has three areas; a wine bar/small gift shop, a fine dining area that also serves as the breakfast location and the hotel itself. We had a standard room which was very nice; two beds together with separate comforters, a flat screen TV, a nice bathroom with shower and a door opening to a screened French Balcony. The view was peaceful as was our entire stay. They have an indoor pool and jacuzzi as well as an outdoor hot tub heated with wood! We never ate dinner at the restaurant but did have breakfast each day and it was delicious. It was a very typical European breakfast with excellent coffee, pastries, meats and cheeses as well as the famous yellow Hungarian paprikas (peppers). The staff was universally helpful, all speaking some English. One nice thing about visiting Villany is the ease of getting to it from Budapest. We drove down on a new 4 lane freeway until just before the town. The Gere hotel is very centrally located, a must as you CANNOT drive with even the slightest alcohol content and all you really want to do every day is sample wine from one of the many wineries in the town! I highly recommend this hotel as an example of fine Hungarian hospitality in an upscale but not pretentious fashion.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 18 which was in the back of the hotel facing a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank szuperdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stood for three days. Did the 7 course gourmet meal paired with their wines. Excellent !
The first night we hit the hot tub (outside the spa) they prepare it for us with some extra logs for the cold night.
Next morning we did the spa: massages with grape oli, wine bathes, sauna, jacuzzi, pool, etc)
After the spa we hit the streets where you can find several vineyards one next to the other and you can wine-hop.
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Friends booked this ages ago, so we could all experience the Villany wine festival. We has a lovely quiet room overlooking the gardens. The breakfast was suber, and the evening dinner was also very good. Staff very helpful, booking us a horse and cart to tour the local wine mountain. the spa was great - we had a red wine bath which was certainly different. Hotel situated in the centre of town and in a perfect position to enjoy the unusual and authentic festival. Highly recommended if you want something non-touristy and a bit different.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneHammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villany
0.3 mi away
Bock Hotel Ermitage
Bock Hotel Ermitage
#1 of 2 in Villany
186 reviews
18 mi away
Adele Boutique Hotel
Adele Boutique Hotel
#1 of 26 in Pecs
72 reviews
18 mi away
Hotel Palatinus City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Ametiszt Hotel Harkany
Ametiszt Hotel Harkany
#5 of 11 in Harkany
19 reviews
10.3 mi away
Drava Hotel - Harkany
Drava Hotel - Harkany
#6 of 11 in Harkany
55 reviews
17.7 mi away
Corso Hotel Pecs
Corso Hotel Pecs
#3 of 26 in Pecs
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crocus Gere Bor Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crocus Gere Bor Hotel & Resort

Address: Diofas utca 4-12., Villany 7773, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Southern Transdanubia > Baranya County > Villany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Villany
Price Range: £85 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crocus Gere Bor Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Crocus Gere Bor Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing