We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, stunning location, disappointing food.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Widiane Suites & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bine el Ouidane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Just come back from a 4 night stay at Widiane. It was the perfect location for our short honeymoon. Relaxing,luxurious, sunny and stunningly beautiful. The staff were friendly, attentive and very helpful. We bought this trip as part of the groupon deal which worked out great value for money. The massages were fabulous, I've been on a few spa days before and the treatments can often be really mixed, however the ladies at Widiane really know what their
doing.

The only downside was the food. I read the previous reviews before we went and took some snacks to store in the room. Thank god we did as the food really was pretty poor, even worse than I was expecting. I knew as a veggie it would be tricky, however I didn't know anyone could get vegetable cous cous so badly wrong. This is something I often make myself as a midweek staple and it really requires little cooking skill. However I was given over cooked watery cous cous with highly salted plain stewed root veg. No garlic, no spices nothing, it was truly awful and very expensive. If they genuinely wish to enter the five star Market this aspect really needs to be addressed. I stuck with pasta for the rest of the stay, which was ok, but not great and another dish I could do much better at home (and trust me I'm no Delia).

However overall it was a lovely hotel, spotlessly clean, with beautiful rooms and grounds, a fabulous chlorine free infinity pool and the most breathtaking views. It just seems a shame these things are let down for want of a decent chef.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daystripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveler1977_1, General Manager at Widiane Suites & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2011

Dear Guests
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at widiane suites & spa, we hope to see you once again very soon with the pleasure of welcoming personnaly.

We have taken note of your concerns regarding the food and we have taken several action in order to improve our quality of service


thank you once again for your precious comments


Amine El Moumni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2011

Just returned from the Widiane Suites and Spa using the Groupon deal which was absolutely the best value! This hotel is in the middle of nowhere but the hotel, pool, spa and scenery are just fantastic. The value of the Groupon deal exceeded all expectations! The staff were so friendly and helpful! The rooms were beautiful although would have loved one of the poolside rooms, to wake up and have the amazing view over the lake would have been fantastic! We had one of the side rooms with a hot tub, which was great but it didn't quite have the view and missed out on the sun!! The massages were great and the staff in the Spa are lovely and friendly! The boat trip was great and the new part of the hotel looks like it will be fantastic and the location is amazing! I didn't mind the transfer, it is 3hrs but the peace and quite at this hotel makes up for that!
My only real criticism would be the cost of drinks, the soft drinks are over priced but as they have a captive audience you are a little bit trapped! Also the Spa needs to offer a few more treatments ie facials, manicures, pedicures etc! We would have paid extra for these treatments! It would also have been helpful to have an information pack in the room, about the location, the history of the area, about the lake and also facilities in the hotel.
I have returned home feeling extremely relaxed and chilled and this was due to this wonderful hotel and location. I loved it thankyou!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ali71London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveler1977_1, General Manager at Widiane Suites & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2011

Dear Guests
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at widiane suites & spa, we hope to see you once again very soon with the pleasure of welcoming personnaly.

We have taken note of your feedbacks that always helps us improve our quality of service

Thank you!

Amine El Moumni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Just back from a short visit to this hotel it is in the middle of no where but the is the idea ! Ideal for Honeymooners and people who wish ti chill or explore the local area treking mounting client meet the locals see the beautiful scenery. Its a luxury base with a spa and beautiful room there is room to land a helicopter so if feeling flush it makes it a short journey from Marrakesh airport!
The staff are polite and courteous and the views are to die for.... Go on treat yourself it's an experience you will never forget!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ruthgoze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widianesuites, General Manager at Widiane Suites & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2011

Dear Guests
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit at widiane suites & spa, we hope to see you once again very soon


thank you once again for your presious comments

should you like to contact me directly please do so at: direction@widiane.net

Amine El Mounmi
Directeur General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We went to Widiane Suites and Spa with the Groupon deal and it was fantastic...so chilled out, beautiful surroundings, helpful and pleasant staff and an amazing spa!
We went for 7 nights and i think we were the longest staying residents at the time! everyone seemed to have gone for the 4 day option.
We were in room 304 overlooking the pool and it was great! The privacy of sitting right outside your door but the pool was just a couple of steps away, bliss!
The spa is great, a special shout out has to go to the girls who do the massages, especially the Thai massage (amazing!!), we also got the Hammam scrub which i didnt enjoy but i think that's personal preference as opposed to it being bad in any way.
i will say the worst part of the holiday was the car journey to the hotel itself, just over 3 hours and a huge part of it along what we named the "road of death" up the mountain. Sheer drops on the side and the driver driving at mental speeds (i have to say this was just on the way there, on the way back, same road but not so scary as the driver wasnt quite so mental).
I can highly recommend the boat trip out on the lake, the scenary is stunning! We didnt make it for the hike (too lazy!) but we heard it was quite intense so maybe for the best!
I would definitely return to Widiane - but only if i could go by helicopter next time, i couldnt face that road again!! (so i dont think i'll be seeing them any time soon!)

Room Tip: ask for a room over looking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jillyb25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widianesuites, General Manager at Widiane Suites & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2011

Dear Guests
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at widiane suites & spa, we hope to see you once again very soon with the pleasure of welcoming personnaly.

In regard to the Helicopter ride please contact us directly for quotes

thank you once again for your presious comments

should you like to contact me directly please do so at: direction@widiane.net

Amine El Mounmi
Directeur General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Well now I have managed to find the Tripadvisor reviews for this property (not easy!) it has taught me to search harder, so we could take the good advice about the lake side rooms and made a fuss.

We had a really great 7 days at Widiane, except for the room. It was a good hotel room, but half underground with a small door to a footpath to the lake side garden. There was nowhere to sit outside, and annoyingly the room next door had two large loungers and was only used for a couple of the days we were present. The room also had only a single seat and a narrow bed - 4ft 6in. (There was another and we had to re-arrange the room so we could both access the one bed). Most of this would have mattered less if the lift to the upper area had not been out of action for 4 days of our stay.
As others have said the food is rather hit and miss. Perhaps surprisingly beef - as a Tajine or kebab was really good value - those I had were really well cooked, without any fat or waste. Lamb tajines were variable - but I have eaten enough Tajine elsewhere to know this is usual - although getting the type of fruit expected with any Tajine seemed difficult. A Pastilla starter on the first night was delightful but others were acceptable, but never so finely flavoured. The Moroccan salad was useful - my wife had this as a main course several times. The content varied each time, but appeals for 'no beetroot' failed - and this was a general problem, the kitchen appeared incapable of understanding a simple request via the serving staff. Another disappointment was a fish meal, one half of which appeared uncooked (and I was suspicious it had been unfrozen and frozen again such was the watery and soft texture). An amusing aside about the restaurant was that most guests brought torches to see the menu and food as the ambient lighting was almost non existent!

Breakfast was buffet on 6 days and excellent - all that one could want from a Moroccan hotel. BUT the one day there were insufficient guests the supposedly a la carte breakfast was poor. There is no carte, eggs are offered but I am very intolerant, we just about got a yoghurt but the a la carte was simply a continental breakfast - there was plenty of this but who wants cake and sweet rolls and jam for breakfast? Some people yes, but not everyone!

Because our room was not somewhere to stay we hung out in the bar more than most guests. So the room cost us, as drinks were relatively expensive. I do wonder if they are going to have a lot of British guests that by reducing the prices would achieve a lot more turnover and improve profits. However, unlike most guests we didn't drink the wines so much.
Apart from that the Groupon offer really came up trumps, amazing value for the extras, wine, fruit, 3 tortures (correction massages (:-)) ) boat trips, Hamman with good scrubs etc. We spent most of our time beside, and in, the pool. Lovely - and lots of chatting with other guests (Groupon brings you together). We also didn't have any problems with our transfers - fast yes, but very safe, and air conditioned. However, I have to admit we have driven ourselves in Morocco and many other places, with mountain roads far far poorer than the two routes to this resort (we came and went different ways), and city streets far more crowded.

Oh dear, I leave a bad impression, but this was a lovely hotel, a great week, which just needed some more thought by the management (indeed most of the time there appeared to be no management present and if they were they were running around after Coca cola guests). A guide in the room to facilities would be a useful starter!

Room Tip: Refuse a lake side room. The hotel is not suitable for anyone with walking difficulties. Ask for thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PaulBartlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widianesuites, Manager at Widiane Suites & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2011

Dear Guest

Widiane Hotel Team Members are thanking you for sharing your stay with us,

Please note that your concerns have been shared with concerned as well as improving our quality of gastronomie

we thank you again very much for sharing your experience with us and hoping to welcoming you soon for another experience at widiane

Kind regards

Amine El Moumni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

After a delayed flight and a very long transfer we were welcomed to the beautiful hotel (it was dark so difficult to fully appreciate the backdrop). After welcome drinks etc we were taken to our room by golf cart. The lakeside superior room was large with twin beds pushed together, doors opening onto the grass, wi-Fi, welcome basket and flies. Yes little black flies in the bathroom and on the bed (dead and alive). Having lived by a river before i know these flies and it wasn't about cleanliness but just one of those things about being by the open water. We'd seen previous reviews so we enquired about a pool view room which we changed to the next day. Much smaller but no flies and more traditional I felt (it was still a superior room). The treatments were booked on day 1 easily enough but we knew the hotel was quiet as day 1 was a buffet breakfast day 2 a'la carte (apparently this reflects the amount of guests). Treatments were lovely, having never had them before I can't comment anymore really appart from the girls being friendly and professional. Ladies do be prepared for boobs to be on show (I'm sure if you weren't comfortable with this they would accommodate you). Pool has the most splendid back drop and views, an amazing place to lounge. Hotel was very clean and reception staff very helpful (waiters a bit hit and miss). Alcohol in Morrocco is very expensive, luckily we had taken supplies and the fridge in our room was stocked with goodies from home (beer 65mad, coke 35mad, wine 240mad). Take a little local cash with you for tipping (if you want), the hotel will change it into smaller notes. Sign everything to your room and pay at the end by card as that's what we found was the best exchange rate. Now the food - expensive, stone cold on several occasions, bland and basically crap! Unfortunately dinner is the worst of the bunch. Breakfast is better as the buffet as you stand at the omelette man and get it hot! A'la carte seems to sit on the side for 10mins before they bring it out. Lunch is ok, club sandwich for my partner everyday and he was happy, avoid the burger but the caesar salad was actually good. Dinner - chicken supreme with tag was ok just bland, sole was ok twice but distinctively ammonia smelling the last night, seafood tagine only came with tuna, beef tagine was braised but very dry beef, carbonara was ok but cold. Spring roll starters are fine as are the little briouettes. Do not be afraid to send stuff back, we wish we had sent more stuff back and not been afraid of complaining. Overall would I go back - not until they change the food and I see reviews change to reflect this. When we did the boat trip we were shown another restaurant owned by the hotel but unfortunately this was closed as it is having work done?? We had a groupon deal so didn't pay top dollar. I did leave the same feedback with the hotel at the end of our stay so hopefully things will improve. Transfer back to Marrakech was only 2hrs30 but we obviously had an experienced driver who knew where he was going.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flimfloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We stayed 4 nigths in this hotel, in one of the room that leads directly on to the lake garden. Room was great and clean... however very badly sound proofed as we could hear everything from the neighbouors room. Fortunatly we had neighbours for only 1 night so was not a big problem.

Staff were lovely and very helpfull. The massages and hammam were very good, the boat trip and the trecking were good,

The only bad thing was the restaurant... Maroco could be proud of their food... unfortunatly the hotel's chef does not think that and propose a kind of French menu... but does not execute it properly which reslut on an average qualilty of food... The only marocan dish of the card was a tagine., in which the chef decided to had french fries...a bit random... And ton the top of that the prices were too expensive for the quality and versus the local prices. Unfortunatly there is no other restaurant in the area which make you feel a bit trapped... We love discovering the culture of the country we visit also by the food and unfortunatly, we had to wait our 3 days in Marrakesh to discover it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Calimergo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widianesuites, General Manager at Widiane Suites & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2011

Dear Guests
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at widiane suites & spa, we hope to see you once again very soon with the pleasure of welcoming personnaly.

We thank you regarding your concern about the Food that we have since changed the Menu's and put several morrocan delicacies.

thank you once again for your presious comments

should you like to contact me directly please do so at: direction@widiane.net

Amine El Mounmi
Directeur General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bine el Ouidane
9.1 mi away
Chems Le Tazarkount
Chems Le Tazarkount
#1 of 1 in Afourer
126 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Chems du Lac Bin el Ouidane
Hotel Chems du Lac Bin el Ouidan...
#3 of 3 in Bine el Ouidane
89 reviews
17.4 mi away
Hotel La Luna
Hotel La Luna
#1 of 5 in Beni Mellal
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Maison d'hote Dar l'Eau Vive
Maison d'hote Dar l'Eau Vive
#1 of 3 in Bine el Ouidane
46 reviews
17.1 mi away
Riad Cascades d'Ouzoud
Riad Cascades d'Ouzoud
#1 of 10 in Ouzoud
180 reviews
17.4 mi away
Camping / Auberge Zebra
Camping / Auberge Zebra
#1 of 10 in Ouzoud
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Widiane Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Widiane Suites & Spa

Address: Chemin du Lac de Bin El Ouidane BP: 44, Bine el Ouidane, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Tadla-Azilal Region > Bine el Ouidane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bine el Ouidane
Price Range: £136 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Widiane Suites & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Middle Atlas is nesting a most subtle pearl, Widiane Suites & Spa. A concentrate of essence and wellbeing to enrich your senses as you take in open views, fresh air and contrasting landscapes.Associating luxury and refinement, this masterpiece is the ideal retreat for nature lovers, where the time ceases to let you enjoy the celestial and charming site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Widiane Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Widiane Hotel Bine El Ouidane
Widiane Suites And Spa
Widiane Suites & Spa Morocco/Bine El Ouidane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing