We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anniversary lunch”
Review of The Rattlebone Inn

The Rattlebone Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Sherston
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chippenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Anniversary lunch”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Decided to visit Westonbirt Arboretum for a short walk to celebrate our wedding anniversary, as it was such a nice day decided to travel by country lanes, and ended up in the picturesque Wiltshire village of Sherston. As it was lunchtime popped into this Inn to see what the food looked like, and boy what a great decision that was. Despite the refurbishment of the exterior being underway, the welcome was very good, the menu offered us choices and the food once ordered and delivered was absolutely top notch. Accepting it wasn't overly busy being a Wednesday lunchtime the service was attentive but not oppressive. Perhaps the only downside was the choice of desserts, and therefore nothing chosen so cannot really comment on this or the hot drinks as those weren't wanted. Excellent value for money and will definitely visit again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    72
    24
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good atmosphere and good selection”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Very good place for a reasonable meal. Staff were really helpful and very good at what they did, which was serving and , clearing away and friendly. Great customer care.
Food was good with a good choice. Atmosphere quite buzzy with lots of different sorts of diners, locals and visitors. Highly recommend

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willagee, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We enjoyed the food so much, we went back the following night.
The beer that I had was very good, although I thought paying £20 for a £7 bottle of wine was a bit steep.
The atmosphere inside the pub was good.
Initially I didn't like my first impressions of the person behind the bar, which I assumed was the landlord. He did improve later

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmesbury
Level Contributor
81 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Entertaining lunch with Grandson”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Went to this charming old pub The Rattlebone in Sherston. Attentive staff and no problem getting a table. We couldn't fault the food or the service contrary to recent reviews. The waitress was very good and the food was delicious. Would certainly go there again

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinkney
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“No Trust”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The Rattlebone has a traditional appearance and is quite pleasant inside. The Beer is good and the food also. The one major criticism is that you need to put your credit card behind the bar when ordering food (OK when out side but when in the restaurant -REALLY). This is antiquated and shows that the staff lack empathy with the customer. It sets a bad tone for what is ahead, which is a shame because it really is not bad at all.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kleads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rattlebone Inn also viewed

Sherston, Wiltshire
Sherston, Wiltshire
 
Malmesbury, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Rattlebone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing