We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food”
Review of The Sun Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Sun Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hook Norton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Booked in for one night arrived 9 pm mid week and were more than happy to cook me a meal at that time. Food was excellent when it arrived, tasted as good as it looked. Room was lovely and clean - bathroom was excellent but just needed some shampoo as well maybe.

Needed a 6 am check out so missed breakfast but would stay here again. Ironically I then moved to a hotel in Abingdon as I was staying over on business for another two nights and paid a lot more per night and it wasnt half as good. Next time I will book here for the three nights. Staff friendly and could not do enough for you.

Room Tip: Room at front was nice but the church clock does chime till midnight and if you can cope with that i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    27
    18
    5
    1
See reviews for
21
33
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on Sunday evening and we're very disappointed. The welcome was virtually none existent. We were given our room key, and to be fair the room was quite good. Lovely bathroom, comfortable beds but very cold at night and in need of a de-cob-web!! After retiring to bed at 9.30pm, we had to listen to the music from downstairs until way past 1.30am!! Luckily our 9 yr old son slept thro it! Breakfast was very poor, raw sausages and eggs and bacon swimming in oil. We won't be returning anytime soon!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Had a fantastic birthday celebration here. Food for everyone (40) was terrific . 20 different dishes to choose from, plus selection of lovely deserts. Couldn't have been better. Staff very helpful and efficient. Had a wonderful evening.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacP232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Had an ice 2 day stay here. Staff were very friendly. Accommodation was ok, we were in room 1, we had to ask for a heater as it was exceptionally cold. We were told there was a boiler problem. The heater warmed it up a little. They were apologetic. Food in bar was excellent, as was the entertainment. Breakfast was lovely. Good stay overall.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynn619999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My girlfriend and me stayed in a delightful little cottage called Squirrel Cottage that was only a minutes walk from The Sun Inn. On our arrival on the Saturday we popped into The Sun Inn that night, also spent Christmas Eve but out best visit to The Sun Inn was on Christmas Day as we had Christmas Dinner down there. The food served was fantastic and plentiful....so much that I couldn't eat it all!! We loved our Christmas Day dinner at The Sun Inn, the service and food was first class, I couldn't fault the pub during any of our visits. We loved the pub and the village so much that we plan to go one summer to be able to enjoy the walks plus a few more pints of Old Hooky at The Sun Inn and most definitely more food!! The people in the village and the pub (staff and customers) were so polite and friendly that it was a lovely change to what I am used to in Cambridgeshire!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuinnessM0nster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We booked this pub last minute. We had room one and on 1st appearance was lovely, very spacious, plenty of tea & coffee but little milk and no hot chocolate. The towels were clean and plentiful. Bedding clean and fresh too. After an afternoon nap we soon realise the room was VERY cold, even having put the curtains behind the radiator which appeared to be luke warm. The bathroom was freezing as that radiator hardly worked at all. The hot water seemed to have air locks and was only luke warm. Having said that we were soon given an electric oil filled radiator which did warm both rooms as the landlord told us that since all the new bathroom refurbishment's they have had problems with the water system. The boiler van outside is a local resident and drinker and doesn't appear to be able to sort the problem. At breakfast we had to ask for sugar, glasses and milk for the table, (we were given the large jug off the breakfast table). On a very positive not the food at breakfast was very satisfactory but e evening meal was to die for and the bar staff were very friendly. Would probably visit again in the summer although we feel the price is a little on the high side for a small village compared to the Chipping Norton which offers more facilities and amenities.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walsalljon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

My wife and I used to use this Pub for a really good meal not so long ago... Just returned home after a Sat evening meal there.
The steak and ale pie is very nice there(when its on the menu) unfortunately it has been removed this time.

We both chose a suet game pie... Well, the suet was the thickest i have ever encountered (just stodge) and the curly Kale was as tough as old boots.
Good pint of Hooky though...... but will not be going back there, a real shame.

Come on you guys get your act together if you want to stay in business.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hook Norton
3.5 mi away
The Falkland Arms
The Falkland Arms
#1 of 1 in Great Tew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
8.9 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
4.6 mi away
The Fox
The Fox
#1 of 5 in Chipping Norton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,823 reviews
7.0 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
4.5 mi away
Crown and Cushion Hotel
Crown and Cushion Hotel
#4 of 5 in Chipping Norton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sun Inn

Property: The Sun Inn
Address: High Street, Hook Norton OX15 5NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Hook Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hook Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sun Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sun Inn is situated in the idyllic village of Hook Norton in the Cotswolds. Hook Norton is the perfect escape from the hustle and bustle of the city without being disconnected, located within easy reach of Banbury, Stratford upon Avon, Oxford and Cheltenham. The charismatic village boasts a close community centred around the Hook Norton Brewery who have been family ran and brewing for over a century. Regular tours and fine ales have brought tourism to the small village and to our establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Sun Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sun Hotel Hook Norton
The Sun Inn Hook Norton, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing