We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY FRIENDLY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gate Hangs High
Ranked #2 of 3 Hook Norton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
East Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“VERY FRIENDLY”
Reviewed 13 May 2012

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights and as other reviews have mentioned Sandy and Paul are very welcoming and chatty and certainly know how to give very good customer service.
the 4 rooms are situated outside and very spacious.
the only negative i can say about the room we stayed in was that it lacked the touch of a duster and polish, there were very long dangly cobwebs floating around, and the bathroom did not have a safety mat so was a little dangerous to get out of the bath/shower as very slippy.
sadly whilst we were there the pub saw very little customers, why I don't know as the food was delicious and staff friendly.
it.s a bout 30 mins walk in to hook norton village from the gate hangs high but would only recommend in daylight hours as no street lighting and very busy road.
plenty of car parking and nice seating area at the back of the pub.
as mentioned Sandy and paul are only there on a temp basis and although they were the perfect hosts it would be nice to see someone take the pub on that could show it's full potential.

Room Tip: take a hairdryer as the rooms don't have them
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMELIA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    30
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
23
41
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hook Norton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Decided to head to the Gate for steak night on Wednesday. We were not disappointed, Sandy made us very welcome and the steak cooked by Paul was better than one I had paid more than 3 times as much for in France a few days earlier. At £26 for 2 steaks and a nice bottle of house red value for money could not be bettered. A great way to spend a Wednesday night.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zr1Alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2012

My wife and I were treated generously and courteously and fed right royally !
We noticed that other patrons were welcomed just as warmly and made to feel special.
Sandy graciously offered to drive us to the local church to attend a family wedding.

Room Tip: Only a few rooms;make sure one is booked in good time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

The Gate was closed for a few months after the previous tenants left but re-opened in January. We have stayed here several times over the past few years and stayed again for 4 nights in late March. Sandy and Paul are very experienced at running pubs having previously been at the Moon and Sixpence and the Three Conies, both close to Banbury. Paul is an excellent chef-offers fairly standard pub menu alongside a more interesting specials board-we ate Whitebait, Kidney's Turbigo, Moules et Frites, Loin of Cod wrapped in Parma Ham with a caper and butter sauce, Vanilla Panacotta, all of which were excellent and reasonably priced. Well-kept Hook Norton beer, small very reasonably priced wine list, by the glass or bottle (£13.95). Still a pub so ok to just call in for a drink in the lovely old bar (open fires when we were there).Sandy covers front of house and she is very welcoming and helpful, Comfortable bedrooms have not changed, very good value at £65 per night for 2 including a good breakfast. The only downside is that Sandy and Paul are only looking after the pub whilst permanent tenants are found but will be there until at least the end of May. It is a lovely country pub: if we lived nearby we would be regular visitors.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StokeOnTrentGemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Rural location, perfect for exploring the Cotswolds. Friendly owners, good food with decent rooms.

Room Tip: Aim for room 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phantomcube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights, so we could go to the Cornbury Festival, 6 miles away.The rooms were very comfortable, clean and with modern fittings in the ensuite.The breakfasts were also to a good standard.The 'little extra' we got during the stay, was the helpfulness of the staff at the bar, and the person dealing with the accomodation/meals.An ideal place to stay, and a very friendly 'pub' to boot, what more do you want.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorfolkDrummerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2011

We visited The Gate Hangs High for a bit of a family get together and were pleasantly suprised by the buzing atmosphere of this gorgeous little country inn.
We were welcomed with open arms on a busy saturday afternoon with no reservation and were seated with very little wait. The menu is varied with something for everyone young and old. I had the twice cooked ribs which fell off the bone and my partner (once he had worked out how to pronounce it without getting his toung tied!) The Southstreet Seaport Pasta which delivered a creamy smokey richness that just screamed comfort food. We were not rushed and the table was ours for the afternoon. Its just so refreshing to find somewhere that doesnt follow the hum drum bulk standard model that is so rife in our culinary choices these days.
Good Home Cooked Fresh Food with Good Home Grown Customer Service.
Keep It Up - We will be back! I have my eye on the Home Made Toffee Apple Bread and Butter Pudding for next time although I doubt my hips will thank me!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serenity19422010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hook Norton
5.4 mi away
Crown and Cushion Hotel
Crown and Cushion Hotel
#4 of 5 in Chipping Norton
666 reviews
9.5 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,114 reviews
5.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Falkland Arms
The Falkland Arms
#1 of 1 in Great Tew
378 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Fox
The Fox
#1 of 5 in Chipping Norton
191 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Sun Inn
The Sun Inn
#1 of 3 in Hook Norton
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gate Hangs High? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gate Hangs High

Property: The Gate Hangs High
Address: Hook Norton OX15 5DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Hook Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hook Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gate Hangs High 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Gate Hangs High reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gate Hangs High Hotel Hook Norton
The Gate Hangs High Hook Norton, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing