We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has Real Potential”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Gate Hangs High
Ranked #2 of 3 Hook Norton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Has Real Potential”
Reviewed 22 September 2012

I would have liked to give 3.5 stars for this pub/restaurant but of course the ratings won't allow it. My wife and I recently went for a meal whilst we were holidaying in the area. I understand that it has recently been taken over, and I think there is real potential. The beer is kept well, and the pub itself is pleasant and welcoming. The food was OK, but if anything they were almost trying to hard, to be a little different. I had prawns in chilli to start, and these were good, but I'm not sure why they were served in a bowl of hot oil. My wife had pate and this was excellent. I asked if they would combine the sea bass main, with the salmon accompaniment ie Potato and Chorizo salad, and they were happy to accomodate this, and it was very reasonable - perhaps the sea bass was a little overcooked. My wife had the fish and chips - but this came with creamed peas!! Not garden peas or mushy peas - but creamed peas (peas in cream)- and it just didn't work. The staff were pleasant and helpfull, and the manager was eager to know what we thought, and was superbly attentive. Once they get the basics right I think this could be a very good pub/restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart T, Manager at The Gate Hangs High, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Thak you for taking the time to leave a review for The Gate Hangs High. I am glad you enjoyed the experience and have taken on board your comments regarding the menu which we have now ammended for the Autumn season. We look forward to welcoming you back on another occassion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    30
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
24
43
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
warwickshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Went for Sunday lunch with the family, will deffo be going back, food was amazing, best sunday lunch i have had, staff were very friendly. pub is lovely its only a small place so if going for a meal would say to book a table. plenty of parking, lovely place out the back for kids to play.
One of the nicest places for food i have been in years.
We will be making regular visits.
Rooms looked nice and clean.
Highly recommended.
My new favorite place to eat.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisab1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2012

My girlfriend booked us in here as part of my surprise birthday treat which included a visit to the brewery. The place was very in character with the lovely village of Hook Norton and the staff were all very welcoming and pleasant. Its an authentic pub but with modern and comfortable accommodation built out the back with a nice paved garden between the two.

We arrived on the Friday and were greeted by Stuart the manager who settled us in very well and made us feel right at home. Probably the highlight of the stay was the food, Fridays is 'fish and fizz' night and we were treated to the best beer battered haddock and chips we've ever tasted! A big shout out to 'Windy' the head chef who not only rustled that up but all of the amazing food we had all weekend. We would recommend 'The Gate Hangs High' to anyone!

Paul and Laura

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulcavLuton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart T, Manager at The Gate Hangs High, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for your stay here. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to The Gate on another occassion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

My family and I called in on spec for lunch. The beer is well kept. The service is attentive and very friendly. The food was excellent and was served in good time. The pork belly was fantastic. I would thoroughly recommend a visit to the Gate Hangs High.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank JohnFox53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights and as other reviews have mentioned Sandy and Paul are very welcoming and chatty and certainly know how to give very good customer service.
the 4 rooms are situated outside and very spacious.
the only negative i can say about the room we stayed in was that it lacked the touch of a duster and polish, there were very long dangly cobwebs floating around, and the bathroom did not have a safety mat so was a little dangerous to get out of the bath/shower as very slippy.
sadly whilst we were there the pub saw very little customers, why I don't know as the food was delicious and staff friendly.
it.s a bout 30 mins walk in to hook norton village from the gate hangs high but would only recommend in daylight hours as no street lighting and very busy road.
plenty of car parking and nice seating area at the back of the pub.
as mentioned Sandy and paul are only there on a temp basis and although they were the perfect hosts it would be nice to see someone take the pub on that could show it's full potential.

Room Tip: take a hairdryer as the rooms don't have them
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMELIA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hook Norton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Decided to head to the Gate for steak night on Wednesday. We were not disappointed, Sandy made us very welcome and the steak cooked by Paul was better than one I had paid more than 3 times as much for in France a few days earlier. At £26 for 2 steaks and a nice bottle of house red value for money could not be bettered. A great way to spend a Wednesday night.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zr1Alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2012

My wife and I were treated generously and courteously and fed right royally !
We noticed that other patrons were welcomed just as warmly and made to feel special.
Sandy graciously offered to drive us to the local church to attend a family wedding.

Room Tip: Only a few rooms;make sure one is booked in good time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hook Norton
4.3 mi away
The Falkland Arms
The Falkland Arms
#1 of 1 in Great Tew
389 reviews
5.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
7.2 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
1.1 mi away
Pear Tree Inn
Pear Tree Inn
#3 of 3 in Hook Norton
14 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Sun Inn
The Sun Inn
#1 of 3 in Hook Norton
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gate Hangs High? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gate Hangs High

Property: The Gate Hangs High
Address: Hook Norton OX15 5DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Hook Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hook Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gate Hangs High 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Cancelon, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Gate Hangs High reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gate Hangs High Hotel Hook Norton
The Gate Hangs High Hook Norton, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing