We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FAB U LOUS!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Gate Hangs High
Ranked #2 of 3 Hook Norton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“FAB U LOUS!”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Popped to the Gate Hangs High for lunch, lovely atmosphere, friendly lady behind the bar. Wasn't drinking due to lunch time but had a good range of Hook Norton Ales on the bar, as well as wine. I decided to have a proper meal and blumped for the Swordfish, what a great choice cooked to perfection, my colleague had the Rabbit which looked equally as good. Very impressed indeed with the food and the service.

Thank you. Will be back.

Room Tip: Didn't stay so cannot comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taz1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    30
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
23
42
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hook Norton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

We love the roast dinner at the Gate Hangs High !
A warm welcome from the wonderful staff, we visit regularly with 2 youngsters and are always made to feel comfortable and welcome.
A roaring fire, reasonably priced roast dinner where the trimmings make a delectable treat. We Havnt experienced better in the neighbourhood ! And we are seasoned roast dinner experts. Promise you won't be disappointed :-)

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Samantha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We've just stayed the night in this lovely pub with restaurant and b and b. A lovely comfy bed in the peace and quiet of the countryside. Although we had arranged to have a meal elsewhere with friends the menu looked great, and if the breakfast was anything to go by ,would have been superb! The new owners have only been there for a year and are trying to get the place on the map. I would suggest you go now while they might have a few vacancies because when the word spreads they will be fully booked!

Room Tip: I think they are all similar size as they are around a pretty courtyard at the back of the restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
151 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Out of the main town (village?) of Hook Norton this pub with rooms offers a full package including some excellent local real ales from the brewery up the road, good wine choice and real food.
We ate in the restaurant at night and as well as a very nice meal at a reasonable price we also saw the two girls running the bar and waitressing deal with a medical emergency with one of the other diners without disturbing the other diners. Between them and the ambulance crew they dealt with the poor guy and kept the rest of the place running whilst preserving his dignity.

One slight downside was the bathroom being a disabled access wet room which I personally dislike

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portsmouth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed there with friends for two nights. The staff were friendly, welcoming and exceptionally helpful.

The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the food, both evening meals and breakfasts, was excellent.

The location was perfect for our visit tot he Cotswolds.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank efenjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We came across this pub on-line whilst looking for somewhere to stay near the Rollright Stones and really pleased we chose here. The price is on par with other places we looked at.

The room was pleasant, clean and a good size with an on-suite. It was based in the adjoining courtyard to the pub. We had evening meal there which was some of the best food we had had out for a long time. Top restaurant quality but home cooked portion sizes :-). (e.g. my wife had the Veal & Ham pie which was home made, succulent, crispy pastry and not full of soggy gravy).

The staff done everything they could to make us feel incredibly welcome and so did the locals. We chose to east in the bar area rather than the restaurant as we were having such a good chat with the locals and didn't want to move.

Breakfast was the same high standard as evening meal and included in the room rate, again top notch and could not fault it.

We will definitely be staying there again and not look for anywhere else nearby.

In summary The pub, the atmosphere, the staff, the room, the food & the locals all get a 5 star rating.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_and_Julie_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013 via mobile

Had to stay here for two nights as there was "no room at the inn" at my parents house due to a lot if visitors from out of town. It was literally just needed as a place to sleep/shower and have breakfast. Unfortunately we really only got two out of three, and it was way over priced for that!!
The room was ok, but in need of some repair and a good clean! Evidence of a recent water leak in the ceiling which surprised us: we appeared to be the only guests, so we would have hoped to have had the best room out of the four available!!
The bathroom was pretty grotty, especially the shower, which only had a shower curtain, leading to it be impossible to keep the floor dry, resulting in a lot if mould. Between us we had three showers during our stay, two of which went ice cold halfway through. I had to go to breakfast with conditioner on my hair and rinse it out afterwards when the water was hot again.
We were asked to pay for our two night up front, and to book a specific time for breakfast, which we did. Only to then have to wait for a while for the restaurant to actually open.
However, breakfast when we got it, was excellent. Although they did run out of baked beans the second day.

All in all it served its purpose, even if we had to pay over the odds for it. If we ever need to do the same thing again, we will probably try one of the other options in the village!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moneypenny807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hook Norton
9.5 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,114 reviews
5.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
4.3 mi away
The Falkland Arms
The Falkland Arms
#1 of 1 in Great Tew
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Sun Inn
The Sun Inn
#1 of 3 in Hook Norton
92 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pear Tree Inn
Pear Tree Inn
#3 of 3 in Hook Norton
12 reviews
3.3 mi away
Horse and Groom Inn
Horse and Groom Inn
#1 of 1 in Milcombe
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gate Hangs High? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gate Hangs High

Property: The Gate Hangs High
Address: Hook Norton OX15 5DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Hook Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hook Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gate Hangs High 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Gate Hangs High reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gate Hangs High Hotel Hook Norton
The Gate Hangs High Hook Norton, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing