We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful grounds, lame experience.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Sampran Riverside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sampran Riverside
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sam Phran
Certificate of Excellence
Nuodeng
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds, lame experience.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

To be clear, this is only a review of the 10AM-12PM "Morning Workshop" daily arts and crafts experience, NOT a review of the hotel, the show, or the place in general.

First of all, when we called on the phone, we were told that it cost 550 baht to enter the Thai Village section of Sampran Riverside. We were not told that it was an extra 50 each just to enter the Sampran Riverside complex itself, nor that the Morning Workshop and afternoon Thai Village Show were 550 baht EACH.

The arts and crafts experiences themselves were for the most part extremely boring, largely due to the general disinterest of the staff. At the Muay Thai booth, the teenager in charge walked up to a punching bag, said "Muay Thai" blandly, kicked the bag, and then helped us put on boxing gloves so we could take pictures. At the swordplay booth, again, two very unimpressive young men did a three move, ten second routine, then gave us the swords to entertain ourselves with. They stared at us blankly when we asked if we could see them use the other weapons hanging about. The herbal compress man explained to us what was in the compresses, but didn't let us make one; he also extolled how great they are when steamed and pretended to rub one all over himself. However, he didn't steam one or let us try anything. At the umbrella station, we were allowed to paint six strokes on a piece of paper taped to an umbrella. The silk station was pure spectator sport; at the bamboo art station, the workers pretty much assembled everything for you; the cooking station consisted of mashing a single banana; "farming" meant smashing the hulls off some rice with a pestle; "vegetable carving," which only women are allowed to participate in, meant trying your best to keep up with a teacher, herself busy gossiping with the other staff just sitting there.

Only a few of the activities were not total failures: the bamboo dance section wasn't too bad, nor was the Thai dance, and at the pottery section you actually get to make your own clay cup. Still, the whole time, hardly any of the staff (even our assigned guide!) spoke English, very few showed us anything interesting or worthwhile.

I should mention that my two friends and I were the only guests there. If service is this bad when there are no crowds, I can't imagine how terrible it must be in high season.

In summary, there is almost no truth at all to the following statement from their website:

"There are trained staff at each station to demonstrate the activity and provide information so you are able to obtain a full hands on experience"

The only reason that I gave Sampran Riverside two stars rather than one is that it might be fun to do with children. Actually, a class of Thai kindergartners arrived shortly after we did. At least they had a blast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mike3rr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SampranRiverside, Manager - Business Development at Sampran Riverside, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
We are really sorry to hear that our art and craft workshops did not provide you with a full experience that was expected and would like to thank you for sharing your honest and detailed feedback with us. We have taken your comments to our management so we can outline any necessary improvements that need to be taken regarding our staff at the Thai Village.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    71
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
28
39
10
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

The pool was relaxing. The breakfast buffet sufficient. The setting is attractive. The rooms are high enough standard. The property is a bit dated, and the place is in the suburbs and set far back on its property so that there is little access to Bangkok or nightlife, and the bar on premises was deserted during my visit. The nearby cultural and elephant shows were a bit touristy, but still worth the diversion.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasDouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a couple of nights to take a break from the hustle and bustle of Bangkok and as it is not far from the Wat Sisrathong (Rahu temple) which I wanted to visit.
The hotel is about an hours drive from Bangkok and is set in beautiful grounds. When I went you could tell the extensive gardens could do with a bit of work but they were still beautiful and it felt very peaceful. The food in the external restaurant was absolutely delicious and reasonably priced.
The staff were very attentive, rooms clean, lovely swimming pool and veranda on the river. Couldn't ask for much more! But then there was as there were some really interesting workshops and demonstrations on Thai culture and we had a go at pottery, flower decoration, thai sports and much more!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bou123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
226 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

value for money. a very well-maintained hotel and something like a public park with traditional Thai activities.

good Thai food with real Thai taste despite so many tourists.

here, you can find a lot of locally-made handicrafts and skin products, too.

the room are a bit old, though.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janejit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

we stayed at this hotel for three nights before heading into bangkok. well what can i say BEAUTIFUL ,,the room was clean, gardens were tranquil,we were taken on some form of craft to the opposite bank where we saw water buffalo as well as being shown the plantation.the restaurant was o.k. in the day time there was plenty to see and do like the floor show with thai dancing and boxing the elephants were great you even get to ride one if you wish.night time was so peaceful. To sum the whole hotel up i loved the whole experiance.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weloveholidays18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

We stayed here to participate in a professional workshop held in the associated meeting facilities, otherwise I doubt that we would have selected this hotel. Nevertheless it is good place to relax, enjoy the lovely grounds, have an excellent massage, take advantage of the co-located cultural displays, and perhaps explore the surrounding area.
The hotel is appropriately rated at 3 ½ stars; it is not a luxury resort, but it is very comfortable, with clean spacious rooms (ours with a view over the river), and friendly and helpful staff. The restaurant in the hotel serves good food for breakfast and dinner (and no doubt lunch as well), and the meals we had at the nearby restaurants that are part of the Riverside complex were also very good.
If you are looking to relax for a few days close to Bangkok, this would be a good choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sangio7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

We came here because there was a Groupon promotion. That is the only positive thing I can think of about the hotel. At least we were not ripped off paying standard price.
Where to start? Old rooms, so so cleanliness (the smell of the sofa in the reception is a giveaway...), bad food at breakfast, the inclusive dinner leaving you wondering if they realized we were 6 people and not 2...
Bad air con system in the rooms and the restaurant with cold air blowing on you (welcome bronchitis!).
The Thai village is worth a visit (for 200THB not 500!!!). But just don't stay at the place!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SampranRiverside, Manager at Sampran Riverside, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Sampran Riverside would like to offer our sincere apologies to you and your family. We thank you for your comments and they are being investigated so the necessary course of action can be taken.
- The sofas in the reception areas will be inspected this week and scheduled for a thorough cleaning if there is any smell coming from them.
- The daily buffet breakfast will undergo a quality check by the management and the menu adjusted accordingly.
- We believe the dinner issue was raised during your stay, which was rectified and compensation offered accordingly for this inconvenience.
- Regarding the rooms, we would like to let you know that they were just renovated a few years ago and are sorry to hear that they didn't meet your expectations.
- Our air con systems are built-in and we thank you for bringing this up so we can offer our guests an alternative seating area in our restaurants to avoid the discomfort.
- The activities at the Thai Village Show cost Thai Baht 550 per person for day trippers but guests staying at the hotel 1 night or more receive the special in-house rate of Thai Baht 200 per person. For your family, the show was offered on a complimentary basis.
Once again, we are really sorry to hear that your holiday didn't go smoothly and hope you will be willing to give us another chance to service you in the future where we can put in our best efforts to meet your expectations.
Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sam Phran
14.3 mi away
The Proud Exclusive Hotel
The Proud Exclusive Hotel
#2 of 9 in Nakhon Pathom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
8.6 mi away
@Home Phetkasem
@Home Phetkasem
#552 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
13.2 mi away
Mida Dhavaravati Grande Hotel
Mida Dhavaravati Grande Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nakhon Pathom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Xen Hotel Nakhon Pathom
Xen Hotel Nakhon Pathom
#5 of 9 in Nakhon Pathom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Silverwoods Hotel
Silverwoods Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nakhon Pathom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
17.0 mi away
AVANI Riverside Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sampran Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sampran Riverside

Property: Sampran Riverside
Address: Km. 32 Pet Kasem Highway, Sam Phran 73110 , Thailand (Formerly Rose Garden Riverside)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Nakhon Pathom Province > Sam Phran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sam Phran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sampran Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautifully landscaped 70-acre botanical park by the Ta Chine River is located just outside Bangkok and has provided entertainment, relaxation, accommodation and a place to meet since 1962. Culture, tradition and a native way of life have been preserved through daily practices and performances. See our way of life for yourself on your next visit to Sampran Riverside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Sampran Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Garden Riverside Hotel Sam Phran
Sampran Riverside Thailand/Nakhon Pathom Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing