We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best meal I have ever had” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auberge de la Vallee Verte

Auberge de la Vallee Verte
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge de la Vallee Verte
Ranked #1 of 1 Vernouillet B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best meal I have ever had”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Stay at la Vallee verte on a business trip to our site in Vernouillet.. Rooms were fine , very clean. But the real star is the restaurant here... We had no menu .. The owner , a bit of a character :-) told us the menu choices of which there were three for each course.. I had langoustines with scallops and prawns in little batter blankets .... Bliss.. I continued the seafood theme with monkfish with black truffle sauce ... Amazing and the portion size was really generous .. Finished with apple sorbet with calvados and sauté apples .. Beautiful but wished I'd gone for the chocolate noir cake I had a taste and it was wonderful... Breakfast next morning was v French .. Pain avec confiture and great coffee but to be honest I was still full from previous nights dinner .. A fantastic experience I would wholeheartedly recommend this place ...enjoy!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mwaie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    14
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
24
Solo
0
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Stayed here as I was visiting nearby Dreux on business, and it came recommended. This is a very small suburb of Dreux and apart from this establishment there is little else here.

The reception is warm and welcoming, and I was grateful for the excellent English spoken there. Rooms are nicely furnished and decorated, and very clean.

The restaurant is lovely. Very old, attractive and superb food.

The prices on the menu were rather alarming, but then I foiund the 30 Euro set 3 course menu which was exceptional value for money. On a Tuesday night I was told the restaurant would be busy which I took with a pinch of salt, but it was true. The place was full of customers, not all residents, and clearly this is the place to eat, see and be seen in the area. I can see why.

Breakfast is very basic, and to be honest not great value. The only negative point of the stay, and actually I have seen this a lot in some of the best establishments in France, so it is perhaps normal? It consisted of Bread in a few forms and jams / honey, and I was asked if I wanted a yoghurt. Along with coffee and juice, that was it. As we checked out I saw some ham left on another guest's plate. Not something we were offered.

Very good service and a really nice place to stay. Good parking opposite as well.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GavinCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

We use this excellent Auberge every year on our return trip through France, We have always been more than satisfied with the accomodation. The family based staff are friendly and efficient while the restaurant serves sublime food with an excellent wine list, we have never been dissapointed. One not eof warning, the Hotel and in particular the dining room can get very hot during the evening although this only becomes a problem when the temperature out side has been exceptionally warm.

Other than this minor quibble we would rate this establishment with four and a half stars.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

We have stayed at the hotel on numerous occasions for the past few years. Each time was a great start to our holiday in the south of France or a wonderful last night on our way back home to England. Nathalie and Patrice always give us a wonderful welcome , and the whole stay - from very comfortable rooms to a gastronomic delight in the restaurant is something we look forward to .We stayed there on our wedding anniversary, and they had very thoughtfully put a bottle of champagne in our room already chilled for us to celebrate.- a lovely touch. We have reccommended the hotel to friends , and they were equally impressed with their stay. We look forward to our next visit , hopefully in the Autumn.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DAVID1140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2010

We tend to wander off the autoroute on our way to our ultimate destination - with a copy of the Logis guide to help us find good accommodation during the trip, hence we wound up in Vernouillet.
Auberge de la Vallee Verte ranks up there with the best family run hotels.
Our room was comfortable with a large en-suite and overlooked the annexe and hotel car park across the road. To our delight tea and coffee was available in the room.
A really great place. Do not pass it by.
Canapes with pre-dinner drinks in the intimate bar led to a belt -busting foray through many well cooked and carefully presented courses from the superb fresh food on offer. (unusually for us we had several bottles of wine with the meal!! such was the delightfully languid ambience)
Unsurprisingly the bill was not tiny, but it was our first night away for many moons and we got carried away!.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnboycab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2010

This is the second visit that we have made to Auberge de la Vallee Verte - the first time was September 2009, and we found this hotel quite by chance. On that first visit our room was in the main hotel, and actually was rather disappointing. One annoying item was a missing plug for the handbasin in the bathroom, and the deco etc was in need of updating. A minor railway line also ran just outside the bedroom window. However, what made us return this June was the absolutely excellent Restaurant, with efficient waiting staff, and superb food. The Wifi broadband was too weak for me to achieve a satisfactory connection in the bedroom.
Our stay this June was in one of the adjacent "suites", just across the road from the hotel, with the added benefit of a secure garage for our car. This suite had a large bed in the good-sized room, and there was a small kitchenette, with kettle, 2-ring hob, fridge and sink. Unfortunately (for me) there was only a shower - not a bath - in the "bathroom" and after a long days travelling I had really been looking forward to having a relaxing bath. There was a raised terrace outside the Suite, overlooking a very pleasant garden frequented by many birds. The ideal place to sit out with a drink before Dinner.
We had a very pleasant Dinner in the charming Restaurant, although the meal was not quite up to the superb standard of the previous visit, and our first choice of wine was unavailable. But all in all, this is a very pleasant hotel, with friendly and helpful staff - it is one of the Logis de France hotels, which we find, on the whole, very good.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StTropezLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernouillet
1.9 mi away
Inter-Hotel des Lys
Inter-Hotel des Lys
#1 of 10 in Dreux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel le Beffroi
Hotel le Beffroi
#2 of 10 in Dreux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
1.7 mi away
Campanile Dreux
Campanile Dreux
#5 of 10 in Dreux
3.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
B&B Hotel Dreux Centre
19.7 mi away
Le Clos - Relais et Chateaux
Le Clos - Relais et Chateaux
#1 of 4 in Verneuil-sur-Avre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
16.5 mi away
Le Castel Maintenon Hotel
Le Castel Maintenon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Maintenon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de la Vallee Verte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de la Vallee Verte

Property: Auberge de la Vallee Verte
Address: 6 rue Lucien Dupuis, 28500 Vernouillet, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Eure-et-Loir > Vernouillet
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Vernouillet
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge de la Vallee Verte 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Auberge de la Vallee Verte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing