We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as I expected”

Devonport Chocolates
Ranked #4 of 17 things to do in Devonport
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Some flavors are good, but some are just average. I have had better handmade chocolate from Makana in Kerikeri or Smith+Caughey Queen street (Level 2). The shop is also quite small. Nice to buy a few to indulge yourself while you are in Devonport but I still prefer the chocolate from Makana.

Thank Noisey13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline E, Manager at Devonport Chocolates, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Thank you for your review. We are a family business and have had the joy of creating delicious chocolates for over 21 years now. We use the finest coverture chocolate and have close to 50 individual chocolates, truffles and our unique petite chocolate cup. Next time you are in try our gooey salted caramel, we have customers coming in everyday to get this delicious morsel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
There are newer reviews for Devonport Chocolates
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 66 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2013

We visited here last week. Good range of chocolates. A little pricey tho. Did have to indulge and purchased a few, and they did taste great. Well worth the visit and the taste!

Thank Strickes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline E, Manager at Devonport Chocolates, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Thanks for your review, we're glad you liked them. We use really good quality chocolate and traditional handmade chocolate making techniques, it takes a lot longer to make the chocolates but the delicious taste makes it worth it! We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

After our tour of Devonport we walked from the wharf to the chocolate shop. We were able to watch the ladies preparing chocolate through the window at the rear of the shop and purchase some exquisite chocolates. E prices are not cheap, but the quality of the chocolates are well worth the price. We have made a bit of a habit visiting these boutique chocolate shops, and this one did not disappoint.

Thank Tryatleastonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline E, Manager at Devonport Chocolates, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Thank you for your review, we are thrilled that we were worth it and you liked the chocolates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

We travelled with 2 children by ferry to Devonport expecting the chocolate "factory" to be a highlight. Unfortunately the lady in the shop is far from engaging and the factory is a simple window through to the operations. We were maybe expecting a little conversation, perhaps about the process, etc. wouldn't be difficult and I think in small villages such as these it's almost essential. Delicious chocolate, but no different to any other chocolate specialist store. Truly missing out on an opportunity here.

Thank travel_novice72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Yes they have lovely chocolates, but soooo expensive. I took my mother there as a treat but she was astonished at the price. Definitely a place for a single specimin; to buy a box would require a second mortgage.

Thank SCJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Devonport Chocolates also viewed

 
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Devonport Chocolates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing