We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best to relax after a long flight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Peace and Plenty Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Devonport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We were at the inn for four nights. And a lovely time the room were great and nicely decorated very cozy and home. It's nothing like a hotel or lodge it's a home and you feel like it. Judy is making the breakfast on request made on the spot and organic with fresh fruits and vegs. She is a nice person and don't hesitate to ask her for advice she know auckland very good and even about New Zealand she has been everywhere the Inn is placed at amazing spot 2min walk from the ferry to downtown and restaurants are right across the street all are lovely and good eats . Highly recommended. One thing though in Victoria room the shower head is weirdly directed to a weird direction and short but not a deal breaker

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank BonynLoly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
There are newer reviews for Peace and Plenty Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 477 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed her for my birthday and loved it. Judy was such an interesting and spunky woman and made our stay very enjoyable. The accommodation was charming and peaceful. The breakfast was tasty and organic. We took the ferry (comes every 30mins til1am) to the city (10mins) and went out to a lively restaurant, Mexico. We then returned to our peaceful hideaway on the return ferry. I would stay here if wanting to stay in Auckland city as so easy with the ferry and such a slice of serenity. will be coming back one day :)

Room Tip: all rooms are good
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucyathomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

My wife and I took four planes, over 33 hours, to fly from Fort Lauderdale, FL to Auckland, New Zealand on May 1, 2013. When we landed we drove right to The Peace and Plenty Inn. What a wonderful home to stay during our first two days of a two week trip to the north island of New Zealand. A beautiful home in a great location. The breakfasts were exceptional. Judy was a wonderful host who helped us acclimate to her country. We highly recommend The Peace and Plenty Inn as a "home away from home".

Sheldon and Sara Goldberg
Miami, Florida USA

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheldon g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I noticed Auckland hotels are getting terrifically expensive, so a couple of years ago decided to give Judy's B&B a try and how glad I am that I did! It is without doubt the most pleasant experience available for a business traveller in AKL, bar none. It's stylish and spotlessly clean at all times. The upstairs rooms with a rear-facing balcony are a treat. I can't imagine a single reason why you'd want to stay in one of the over-priced hotels over in the CBD. Hopping on the ferry to work each morning is a treat that will never fade. Also, I find Devonport wonderful for a relaxing night out and a quick stroll down to North Point does wonders for jetlag.

Just a couple of points to note from a bus. traveller's perspective. The wi-fi is very fast and reliable. No complaints. Some of the rooms lack a desk, but Judy is always very accommodating in sorting something out.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrSoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We were a family of 6 adults and a baby in devonport for a wedding and wanted somewhere a bit special and totally different from our home on the Gold Coast in Australia. We certainly found it at the stunning Edwardian mansion that is the peace and plenty. The antique filled rooms were all amazing and it was a pleasure to have our lovely individually cooked breakfasts on the fine china. It was warm and welcoming, spotlessly clean and very comfortable beds. The baby was made welcome as well and it made for a truly memorable family holiday. I would stay there again in a heartbeat and can unreservedly recommend this for anyone who wants an upmarket and not run of the mill place to stay. Our hostess was so outstanding she even offered to drive us to the wedding we were attending!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sallyinsurfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Stayed in the waitamata room. Beautiful sun soaked room. Could stay peacefully in that pretty room rain or shine. Fantastic breakfast and Devonshire tea on Sunday. Thankyou Judy for a lovely stay. Beautifully appointed decorations and hospitality by host. Would recommend.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank angei72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We lead busy lives and had just that week had some family sadness, so a night away seemed like a good idea. Darling wanted to stay close-ish to home so as not to lose the benefit of being away in a long car trip, so I set about organising our escape-included in which was our little pooch Archie.
A good chum had stayed at Peace and Plenty a couple of years ago and spoke glowingly of it, so I called up and spoke to Judy, the very capable and welcoming host, who kindly organised matters so we had the Garden Room which meant Archie could snuffle about in a safe enclosed garden.
Darling collected me from work and we drove straight over, and very soon were comfortably settled in our own beautifully appointed home away from home. Much is written about the wonderful decor and surroundings that Judy has put together at Peace and Plenty, all of which is true; i think her greatest talent is creating a welcoming, relaxing and restorative ambience that saw the sadness and stress melt away.
We dined out on fish and chips by the sea, watching the boats come and go and delighting in the fact that the stream of car lights on the far side of the water felt like a world away to us.
After a good night's sleep, it was upstairs for a delicious breakfast and then a reluctant goodbye to the Peace and Plenty. We had a mooch around the village, down to the wharf and finally deciding when the time was right to head home.
Both darling and I agreed that we felt like we'd had a proper break, and arrived back in our real lives rested and refreshed, all just 30 minutes from home. Blissful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missamanda66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Devonport
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#1 of 2 in Devonport
229 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,860 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,214 reviews
2.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,523 reviews
1.7 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peace and Plenty Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace and Plenty Inn

Address: 6 Flagstaff Terrace, Devonport, Auckland 0624, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > North Shore > Devonport
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Devonport
Price Range: £131 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Peace and Plenty Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peace and Plenty Inn is a magnificently restored Victorian villa (circa 1880), situated in an unbeatable waterfront location in the heart of the historic maritime village of Devonport. We invite you to stay at our gracious home offering comfortable and friendly luxury accommodation. We host visitors who come to relax from all over the world, along with New Zealanders enjoying a weekend away. High Teas are available most weekends and we also host small boutique weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Peace and Plenty Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace And Plenty Hotel Devonport
Peace And Plenty Inn Devonport, Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing