We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace & Plenty Inn is one of New Zealands "Must visit" attractions.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Peace and Plenty Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Devonport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 22 September 2006

During a 6 month holiday in NZ we stayed at Peace and Plenty on 5 separate visits and have tried every room! It was our top place to stay out of 53 hotels and B&Bs visited in NZ. Reasons are as follows.
- Location is superb. Devonport is a short ferry ride from the city, but allows a peaceful retreat once you have had enough.
- Welcome is always friendly, but never intrusive or demanding. Judy is happy to chat, give advice, help with arrangements, or just leave you to relax.
- Breakfast is superb. Always fresh food, healthy, plentiful and delicious.
- Decoration is immaculate, the place is always spotless, and everything is very comfortable.
- Bedrooms are very romantic. Victoria room with its balcony overlooking the garden and (extinct!) volcano was our marginal favorite.
- Despite the old fashioned comfort, technology has not been forgotten. Free wireless broadband access is provided - essential for trip planning. (Some other hotels in NZ charge up to $30 per day!)
- When things go wrong, Judy takes direct personal interest in solving the problem whatever it is.
- The Peace and plenty looks expensive compared with alternatives, but the total experience and extras provided made it one of the best value stays for us.

We have no hesitation in recommending the Peace and Plenty as part of the Kiwi experience.

  • Stayed: April 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DorsetScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

424 - 430 of 477 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2006

The owner, Judy, will let you take her dog Stanley for a walk. More like he walks you! But still fun if you can keep up with him.

Best breakfast in all of Auckland, probably. Rooms are nice but minor quibbles -- TV remote needed batteries, not enough electric outlets in the room. But these are very, very minor issues. You're not going to stay here to watch the telly or charge your laptop!

Overall it's a wonderful B&B that has both the charm (quirks?) of an 1880s era Victorian home with modern updates to keep a 21st century guest comfy.

Devonport is a bit quiet at night. There are some restaurants, but it's easy to hop on the ferry to central Auckland if you need a big night out.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2006

WE stayed at this lovely B & B in September 2006 and enjoyed the peaceful and elegant ambience. The house is beautifully decorated with great attention to detail, the rooms we saw all looked lovely. The host Judy was very friendly ,helpful and attentive. She offered to drive us to a nearby engagement when she saw it was raining which was very thoughtful. the location is perfect right opposite the ferry and next to the village. We also enjoyed the lovely breakfasts, an excellent B & B

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JECR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2006

I booked a room on Sat 9th September for my Grandparents to stay as a Fathers Day Gift.

They had the most lovely time and were treated like absolute royalty.
The room they stayed in was the Windsor which was perfect in everyway and had a lovely bathroom too.

The breakfast was plentiful and scrumptious and the house was lovely.

But the thing that impressed them the most was how friendly the hosts were.

As you can imagine I was a bit worried having booked this for them not seeing the place before and not being in the country myself but I can wholeheartedly recommend the Peace and Plenty Inn to anyone who wants a great place to stay in Auckland.

Thank you so much Judy!

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2006

I recently stayed at the Peace and Plenty Inn. It was just fab. The breakfasts were gorgeous, both the cooked and continental. I can highly recommend the waffles. The room was one of the most comfortable I have stayed in during my months travels around the North Island. As a female travelling alone I found it an excellent location as a base while exploring Auckland and Devonport. In addition to the lovely helpful host Judith there is the cutest most cuddly lab, Stanley. If you are missing your dog back home he is more than happy to play and be adored. Should I ever be in this part of the world again I would definitely make the Peace and Plenty Inn my first choice for accommodation.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ScottishChick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2006

This is such a perfect place that I'm sure we will be going back! We loved everything about our recent stay, from the gorgeous breakfasts (and the good company), to the lovely comfortable beds and the little touches like the local chocolates and the kiwi fruit shortbread. The rooms are so thoughtfully decorated that it was an absolute pleasure to be there. Being so close to the ferry for Auckland was a real bonus, although Devonport itself was an unexpected treat. We were spoilt for choice when it came to lovely cafes and restaurants. The Peace and Plenty is a real find: can't reccommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank krisflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2006

In June, while exploring the Auckland, New Zealand, area, I stayed for 10 days at the Peace and Plenty Inn, a beautiful Victorian bed and breakfast in the village of Devonport, on Auckland's northern shore. It reminded me of Sausalito (in the San Francisco Bay Area) but without the traffic.

The host, Judith Machin, provided wonderful breakfasts each morning; my favorite was Judith's Eggs Devonport -- scrambled eggs with smoked salmon, toast and jam. Breakfasts also included a cold self-serve buffet with a large selection of fruit, home-made muffins and pastries, and delicious fresh muesli (Judith makes the muesli in the evenings and it smells fantastic cooking). Chocolates were left on the bed in the evening, the room contained a selection of teas and port for the evenings, and organic, New Zealand-made toiletries were provided in the bath.

As I explored Auckland, Judith was a font of information, providing excellent recommendations for restaurants and places to visit. The other guests were mostly New Zealanders on holiday -- they were all very friendly and helpful. If you get homesick for your pet, you can borrow the inn's dog, Stanley, for a walk on the beach.

Devonport's shops and restaurants were a half-block away, and the ferry connecting Devonport to downtown Auckland was an easy five-minute walk from the Peace and Plenty. The ferry runs every 30 minutes from early morning to late evening and takes about 10minutes. The inn is located so conveniently to public transportation that I spent 10 days in Auckland without having to rent a car and drive on the wrong side of the road.

Stayed: June 2005
3  Thank SanFranciscan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Devonport
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#1 of 2 in Devonport
234 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,876 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,227 reviews
2.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,544 reviews
2.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peace and Plenty Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace and Plenty Inn

Address: 6 Flagstaff Terrace, Devonport, Auckland 0624, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > North Shore > Devonport
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Devonport
Price Range: £153 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Peace and Plenty Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peace and Plenty Inn is a magnificently restored Victorian villa (circa 1880), situated in an unbeatable waterfront location in the heart of the historic maritime village of Devonport. We invite you to stay at our gracious home offering comfortable and friendly luxury accommodation. We host visitors who come to relax from all over the world, along with New Zealanders enjoying a weekend away. High Teas are available most weekends and we also host small boutique weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peace and Plenty Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace And Plenty Hotel Devonport
Peace And Plenty Inn Devonport, Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing