We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable and conveniently located”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Devonport, North Shore, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Linda K
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable and conveniently located”
Reviewed 23 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I was very happy with this accommodation.

It's conveniently situated at the quiet, residential end of a road leading down to Devonport’s main shopping centre and ferry terminal. The little cottage is set back from the road with a small, shady courtyard. It’s clean, well-equipped and comfortable and has a modern shower room with a drying rack. Though there’s no washing machine, a launderette is situated 5 minutes’ walk away, as is a supermarket with ATMs etc.

My hosts made me very welcome on my arrival and were helpful and thoughtful throughout my stay. I wouldn’t hesitate to book this cottage again.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenny_orm...
Linlithgow
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A learning and therapeutic experience”
Reviewed 15 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I stayed in David and Gillian's apartment for the last 10 days of my 8 month student gap year in New Zealand. I found the atmosphere relaxing and a really great end to my New Zealand experience. David and Gillian were kind and helpful, offering liberal advice on healthy eating and looking after the whole person. I hadn't been particularly well and I found my stay gave me the chance to recover and feel ready for the long-haul flight home. I was also given the opportunity to visit the market, the folk club and attend several yoga classes. My hosts prepared breakfast, lunch and dinner for me from freshly prepared vegetables from their own garden. All of this was much more than I had expected and I am very grateful for all the extras given to me.
The property was spacious warm and quiet, despite being in the city centre. It was close to all amenities and shops and the harbour.
David and Gillian were cool people and I am really glad to have had the opportunity to stay with them. (Jamie, 18 years old)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendliness of the hosts
Liked least: Nothing that I disliked
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2015
Thank you for reviewing us.
Gillian and I hope all is going well for you.
Best wishes
David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cosystay
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
“A local trip worth having”
Reviewed 9 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We enjoy Devonport for day trips and decided to book this holiday apartment for the school holidays to experience Devonport as a local overnight getaway. It's so easy to settle into the surroundings of this lovely village by waking up to birdsong from the studio garden and freshly baked bread from the nearby bakeries. The studio apartment is hosted by a pleasant unassuming couple who radiate love of life and all things living. They have provided all the comforts of home and a touch more. Thank you Gillian and David.

Cosystay Family: 2 adults, 2 children (teen,primary age)
*comfy beds, large bathroom w/plenty of storage, excellent water pressure in shower, terrific eco-products provided, fully stocked kitchenette with coffee/tea/organic cocoa, organic milk, on site parking, wifi, secure lock up,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allergymo...
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“So comfortable!”
Reviewed 15 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Studio was so comfortable for my family of 3--beds were both comfortably firm, with nice sheets. Everything was clean, and we took advantage of the small fridge and microwave to have some meals there. Supermarket right around the corner made that particularly easy. Location is great for access to restaurants and shops in downtown Devonport, as well as the ferry to central Auckland. Fast internet with easy connection. Gillian was incredibly accommodating, greeting us when we arrived around 9 a.m. to let us in to the apartment.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelPB...
Brisbane
2 reviews
“Convenient, comfortable and clean”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This studio apartment was very convenient, well presented, clean and well equipped. Easy, short walking distance to shopping area in Devonport and to ferry terminal. Bed comfortable and desk for working on, and complimentary wifi. Bathroom in good condition with excellent shower. So all good.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lillindy4...
victoria,Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Restful, convenient, pleasant. Lovely managers”
Reviewed 18 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Only a 10 minute ferry ride from Auckland and short walk. Studio clean, well equipped. Lovely warm, helpful owners. I would have liked to have stayed longer and felt very secure on my own. I hope to return and will recommend to family and friends.Very restful and as I didn't feel all that well it was a lovely recuperative spot. Terrific bathroom and overall the studio very well equipped.Love the village of Devonport. Well priced.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space.-especially for one. Didn't miss the absence of a tv at all.
Liked least: would prefer to have privacy and not feel owners were in the backyard
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2014
Thank you for reviewing us. Much appreciated. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmahowar...
Wangaui
1 review
“Everything you need!”
Reviewed 16 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We had a great stay at Devonport B&B, the apartment came with everything you needed and more! It was located right near all the shops and beach but set back so it was nice and quiet. A 2 minute walk to the ferry terminal to Auckland, Will definitely stay again when we are up near Auckland and recommend it to everyone! Gillian and David were very friendly and helpful. Thanks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2013
Dear Emma and Niall
Thank you for reviewing our property.
It was a pleasure to meet you and to have you stay in our studio flat.
We look forward to having you stay again one day.
Warm regards
David and Gillian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing