We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet and secluded hide away”
other travellers have booked this property
Devonia Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Devonia Cottage
Devonia Cottage Kitchen Devonia Cottage Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Devonia Cottage
Devonia Cottage Kitchen
Devonia Cottage Living Room
Devonia Cottage Bedroom
Devonia Cottage Bathroom
Tilly our 3.5kg Toy Poodle
Sue & David's 1911 Character Villa
Cheltenham Beach is only 400 metres from Devonia Cottage
Devonport village is only a 15 minute stroll from Devonia Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Devonport, North Shore, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Ann255108
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quiet and secluded hide away”
Reviewed 8 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Devonia Cottage for 10 days whilst working on an event in Devonport. The cottage was a haven at the end of busy, tiring days. Very well cared for and appointed. Its proximity to Auckland city makes it ideal for visitors to NZ.
The only reason we didn't rate "excellent" was the lack of any outdoor area or furniture to relax in the summer evening. The open french doors in the photo have a desk in front of them and if you move it and open the doors you find your car! A little trellis and a table with chairs would easily fix the problem.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet and secure location. Comfortable sofa and bed.
Liked least: No outdoor area
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Dec 2016
Thanks for choosing to stay at Devonia Cottage - we appreciate your suggestion on creating an outdoor space.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita383
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent Location”
Reviewed 14 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this cottage. It is in a beautiful area, very close to the beach and within 15 minutes walk of the town. The cottage was spotlessly clean, it had everything we needed for our stay and the owners couldn't do enough for us. Next time we are in New Zealand we will definitely stay here again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2016
Thanks for your great review - we look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to NZ. Safe travels.

Regards,

David & Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
012gether...
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great stay at a great place”
Reviewed 10 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

The cottage has everything what you need. The owners are very nice, we also could use their washing maschine. We stayed for one week and loved the close distance to the beach and the small shops just around the corner for croissants and ice cream.
Devonport has plenty of nice old houses, shops and cafes. Auckland is 10 min by ferry/car . There are two fantastic lookouts, North Head and Mt. Victoria in walking distance. Nice photospots for sunsets.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2015
Thanks for your positive review - we look forward to hosting you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KasTrav
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful private cottage”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Recently stayed here for three nights at the beginning of our NZ road trip. The cottage is located in Devonport which is a short ferry ride into the centre of Auckland or you can drive across the harbour bridge into the city. Devonport is a lovely city with heap of cafes and quaint shops.

The cottage itself was well-appointed and the pictures on the site do not do it justice. We stayed in low season and the price was a steal! The bathroom and kitchen are modern. There is a full kitchen and we were able to cook a proper dinner on one night. The owners have basic supplies in the cupboard (oil, salt, pepper, etc).

The cottage is private, has all the Sky TV channels, heaps of books, a dishwasher, Wi-fi and free off-street parking. We were also offered use of the owners washing machine and dryer.

The only thing I didn’t like was the couch, found it quite uncomfortable. Other than that a perfect stay

I would definitely recommend staying at Devonia cottage for a beach side holiday or as an alternative to Auckland. In all honestly you would probably visit Devonport as part of an Auckland holiday, so why not stay here as a base and travel into the city.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Dec 2015
Thanks for your positive review - we have added more filling to the couch cushions for more support
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate H
Ullapool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spotless, well-equiped, hosts have thought of everything!”
Reviewed 25 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here for 10 days whilst on a research trip to New Zealand. The cottage is in the rear garden of a lovely old Devonport House and on a pretty, quiet street. It's literally a 2 minute walk to Cheltenham Beach and a pleasant 10-15 minute walk into the centre of Devonport. The owners have thought of everything one might need and the cottage was absolutely spotless. I had very busy days in the city centre and it was lovely to come 'home' to such a pretty and peaceful environment every evening. Thoroughly recommended. I'm going to come back soon with my husband!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Dec 2015
It was a pleasure to host you and look forward to a return visit
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Reviewed 4 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Dec 2015
We always look forward to Lisa's visits and to hear of her most recent overseas travels. Thanks for your kind words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dianne H
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A home away from home.”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I've been lucky enough to stay at Devonia Cottage twice - once for three days in 2012 and most recently for two weeks (August 2013). Tucked into the corner of a pretty garden, it's a home away from home. It has a spacious lounge/living area, fully equipped kitchen, separate bedroom complete with skylight and great cupboard space, and an immaculate bathroom. It comes with lots of little luxuries; a laptop with free wifi, more channels than I've ever had on a large, flat screen TV, a heated towel rail and overhead bathroom heater… at this time of year we especially appreciated the underfloor heating in the kitchen.

Sue and David are the best kind of hosts. They're considerate of your privacy and space but friendly and helpful if you need anything. Nothing is too much trouble.

And the location is fantastic. You don't need a car (although there is secure, off-street parking if you have one). Everything is in easy walking distance. Beautiful Cheltenam Beach is mere minutes away, as is North Head and the Devonport waterfront. It's an easy 20 minute stroll to Devonport Village in one direction, and Narrowneck Beach and golf course in the other. A ferry leaves for the city from Devonport wharf every half hour and you can catch a ferry to Rangitoto, Waiheke and the outer Gulf islands from there too.

All in all, a great place to base yourself when you're in Auckland. I'm looking forward to staying there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The seclusion.
Liked least: Noisy water pipes - it's the only negative I can think of, and it was no biggie.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Dec 2015
Thank you for your comprehensive review - we look forward to hosting you on your next trip bask from overseas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing