We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect romantic getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Devonport
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
2 reviews
“Perfect romantic getaway”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Excellent place to stay for a romantic getaway. Lovely area of old town character by the Devonport harbour. Hotel itself is beautiful/historical, quiet and peaceful, perfect for a relaxed weekend away. Close to shops and great restaurants/cafes, few art galleries and bookstores, even a ferry ride to Auckland city.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samelijas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    88
    26
    14
    10
See reviews for
36
122
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Fantastic experience directly across the road from Devonport ferry terminal and offers great surroundings to see the Auckland skyline view. It was a Monday night which did mean we needed to take a very brief walk just out the main entrance to a variety of well priced and suitable restaurants. The Esplanade Hotel is uniquely charming and the staff are equally charming and helpful. The breakfast was delicious and quantity was perfect. Thank you to the staff for making our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: Although no full marks for perfect uninterrupted sleep - I never slept better. It had a perfectly s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K1W1NZ2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Thank you to Margaret for helping me arrange my families accommodation and for organising a graduation card. Living abroad its hard to do everything and i left evetything to the last minute but this hotel delivered all my requests I found this staff extremely helpful & considerate. My family most of all loved the service & rooms and the wonderful breakfast. Thanks again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nicole238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The Esplanade Hotel is opposite the ferry terminial from Auckland to Devonport. It has a great history which is displayed all around the walls. The hotel is quite unique and the service and menu were excellent.

Room Tip: This was for lunch only .....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

It is extremely well located near the ferry terminal in Devonport which is a delightful place, with plenty of shops and restaurants and a pleasant refuge from the city, which is still only 10 minutes away. We had a large room at the front with harbour/city views. The hotel is a bit "tired" but does have character. Parking is not "on site" but across the road, in a public car park.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDiggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This is such an elegant historic building which I have always wanted to stay in. Finally I stayed here for 2 nights in a sunroom with a stunning view of the city and harbour.
I had two girlfriends stay the first night in preparation for my wedding day. Murat the concierge was uber-helpful and could not do enough for us.
The interior design was a bit dated, there was no dvd player or complimentary bubbles for our wedding night - but we were very happy with the service from Murat which made up for it.

Room Tip: take earplugs and an eye mask for a good nights sleep - it is in a central on the road location, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kas2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Booked Standard Harbour view room mid January for stay end of Feb for my husbands birthday.; No Harbourview, back of houses. Told no other room available.
Left standing outside front door at 10.45pm no sign of anyone to let us in, no sign on door or bell, security man finally appeared after 15mins of banging on door. Big room, no fans, hot and stuffy with a rattling window all night. Breakfast included in tariff, very good and worth the money. Wouldn't stay there again at $174 per night.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a Harbour view room if booked. Needs some updating, tiny lift no room for cases an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snow47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Devonport
2.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
1.9 mi away
VR Takapuna
VR Takapuna
#1 of 1 in Bayswater
604 reviews
1.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,269 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland
2,267 reviews
3.2 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 67 in Auckland
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esplanade Hotel

Property: The Esplanade Hotel
Address: 1 Victoria Road, Devonport 0624, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Devonport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Devonport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Esplanade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade Hotel offers Auckland boutique hotel accommodation, right on the waterfront in Devonport, Auckland, New Zealand. Nestled in the heart of Devonport village, just across the harbour from the heart of Auckland City, The Esplanade Hotel dominates the Devonport foreshore and enjoys unrivalled harbour and city views. This boutique hotel was built in 1903, has been elegantly restored and has a character and charm all of its own.It is only a ten-minute ferry ride to downtown Auckland, without the hassle of the inner city. After a busy day sight-seeing or on business, The Esplanade Hotel is a haven to escape to at the end of the day…sit back and relax in the bar or restaurants and watch the Auckland city lights and harbour activity. The Esplanade Hotel has seventeen rooms, all with ensuite bathrooms, including the luxurious Blake Suite and the two bedroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Auckland
The Esplanade Hotel Devonport, Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing