We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly recommended to stay or as a Venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Devonport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

In short - I had the best wedding Ive ever had here (OK - the only wedding Ive ever had but we were very happy). I would recommend the Esplanade on several levels
We were organising an international wedding from Overseas and we found the Esplanade staff very easy to deal with and helpful.
We booked out a number of rooms for Guests and they were all comfortable. We booked ourselves the Blake suite and found it beautifully appointed and very comfortable.
Despite the roadworks outside we found the location picturesque and convenient - both with the little town of devenport and to the Ferry to Auckland.
The food was excellent and the staff were very accomodating to provide us the experience we wanted. (We found an Excellent Local Photographer also who did a fantastic Job). We had a small and relatively simple wedding event and we achieved exactly what we wanted and all had a great time.
The Hotel was our base for several days, before the wedding - during and after as guests left to go home. We enjoyed our stayed immensely and would absolutely recommend it to all as a base to stay or as a venue for an event

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
There are newer reviews for The Esplanade Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

152 - 158 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

A great break away, elegant hotel, historic for our young country. Welcoming staff. Fantastic food and wine. I loved looking out the window at everything that was going on, the sea the Auckland docks and Devonport itself.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4SherylH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This is the 100 percent location if you want fast access to Auckland without the hassle, noise etc of a city. We loved staying in Devonport and we did so for 5 days at the beginning and 2 days at the end of our month-long New Zealand trip. This hotel is located just steps from the ferry terminal, with a restaurant on site and near to many other eating places.

But, here's the bad news. This is an older property and could really use some renovation. Some work was apparently done on the property some years ago (we understood this from some locals), but even so, the rooms were tired. And, we had three different rooms during our stay. Two of them were claustrophobic to the max, with plumbing left over from the 1920's construction of the hotel. I am amazed they even rented them out. All the rooms had a stifling odor of insecticide and opening windows which let in the street noise, did not clear the smell.

Other issues: For our initial stay we booked our room online and got a very favorable rate. We decided to reserve for the last two nights of our time in New Zealand and we were offered the same rates and the same room for our return. Guess what? Didn't happen. One night of our return, it was the broom closet for us st NZ $180, about $40 more than we had originally paid. I complained and they did make some adjustment in the rate and gave us a better room for our last night's stay. However, I felt somewhat betrayed by the bait and switch tactic. They should never have made those rate offers or promises to begin with.

Bottom line, if you decide to stay ;here, check your room before accepting it and beware of shady promises.

Room Tip: room with the balcony
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trikergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew v, Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

I appreciate that as our guests they recognised the location of our hotel as being in an ideal spot for getting around Auckland. Great comment thank you.

The rates offered to the guests were the lowest we have ever charged, and they are correct in suggesting that they got a good deal.
Our best rooms are rarely available at heavily discounted prices during our peak season, due too high demand however we offered these guests a more superior room than they had booked at no extra charge.
On their return visit the rates were kept at a very low level at a time when our hotel was full and significantly higher rates could have been charged.
The guests were provided with the room they had requested as soon as it was available. The confusion over the room rate was certainly not intentional, and all steps were taken to rectify the situation for the guests, resulting in their being charged at a significant discounted rate.

The Esplanade Hotel does not and never has acted by offering a room rate and not honouring it if the terms are agreed with the guest. In this case, the guests we're rewarded with a free upgrade, and all matters of concern were handled professionally by our staff, often going well beyond their call of duty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed here for my wife's birthday. I wanted something special, more than a 'regular' hotel room. Looking online The Esplanade Hotel appeared to fit my requirement for something with charm and elegance and suitable for a special overnight. We were allocated a room on the second floor with windows that looked up and down the Waitamata Harbour. It looked great in the evening light.
The staff could't have been more accommodating, helpful and friendly. Unfortunately the only downside was that we had to eat at Mecca rather than in the hotel dining room as it was a Monday and the restaurant in the hotel is not open on this night! Having said that we often go to Mecca and really enjoy the atmosphere but I had been looking forward to the Hotel dining room! But hey, we had breakfast in the dining room the next morning and it was excellent. Really enjoyed the experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BongoBickford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is an elegant old style hotel right in Devonport close to the ferry terminal where you catch the ferry over to Auckland which takes about 15 minutes. We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay over Easter and found the staff to be very helpful.

The kingsize bed was perfect for my bad back and there was a very large bathroom with good quality toiletries and fluffy towels. Our room looked out to the harbour and park which was great for watching the boats and ships go by, very enjoyable indeed.

Free WiFi was great and not slow at all, very happy with that as I was able to Skype my family in Australia.

There are many cafés and restaurants close by and some interesting shops to browse in. Devonport is such a charming place.

We enjoyed breakfast both mornings at the restaurant next door, Mecca (this was included in our room rate).

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view room when you book, we had Room 219 which had great views and was a large roo...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The worst hotel experience ever, stayed here 10 years ago and loved it, so decided to come back and booked the penthouse suite, arrived and found peeling wallpaper, black mould growing on wallpaper, mushrooms growing out of the headboard of the bed, yes you heard we right, mushrooms, hairs in the spa bath, lots of hairs, ants a toilet that never stopped filling up, stains of the carpets, dust and dirty everywhere, a broken door to our room, and when I rang to meantion this, they just didn't seem to care! The owner doesn't seem interested in maintaining the hotel at all, and this hotel does not deserve to be called a boutique hotel, in short don't stay here, when was the last time you ever heard someone meantion they had mushrooms growing out of there bed headboard, romantic night zero!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nradich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew v, Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

It is unfortunate that the reviewer in this case has highlighted issues that no other guests appear to have experienced.
The Esplanade Hotel is located in a heritage building, part of its charm and appeal to many.
We have a team of quality housekeepers, working at the hotel who are committed to their work, and our guests. However, in this isolated case, we may appear to have missed a couple of things, and it is always appreciated if guests raise any matters with us. The matters raised were addressed promptly where they were found to exist.
As far as our hotel staff reacting to this guests concerns, I am confident that the professionalism of our employees was brought to the fore to assist these guests including attempts to asisst them where they could.
The Esplanade Hotel continues to provide a warm friendly service with a high level of professionalism at all times. We operate with a small but dedicated team, with the comfort of our guests a top priority at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Excellent place to stay for a romantic getaway. Lovely area of old town character by the Devonport harbour. Hotel itself is beautiful/historical, quiet and peaceful, perfect for a relaxed weekend away. Close to shops and great restaurants/cafes, few art galleries and bookstores, even a ferry ride to Auckland city.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samelijas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Devonport
2.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,860 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 66 in Auckland Central
687 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
715 reviews
1.9 mi away
VR Takapuna
VR Takapuna
#1 of 1 in Bayswater
616 reviews
2.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esplanade Hotel

Address: 1 Victoria Road, Devonport, Auckland 0624, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > North Shore > Devonport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Devonport
Price Range: £83 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Esplanade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade Hotel offers Auckland boutique hotel accommodation, right on the waterfront in Devonport, Auckland, New Zealand. Nestled in the heart of Devonport village, just across the harbour from the heart of Auckland City, The Esplanade Hotel dominates the Devonport foreshore and enjoys unrivalled harbour and city views. This boutique hotel was built in 1903, has been elegantly restored and has a character and charm all of its own.It is only a ten-minute ferry ride to downtown Auckland, without the hassle of the inner city. After a busy day sight-seeing or on business, The Esplanade Hotel is a haven to escape to at the end of the day…sit back and relax in the bar or restaurants and watch the Auckland city lights and harbour activity. The Esplanade Hotel has seventeen rooms, all with ensuite bathrooms, including the luxurious Blake Suite and the two bedroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Auckland
The Esplanade Hotel Devonport, Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing