We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful host - perfect location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Devonport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parituhu Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 8 Devonport B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Lyndsay and Helen are wonderful and generous hosts and their B&B is just at a perfect location next to the beach. Within minutes you are also at the ferry terminal from where it s 15 minutes ride to the very city center. They are very knowledgeable - if you wish they can give you any information or recommendation you may wish.

The room is very tasteful, super clean, the bathroom with tube and shower and a perfect roof light is very spacious.

If you travel with children there are 2 big playground just around the corner.

We have been staying already 4 times - the first time in 2005 - and came always back when we were in Auckland.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth_Bossart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyndsay r, Owner at Parituhu Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

We love it when guests who have stayed with us before, return to stay at Parituhu. Thank you Ruth for this lovely review. We so enjoyed having you all to stay and have loved watching Sammie grow into a fine young man over the years. We look forward to the next time we all get together!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

Based on TripAdvisor reviews we made our reservations at the Parituhu Beachstay.

The problem then became our arrival time – our flight from San Francisco was to arrive in Auckland at 5:00 am. I knew that would be too early to check-in to the B&B, so planned to get a hotel near the airport. We would check in, shower and get some "real" sleep after the flight. And then check-in to the B&B in the afternoon.

Well, Lyndsay and Helen would have none of that! They said it would be no problem to check in early in the morning AND they would even come to the airport to pick us up! It all worked very smoothly and we were able to check-in, clean up and get a nap before heading out to explore. Yes, there was a charge to be picked up, but it was far less than had we gotten a hotel for part of a day and then taxied to the B&B.

Devonport is directly across the bay from Auckland – and a perfect place to stay. Devonport is a lovely little village and far from the hustle-bustle of big-city Auckland. It is also away from the hordes of cruise-ship passengers that descend on Auckland. On the other hand it is a mere 10 minute crossing on the ferry, so it is easy to explore Auckland from Devonport.

Helen and Lyndsay couldn't have been finer hostesses. As world-travelers themselves, they know how to properly care for their guests. The home is very comfortable and looks out over the bay. The bed is comfortable and even more so with the air-dried linens. Breakfast was ample and tasty.

We can't say enough about our hostesses! They were over the top in taking care of us, giving recommendations on walks, sites to see and restaurants to enjoy – and those to avoid. They even did our laundry while we were out!

You won't go wrong staying at the Parituhu Beachstay!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roams-A-Lot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyndsay r, Owner at Parituhu Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Greetings Larry and Debbie. Thank you both so much for coming to stay with us at Parituhu.. we really enjoyed your company and the great conversations. This is such a lovely comprehensive review and I thank you for it. As you say we travel a lot ourselves and know what works for guests ( including laundry!!) So we are glad you enjoyed your stay in Devonport.

Hope the weather picked up and that the train excursions were all you wanted,Thanks again +++ Lyndsay and Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

If you're planning to visit the Auckland area, Devonport is the best home base…and Parituhu is the ideal place to stay. Gorgeous harbourside location, with comfortable/spotlessly clean accommodations, and warm, welcoming hosts. We loved the ease of jumping on the ferry to visit Auckland museums, and we were always happy to know we'd return to the peace and serenity of Devonport at the end of the day. We did excursions to Rangitoto and Coromandel, and they were lovely, but best of all was returning to our new home-away-from-home and the comfort of being cared for so beautifully by Lyndsay and Helen. I celebrated my birthday while here, and I was even greeted at breakfast with a lovely card, chocolate, and a heavenly breakfast. Don't even consider staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyndsay r, Owner at Parituhu Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Thank you Mary for this glowing review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed it all. Devonport is certainly a lovely place to live and visit and Helen and I really enjoyed having you and David to stay at Parituhu - such a lot shared! come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Small, nice and clean room, beautiful view, friendly owners. And their breakfast were delicious and perfectly served that I am afraid I will not be satisfied anywhere else, I can higly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyndsay r, Owner at Parituhu Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay in Devonport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Two really lovely people run this B&B. They made us feel welcome with a nice meal on our first night. Very helpful with weather checks, public transport info and recommendations. We stayed for 5 days on our trip to Auckland and felt like we were at home. Such a great location overlooking the beach.
Devonport is beautiful seaside village and only 12 mins ferry ride to Auckland City centre.
Can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyndsay r, Owner at Parituhu Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Such a nice review. And thank you Gemma and Toddy for being enthusiastic travellers to New Zealand. You certainly embraced so many fun activities. As I said I think you might have some Kiwi genes in you!! come back; you will be welcome. cheers L and H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Wow, what can you say when you find a place that ticks all the accommodation boxes and then goes onto tick boxes that you didn't even know existed.

I've travelled a bit for work and Parituhu has been the best place to stay in hands down. This is a genuine home away from home- like you are staying with your favourite relatives. Lyndsay and Helen went out of their way to help me out with my conference trip.

Add to that a scrummy breakfast, harbour views, cafes, shops, park, ferry and beach a hop, skip and jump away, and you have the perfect destination.

Room Tip: There's just the one room so make sure you book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freyacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyndsay r, Manager at Parituhu Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thank you for your nice comments. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we so enjoyed having your toddler here too. It was fun!
Come again when next in Auckland you will be most welcome. best wishes Lyndsay and Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Stayed for 1 night and I'd mirror all the positive comments below. Nice older 'colonial' bungalow in excellent order right on the sea front. Minutes away from passenger ferry to downtown Auckland. Good shops, cafe's etc. very close. Devonport is a lovely salubrious suburb, fantastic older properties all well cared for. Great place to escape the bustle of the city, with fantastic views of Auckland from North Head.
I'm not going to gush too much, but the owners know how to run a B&B properly!!
Paul.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Intrepid T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyndsay r, Owner at Parituhu Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Thanks Paul for this positive review of our B and B and Devonport . We really enjoy sharing Parituhu with visitors and always learn much from great conversations..as we did with you. And thanks for posting the key back cheers Lyndsay and Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Devonport hotels
0.2 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#1 of 2 in Devonport
248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peace and Plenty Inn
Peace and Plenty Inn
#1 of 8 in Devonport
483 reviews
0.2 mi away
Admirals Landing Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Devonport Motel
Devonport Motel
#2 of 2 in Devonport
12 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Duck Inn
#1 of 5 in Devonport
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parituhu Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parituhu Bed and Breakfast

Address: 3 King Edward Parade, Devonport, Auckland 0624, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > North Shore > Devonport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Devonport
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small Bed and breakfast close to the village of Devonport and on the sea front. We aim to give visitors a view of New Zealand via our home. All welcome Kia ora. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Parituhu Bed And Breakfast Devonport, Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing