We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Admirals Landing Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 8 Devonport B&B and Inns
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
274 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Ideal Location”
Reviewed 16 January 2008

After a long flight we were welcomed by Howard and Joy - they waited until 1am to meet us!
Ideal location - very easy to get the ferry into Auckland.
Devonport is a great place to stay with a good selection of restaurants etc but if you are planning to be in the area over Xmas time - care! nothing was open on Christmas Day night except the main hotel so think ahead.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ilkleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    18
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
76
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2008

We spent 5 nights at the Admirals Landing with our almost 3 year old and we had a wonderful stay. The hosts are extremely friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean, very well equipped and spacious. The breakfast was excellent. The house is handy to ferry, beach, playground, shops and restaurants and the view to Auckland is fascinating, especially by night. If we go back to Auckland one day we will surely go there again!

  • Liked — everything
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank butterflyStuttgart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2007

Stayed here twice in December '07. The Admiral's Landing B & B is superbly located on the waterfront in Devonport, looking across the harbour to Auckland centre. It is 200 yards from the ferry (12 mins to Auckland and 2 ferries per hour) with fantastic views (from one of the 2 rooms, the other inland looking but with views from the stairs and the breakfast room). There is all day free parking either in the drive or opposite (get there early though, before the commuters do) - or 3 hour parking on the road. The welcome is profuse and genuine and the rooms superbly equipped for a B & B. Nothing is too much trouble, with help offered at every turn, to the point of overkill! There are lots of shops, bars and restaurants two minutes walk away and it is much better than staying in the bustling city which is easily reachable via the ferry.

  • Liked — The location, facilities and friendliness
  • Disliked — Room faced mostly away from view (though visible rom stairs and breakfast room)
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te Puke
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2007

This B&B is so handy to Devonport, the Naval Base and the ferry terminal. The hosts were very helpful, even volunteering an impromptu Baby sitter service. The rooms are spacious and well kept. We had 2 nights there with our 1 yr old which was a handful due to stairs. Not suitable for young children but great for any other reason.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank veisha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2007

I had four nights at this superbly located B & B in Devonport, Auckland. Situated right across the road from the ferry that takes you into Auckland you couldn't find a more pleasant spot. The double glazing ensures the accommodation is quiet and the little village of Devonport is just lovely. The hosts Joy and Howard are extremely helpful and have an amazing library of books and information about just about everything there is to see and do in Auckland. A very friendly New Zealand welcome and hospitality.
Would highly recommend.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank addbatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2007

We arrived in Devonport, tired from the flight from England, at Admiral's Landing at 1.00pm. Our hosts welcomed us and gave us immediate access to our lovely clean, newly decorated bedroom and bathroom. The bed was huge, as was the bathroom.
This attractive bed and breakfast is just opposite the Ferry Wharf with fabulous views of Auckland Harbour and Joy and Howard Mace could not have been more accommodating. They offered raincoats, torches and umbrellas for our walk on Rangitoto Island and insisted on popping round the corner to the local bakery for freshly baked breakfast delights.
We thoroughly recommend Admiral's Landing as convenient to the city, having excellent accommodation and super friendly hosts.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Inlandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Devonport
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#1 of 2 in Devonport
217 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
1.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 67 in Auckland
1,172 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,194 reviews
2.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admirals Landing Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admirals Landing Bed & Breakfast

Property: Admirals Landing Bed & Breakfast
Address: 11 Queens Parade | Corner of Anne Street, Devonport 0624, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Devonport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Devonport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Admirals Landing Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central waterfront location opposite ferry wharf (10 minutes to downtown Auckland) Stroll 90 seconds to restaurants, cafes, galleries and beach. Exquisite lighting and fittings. Data points, TV,CD, DVD, gowns, flowers and fruit in rooms.Laundry service and sprinkler system. Harbourside room enjoys magical wide views and sunsets to the south-west; mountain views to the north. Large ensuite and balcony. Big scented garden. Off street parking. Hosts are New Zealanders who welcome guests with evening antipasto and New Zealand wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Admirals Landing Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admirals Landing Bed & Breakfast Devonport, Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing