We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Admirals Landing Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 8 Devonport B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 April 2008

I have just returned to Sydney having spent 4 days in Auckland, at Admirals Landing, a B and B in Devonport, Auckland. I was in a party of 5 adults, all staying at Admirals Landing. I have no hesitation in recommending this B and B, firstly because Devonport is a special part of Auckland, on the water and with a villagy atmosphere. It has excellent cafes, restaurants, bookshops. There is a short ferry ride to the CBD. Joy and Howard operate the B and B and go out of their way to ensure that their guests needs are met. They will gather information if it is not actually on their premises (eg best places for bird watching, making golf bookings etc) and are a very engaging couple.

We had a most enjoyable stay.

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank SydneyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2008

Our hosts, Joy and Howard, were very accomodating considering we arrived in the very early morning from America The room was comfortable and the shower was fantastic! That may sound like a simple thing but when you are travel weary it is wonderful to have hot water and pressure beating down on you. Perfectly located for walking the town of Devonport and Joy has a wealth of information on just about any topic you can imagine! This was a perfectly wonderful way to begin our New Zealand journey and I would recommend this Bed and Breakfast to anyone. Monique and Pee Wee

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mmoten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2008

Howard and Joy are extremely gracious and welcoming. They are eager to share their knowledge and they are eager to help.
We chose to take the Airport Bus to the Ferry Terminal and then the Ferry to Devonport. Admirals Landing is a short walk across the carpark. We stayed 2 nights and found that we could easily explore Auckland using public transportation. Before leaving for the Bay of Islands, Joy offered to take us to the Avis office near
Devonport to pick up our rental car. In the evening, Howard & Joy asked us to join them on the patio and share some fine New Zealand wine before we headed out to dinner in Devonport.
Breakfast was excellent and you could either have it served in your room, on the patio, or in the comfort of the dining room.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ready2goKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2008

After a long flight we were welcomed by Howard and Joy - they waited until 1am to meet us!
Ideal location - very easy to get the ferry into Auckland.
Devonport is a great place to stay with a good selection of restaurants etc but if you are planning to be in the area over Xmas time - care! nothing was open on Christmas Day night except the main hotel so think ahead.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ilkleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2008

We spent 5 nights at the Admirals Landing with our almost 3 year old and we had a wonderful stay. The hosts are extremely friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean, very well equipped and spacious. The breakfast was excellent. The house is handy to ferry, beach, playground, shops and restaurants and the view to Auckland is fascinating, especially by night. If we go back to Auckland one day we will surely go there again!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank butterflyStuttgart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2007

Stayed here twice in December '07. The Admiral's Landing B & B is superbly located on the waterfront in Devonport, looking across the harbour to Auckland centre. It is 200 yards from the ferry (12 mins to Auckland and 2 ferries per hour) with fantastic views (from one of the 2 rooms, the other inland looking but with views from the stairs and the breakfast room). There is all day free parking either in the drive or opposite (get there early though, before the commuters do) - or 3 hour parking on the road. The welcome is profuse and genuine and the rooms superbly equipped for a B & B. Nothing is too much trouble, with help offered at every turn, to the point of overkill! There are lots of shops, bars and restaurants two minutes walk away and it is much better than staying in the bustling city which is easily reachable via the ferry.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaxHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2007

This B&B is so handy to Devonport, the Naval Base and the ferry terminal. The hosts were very helpful, even volunteering an impromptu Baby sitter service. The rooms are spacious and well kept. We had 2 nights there with our 1 yr old which was a handful due to stairs. Not suitable for young children but great for any other reason.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank veisha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Devonport hotels
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#1 of 2 in Devonport
256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peace and Plenty Inn
Peace and Plenty Inn
#1 of 8 in Devonport
485 reviews
0.2 mi away
Devonport Motel
Devonport Motel
#2 of 2 in Devonport
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Duck Inn
#1 of 5 in Devonport
2 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Admirals Landing Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admirals Landing Bed & Breakfast

Address: 11 Queens Parade | Corner of Anne Street, Devonport, Auckland 0624, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > North Shore > Devonport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Devonport
Price Range: £122 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Admirals Landing Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central waterfront location opposite ferry wharf (10 minutes to downtown Auckland) Stroll 90 seconds to restaurants, cafes, galleries and beach. Exquisite lighting and fittings. Data points, TV,CD, DVD, gowns, flowers and fruit in rooms.Laundry service and sprinkler system. Harbourside room enjoys magical wide views and sunsets to the south-west; mountain views to the north. Large ensuite and balcony. Big scented garden. Off street parking. Hosts are New Zealanders who welcome guests with evening antipasto and New Zealand wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Admirals Landing Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admirals Landing Bed & Breakfast Devonport, Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing