We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern amenities in a perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Admirals Landing Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 8 Devonport B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
276 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 532 helpful votes
“Modern amenities in a perfect location”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

While its look blends in with the heritage buildings that surround it in old Devonport, the Admiral's Landing is actually a new house that offers well-appointed rooms in a superb location on the waterfront right across the street from the passenger ferry pier.

Only about 20 years old, this home appears to be purpose-build to be a B&B. All three rooms are on the top floor, well-separated by the hosts' living area by a stairwell and entry hall. Thus, the guest can go in and out (using a modern electronic key) without disturbing the hosts.

The Waterfront Room, in which I had a lengthy stay, is of exceptional quality. The king bed is huge and features superb linens and pillows. On the south side is an unobstructed view of the harbour; on the north a deck overlooking the garden and a sidestreet. The finish is modern with wood floors, excellent blinds and curtains, leather furniture, flat-panel TV, and a well-designed pull-out desk/credenza. The extra large bathroom features a heated floor, heated towel racks, a glass shower stall, and two sinks. A well-designed vestibule offers a wardrobe, drawer space, and a place to dress in privacy. The room also had a coffee maker and a small fridge, which was stocked with complimentary drinks and snacks.

Even though it faces the waterfront and a well-used road, the area is very quiet at night. Double-glazed windows keep out the weather and noise, if any. However, the gap under the room's door allows sound to all to easily enter from the shared hallway and stairwell. Assuming that sound travels both ways, this reduces one's feeling of privacy in the room.

The hosts are meticulous and attentive. Breakfast was punctual and delicious and featured local foods where possible. My preferences were willingly accommodated. Any request for information or recommendations generated a flurry of information and options. The hosts are very knowledgeable about the area and proud of its history.

The B&B is in the heart of Devonport, steps from the ferry landing and the high street. Within a few minutes walk is a large grocery strore, a bottle shop, at least 6 good restaurants, take-away eateries, boutiques, coffee shops, and a fine little gift shop. No car needed. Since a boat departs the ferry landing for downtown every 15 to 30 minutes, this B&B offers an excellent base from which to explore Auckland and it surrounding islands.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NW_Raven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    18
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
76
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at Howard and Joy's B&B for six nights in mid-May. Imagine visiting your favorite aunt and uncle for the first time in years! They're fun to know, and they know a lot about the area (and would either take us to places themselves or get on the phone to arrange any outings we were interested in.) They've got stories to share (be sure to ask about the history - or pre-history - of their B&B.) And the breakfast they prepared for us each morning was wonderful. The room, meanwhile, was spacious and comfortable, with modern facilities. For us, no need to search further if we return to Auckland.

Room Tip: only 2 rooms! you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank appereira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Admirals our first taste of New Zealand and we received a warm welcome from Joy & Howard. Nothing too much trouble, room & en suite spacious and comfortable with complementary wine, beer & snacks. Joy gave us guided walk of Devonport as mentioned by others which was interesting and we learned a lot about New Zealand from her. Devonport is a convenient location for visiting Auckland and we had a great view of city and harbour from our room. Admirals is in a quiet spot near the ferry (the sailing takes about 15 minutes & runs all day and late into evening). Devonport has a nice village feel with a choice of small shops and restaurants within minutes walk of Admirals. Didn't have time to visit the Devonport beaches but understand they are worth chilling out on. Glad we stayed here rather than city centre.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank W8831PCTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed at the Admirals Landing having researched Auckland and where to stay. I don't think there can be a better placed B&B for getting into the city centre of Auckland. There is a frequent short and inexpensive ferry trip, two minutes walk away, which takes you to the heart of Auckland. The accommodation itself was first class. We were fortunate in that we were upgraded to the premier suite, which was spacious and comfortable. The hosts Joy and Howard are such pleasant and sociable people who treated us very kindly and helpfully. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful and selected from a large menu. Should we ever travel to Auckland again, there is no doubt that we would stay at the Admirals Landing once more.

Room Tip: Both of the rooms are of high quality, well furnished and fitted out. The room at the front of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moraga, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We chose to stay across the bay from Auckland in Devonport, and we couldn't be happier. This B&B is situated on the waterfront, and the ferry building a short walk. The rooms are nice. The bathrooms are excellent. Joy & Howard are fantastic hosts and took our family on a walking tour around town. It was very special. The breakfast was "over the top" good.

Room Tip: Our family took both rooms; the front one is desirable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silver996c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Our stay at Admirals landing couldn't have been better. Quiet nights in lovely Devonport while only a 12 minute ferry ride from downtown Auckland, and the ferry terminal is literally across the street. When you arrive your host Joy will offer a tour of Devonport and Mount Victoria. Joy is a local treasure, take her up on the offer. Both Joy and Howard know the area and are ready to help with any arrangements you wish to make, from car or bike rentals, airport shuttles, local tours, and they more than likely have wonderful books and maps on anything you might want to do. I can't recommend Admirals Landing and Joy and Howard highly enough. Sue and Jim

Room Tip: there are only three rooms and all are great, the larger of the three does have a nice balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Annes-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We were looked after wonderfully by Joy and Howard during our 4 night stay in their lovely B&B. We stayed in the Waterfront room which provided us with lovely views across to Auckland.
The room is very well appointed with a superb bathroom. We had breakfast each morning on our private rear balcony. The breakfasts were delicious with an amazing choice of fresh fruit. On our arrival, Joy took us on a tour of Devonport and Mount Victoria. She is a mine of information and it gave us a good introduction to the area. Joy and Howard could not have done enough for us.

Admiral's Landing is a perfect location for catching the ferry to Auckland or other destinations. Devonport is a delightful little town with many good shops and restaurants.

. We thoroughly recommend Admiral's Landing as an excellent place to stay.
Carole and David Harrison
February 2014

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marshy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Devonport
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#1 of 2 in Devonport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
1.8 mi away
VR Takapuna
VR Takapuna
#1 of 1 in Bayswater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
2.0 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
2.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
2.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admirals Landing Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admirals Landing Bed & Breakfast

Property: Admirals Landing Bed & Breakfast
Address: 11 Queens Parade | Corner of Anne Street, Devonport 0624, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Devonport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Devonport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Admirals Landing Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central waterfront location opposite ferry wharf (10 minutes to downtown Auckland) Stroll 90 seconds to restaurants, cafes, galleries and beach. Exquisite lighting and fittings. Data points, TV,CD, DVD, gowns, flowers and fruit in rooms.Laundry service and sprinkler system. Harbourside room enjoys magical wide views and sunsets to the south-west; mountain views to the north. Large ensuite and balcony. Big scented garden. Off street parking. Hosts are New Zealanders who welcome guests with evening antipasto and New Zealand wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Admirals Landing Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admirals Landing Bed & Breakfast Devonport, Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing