We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Captain's Landing

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Devonport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Captain's Landing
Ranked #4 of 9 Devonport B&B and Inns
Edinburgh
2 reviews
“Heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed at the Captain's Landing for the first two nights of our honeymoon. After over 30 hours of travelling from the UK, we arrived to find that Margaret and Bo had made a special effort to ensure that our room was ready early so that we could relax as soon as we got there. The accommodation was beautiful and Margaret and Bo were perfect hosts - always there to help but giving us the privacy that was so important. Margaret's breakfasts are honestly out of this world - amazing homemade muesli and cinnamon bread and delicious cooked mains, all served in Margaret and Bo's beautiful living room upstairs with views of the boats sailing by. The accommodation was ideally situation - only 5 mins walk from the Devonport Ferry terminal (the ferry itself only takes 10 mins to reach central Auckland). It was the perfect way to start our honeymoon, relax and get over our jetlag! We really cannot recommend the Captain's Landing highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
29
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Luxemburg
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Staying at this b&b was the best possible finish before leaving NZ after 6 weeks. The location is excellent. Devonport is very nice with excellent views on the city and the ferry connection are very good. Margaret prepares an awesome breakfast!!! Plenty of rooms with everything you can possibly need.Dip and crackers were a nice touch. Margaret and Bo are very nice and charming hosts. I think if you are looking for a b&b in that area 'The Captain's Landing' is the place to be. Thanks Margaret and Bo

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Namibia71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

When evaluating Auckland for a 4 day stay in January, it was apparent that you wanted to be near a ferry terminal. Since we like to stay in B & B's, our search led us to The Captain's Landing. Without question, this was the finest experience we've had in a B & B. The accomodations were pristine and so very comfortable. Our hostess, Margaret (Bo was out of town), was just amzing. She went out of her way to meet any of our needs. Margaret also puts on a dynamite breakfast spread with fresh fruits, breads, cereals and delicious main courses. I can honestly say you haven't gotten the most out of Auckland, if you haven't stayed at The Captain's Landing.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurice11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunusstein, Hessen, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Feels as cosy as home, you are looked after in the best possible way, hospitality brought to nothing but perfection. Hosts Margaret and Bo are very warm and friendly, helpful in any situation and you should certainly not miss staying there when being in the Auckland region. Extremely delicious and healthy breakfast gives you just the right start for your day.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

I used Tripadvisor extensively when planning our trip to NZ as it can be hard to find good places from abroad and, by and large, the reviews are fairly independent. When planning our trip, I hoped that Tripadvisor would help me find high quality accommodation that wasn't touristy and tacky. Well, full marks to Tripadvisor for bringing us to The Captain's Landing, easily the most luxurious B&B of our stay in New Zealand.

The accommodation comprises:

-master bedroom with a very comfortable king-sized bed and sky TV. There is a nice antique cabinet and the room is well appointed.
- sitting room with TV, fridge, little table, chairs, sofa and book-shelves. The sitting room opens out onto:
- private deck with table, chairs and sunloungers, overlooking the harbour
- smaller second bedroom with a standard (ie small) double bed
- bathroom with large shower of a quality that would not be out of place in a 5 star hotel.

The area is completely self-contained, which is nice.

There are no cooking facilities as it's not that sort of accommodation.

Margaret was a perfect host, leaving out lots of thoughtful goodies and nibbles for us. Lots of lovely personal touches that we appreciated. Bo picked us up from the ferry when we arrived.

The breakfasts were a real highlight too and we were sad to go. Margaret gave our girls a little Christmas present when we left, which was much appreciated.

Other reviewers have written about the location, so I'll just sum it up in one word: superb.

If you're thinking of where to stay in Auckland, don't look any further.

Thank you Bo and Marageret!

Room Tip: There are no twin beds in the spare room, something to bear in mind if travelling with children. One...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzesmithkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

I'll do this by answering four simple questions; who, what, where and why?
Who ?
Margaret Ekman who owns Captain's Landing with her sea captain husband Bo is the kindest, most hospitable, most thoughtful hostess you could possibly meet; unsurpassable even in New Zealand which is renowned throughout the World for its friendly, welcoming hospitality.
What?
At Captain's Landing you have a self-contained suite of rooms. With your own front door key you can come and go as you please at any time. The rooms are comfortably furnished, scrupulously clean, light, airy and well equipped. The bathroom is luxurious and there were fresh flowers in my bedroom. I stayed here alone for 12 days during the final stages of the Rugby World Cup - it was just as though I had my own home here. Every day Margaret brought down a huge tray with what she described as a "continental" breakfast. I don't know which continent it was inspired by. Certainly not Europe! I had meusli, yoghurt, several varieties of fruit, toast with savouries and jam, Danish pastries and a selection of teas and coffee to choose from. And if this wasn't enough Margaret also provided biscuits, chocolates and snacks. Supplies were replenished daily. She even put a bottle of my favourite beer in the fridge every day, having surreptitiously discovered my taste! This is what Margaret does. She goes out of her way to personalise your stay here, to make you feel special and pampered.
Where?
Devonport is as charming, quiet, elegant and sophisticated as Auckland is by contrast a brash noisy hullaballoo of a modern city. So if you want to be near it, but not in it then Devonport is THE place to be. Captain's Landing is very quiet at night. But It is right on the waterfront, just a five minute walk from the town centre with its pubs, cafes, restaurants and boutiques - and to the ferry with its half-hourly 10 minute trips across the harbour to Auckland city. If you time it right you can be in the centre of Auckland just 20 minutes after leaving your front door at Captain's Landing. Around Devonport there are beautiful and interesting walks in nature reserves and with spectacular views over the harbour, the Hauraki gulf and surrounding islands some of which you can reach directly by ferry from Devonport itself; or you can simply sit as I often did by the beach and watch the endless comings and goings of ships, ferries and yachts. A few relaxing days in Devonport is a complete New Zealand experience in itself, a microcosm. Unless you are a compulsive sightseer there's really no need to go anywhere else.
Why?
If you are looking for the standards of comfort frankly as good as any five star hotel but in a place which really feels like your own home, then Captain's Landing has it all. It is simply outstanding. So why not? Just go there - do it now !!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeremy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

On arrival at Captain’s landing I was amazed at the wonderful, spacious accommodation that greeted me. There was no stairs which was great especially with the amount of luggage I had, and the views of the harbour were spectacular.

I was in Auckland working at the Naval Base in Devonport so the location of the accommodation was brilliant. It was only 5 minutes walk along the promenade to the ferry terminal and a further 5 minutes down to the naval base, and what a lovely walk it was.

My hostess Margaret was fabulous. Not only did she have great knowledge of the local area, but she went out of her way to make my stay a memorable one. I was really looked after during my time here at Captain’s Landing and this added to the great New Zealand experience.

The seasonal breakfasts were another highlight – they were delicious! They were full of local, fresh produce and were different every day. Similarly the finish and cleanliness of the rooms was first class, I’m in no doubt that this is luxury 5 star accommodation at its best.

Amit Mistry

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Devonport
0.4 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#1 of 2 in Devonport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
2.1 mi away
VR Takapuna
VR Takapuna
#1 of 1 in Bayswater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,368 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Spencer on Byron Hotel
1.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Captain's Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Captain's Landing

Property: The Captain's Landing
Address: 22 King Edward Parade, Devonport 0624, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Devonport
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Devonport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront bed & breakfast, elegant private suite of rooms, consisting of one double, one queensize with TV, private bathroom, sitting room with TV, fridge and refreshment facilities, complimentary surprises, own entry and private deck. Short flat walk along the waterfront to village, naval base, shops, restaurants and ferry to downtown Auckland, off street parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Captain's Landing Devonport, Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing