We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good lunch stop over”

Devonport Stone Oven Bakery & Cafe
Ranked #14 of 39 Restaurants in Devonport
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
West Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
788 reviews
414 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
“Good lunch stop over”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Devonport is an escape from Auckland, though only minutes away by ferry. So many places to eat in, and we were pleased at our choices at the Stone Oven Bakery. Staff were friendly and the cakes and muffins appeared home made and were really tasty.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Skippy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    70
    33
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding eatery in Devonport”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

As difficult as it is to walk past the well stocked food cabinets the meals we had from the lunch menu were outstanding. Definitely going to return to try others of the wide ranging choices. In addition, coffee superb!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterWatt2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
343 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Tasty Lunch”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Out of all the eateries in Devonport, I'm glad we walked into this cafe. Everything looked delicious and we weren't disappointed with what we chose, this is an excellent bakery/cafe, the coffee is perfect and the atmosphere is very comfortable. The staff are happy & helpful.
I would easily go there again, if in the area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MitchMitch52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Tasty, gluten-free options for a Devonport daytrip”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stumbled upon this option during our day in Devonport and enjoyed gluten-free options - lots of healthy made to order or picking options that were pre-made. Everything looked great and both our meals were as well! My husband had the salmon quiche and I had a chicken sandwich on gluten free bread, which came with a huge salad! Very casual, lots of swimmers coming in so don't expect anything more than a picnic inside! They did have a play area in the back for kids.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jamie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good find for lunch!”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

The sign outside declares, "All products made on the premises"

Very good it was, too - fresh rolls, salad and cakes, freshly squeezed orange juice is available alongside other standards.

Well worth trying - along with the WiFi hotspot.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DustyDCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Devonport Stone Oven Bakery & Cafe also viewed

Devonport, Auckland Region
Devonport, Auckland Region
 
Devonport, Auckland Region
Devonport, Auckland Region
 
Devonport, Auckland Region
Devonport, Auckland Region
 

Been to Devonport Stone Oven Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing