We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B&B in the country and just close enough to Auckland” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bycroft Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bycroft Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #77 of 262 Auckland Region B&B and Inns
Thames, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B in the country and just close enough to Auckland”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed one night and would definitely stay again. Nicely decorated rooms with a decent bed and a great shower. View over rolling hills and the local llamas. Didn't use the pool or spa as it's winter. Lovely breakfast brought to our room (very early, thank you); cooked brekkie plus muesli and yoghurt and fruit. Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikki06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    3
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
32
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

To celebrate our 2nd wedding anniversary my wife & I spent a very relaxing night at Bycroft Lodge. This is the second time we've stayed here. It is a very nice location with a country outlook. The breakfast is amazing with a great mix of both hot & cold foods. There are lots of nice subtle touches which really enhance the experience.

We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We spent one night here as it is not too far from Auckland airport and were delighted with our stay. The accommodation is in a separate unit to the main house and has lovely country views. The farm atmosphere is complemented by the ponies and alpacas grazing in front of the unit. A lovely spot. Guests can use the spa and pool and are served a wonderful breakfast in the morning, outside on the porch if weather permits. The accommodation was very clean and comfortable and the owners lovely people, so kind and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dahu60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okotoks, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Great view, situated in South Auckland. Quiet farm atmosphere complete with ponies and Alpacas. The site has a pool and a very friendly seven year old girl. We stayed on our arrival and departure and they stored our bags for us. The breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Merv271953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington NZ
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We had one wonderful night at Bycroft Lodge and it was the best night of our holiday. It was easy to find, just off the motorway leaving Auckland and gave us a great start heading to Hobbiton the next day. The setting was so beautiful - sitting in the spa in the dark looking at the stars and listening to distant sounds of cows was wonderful.

Room Tip: The Ascot Suite was glorious and great to be able to cook our own dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank casperWellingtonNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Over the past 2 months I have stayed at Bycroft Lodge on two occasions.
Firstly the location was very convenient, not only is it relatively close to Auckland Airport but in addition its only 3 minutes drive to the Southern Motorway heading south out of Auckland.
Despite being so close to everything it has a totally peaceful, relaxing outlook over farmland, towards the Hunua Ranges.
Both the rooms I stayed in had amazing views & even the Pool complex & spas shared the same outlook.
The first room I stayed in was nicely decorated, comfortable & very clean.
Like the entire property it was quite & peaceful.
The breakfast was scrumptious, far more than I could manage.
The service was amazing, Ling the owner, is extremely friendly & helpful.

As I enjoyed the stay so much I decided to return for another stay in January 2014. This time I stayed in the Ascot Suite.
How would I describe it? STUNNING!!
The design & decoration are just beautiful.
Once again the service & breakfast provided were wonderful.

I would thoroughly recommend this property, not just as a stop over after flying into or prior to flying out of Auckland, but as a destination in its own right.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

This is the best B&B My wife and I have stayed in for a long time. Everything was wonderful including the owners, the room and the breakfast, the breakfast was definitely the best we have ever had. The B&B is not far from Auckland airport but it's out of the city in beautiful country landscapes which makes it ideal for tourists flying in and traveling south.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bycroftlodge, Owner at Bycroft Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear David,
Thank you so much for your review, to be exact, compliments, which are undoubtedly a great encouragement for us. Your satisfaction is the best rewards for our efforts and the best motivation to keep us going. To be honest, your optimism and cheerfulness also left us a deep impression. We are looking forward to seeing you again in the future!
Yours Sincerely,
Ling, Bycroft Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Region hotels
4.0 mi away
Dancing Trees Bed & Breakfast
Dancing Trees Bed & Breakfast
#118 of 262 in Auckland Region
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
2.8 mi away
Drury Motor Lodge
Drury Motor Lodge
#15 of 54 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
3.5 mi away
Rosebrook Country Homestead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Auckland Karaka Country Retreat
5.0 mi away
BK's Counties Motor Lodge
2.5 mi away
Runciman Berries and Emus B&B
Runciman Berries and Emus B&B
#30 of 107 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bycroft Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bycroft Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Property: Bycroft Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Address: 19 Bycroft Road | R.D. 2 Drury, Karaka, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 262 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bycroft Lodge is a boutique style B & B, comprising 2 rooms with ensuite bathrooms and one self contained apartment in the green area of Karaka, only 20 minutes from the airport and 30 minutes to the CBD of Auckland. All luxuries available to make this the perfect start or end of your 100% pure New Zealand experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bycroft Lodge Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing