We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super friendly Family with the best director !”
Review of Borders Beyond

Borders Beyond
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Borders Beyond
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Super friendly Family with the best director !”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I really enjoy this Hostel, the place is not too big, it's a house and you feel like you're at home with great roommates! this place is nice if you want to work in Auckland, close to the CBD and Ponsoby road! and it's better because you can really meet some great people, as we have a common area really comfy! the others respect your sleep the morning generally, it's not a place for only drunk people!
And you have to tchat with the director, he's very friendly and like to joke!
[The only bad thing it's the distance for the supermarket! (have to walk 10 or 20min)]

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALEXsansDrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    8
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
15
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The staff seemed not to be really happy to help me when I needed. The kitchen was very good and the place was clean. The showers had to be payed apart ($0.50) and time was limited (6 minutes). The location is walking distance from the city centre (25min).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelynha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Beds were wholly uncomfortable and clearly hadn't been washed when we arrived despite our booking well in advance. The room was deplorablly untidy hardly the hostels fault, but there seemed to be no real rules in the place.

The corridors actually stank, nauseatingly so. In terms of facilities the kitchen was well equipped although the whole 50c per 6 minute shower was utterly ridiculous.

I'm sure you could find nicer places to stay in the area. Avoid.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ihjuawn88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mallow, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed here for one night when down in Auckland for the weekend. We chose Borders Beyond for the location (10 minute walk to city centre) and the advertised free parking. We arrived Saturday night and parked in business parking next to the hostel, but if it was during the week would have ended up parking on the street. There looks to be around 3-4 parks inside the hostel ground, with the rest of the business parks free over the weekend.

We went out that night and left in the morning so just used the place for sleeping and a shower in the morning. The staff were friendly and our double room was a decent size with a couch and good bed. No rubbish bins in the room though and even though a put my 50 cents in the shower it was cold. That said my girlfriend said her shower was hot and I was pretty hung over so maybe I did something wrong??

I thought the place was pretty untidy with the showers and kitchen a bit of a mess - that said it was a Saturday night/Sunday morning and people had been out drinking and we left before the staff had had a chance to clean.

Overall I thought the location was great and the price good but I probably wouldn't bother coming here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JB999_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We stayed twice in Borders Beyond and it was each Time a realy good experience! If you are looking for a small backpacker clean, welcoming and with a family atmosphere you should go there. The rooms are Nice specially number 12 but for sure you will not stay in your room because Of the friendly sharing kitchen and living room. To be honest the best point Of this hostel is the owner, David who Will always HELP you as much as he can! When we arrived in New Zealand he helped us for the first steps (bank acount, IRD, cell phone num....) and when we lived he made our last moments unforgettable! So Of course we recommend this fabulous place and thank David and his crew ( specially the great night manager: Katia for being so helpful and conscientious). From France with love! Jo & Nabila

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nabila77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago de Chile
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Excellent place to stay in Auckland, especially for the price and the quality you offer specialist, is one of the cheapest hostels in the city. David and the staff always smiling and helping in whatever you need, we stayed on two occasions because the location is great, about 15 minutes walk from the center and about 10 minutes walk from the bus stop that brings you to the airport, near the hostel there are many places to eat and a supermarket. During our stay we saw the staff always keeping the place clean. Also, what is nice is the dinner where all cooked in a warm family atmosphere, where all talk, watch TV, read or just connected to internet. Thank you very much for everything!

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bielefeld, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Great place. It was recommended by people I met at the airport. The manager is nice, friendly, helpful and funny. The other guests were very nice. Overall it was a very good atmosphere. I felt comfortable. Although the beds are not that comfortable, I'd defenitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BjoernBer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Region hotels
0.8 mi away
The Surrey Hotel
The Surrey Hotel
#51 of 67 in Auckland
185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quest Ponsonby
Quest Ponsonby
#58 of 67 in Auckland
103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
City Garden Lodge
City Garden Lodge
#28 of 122 in Auckland
147 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bamber House Hostel
Bamber House Hostel
#2 of 122 in Auckland
378 reviews
0.3 mi away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 122 in Auckland
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borders Beyond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borders Beyond

Property: Borders Beyond
Address: 8 Nixon Street | Grey Lynn, 1021, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 281 Speciality Lodging in Auckland Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy backpacker in a quiet area right by the CBD. Friendly/family atmosphere. 2mn from all commodities, free tea/coffee, kitchen. Help for jobs or visits. Luggage storage.English/French/Spanish/Italian spoken ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing