We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really disappointing quality of fish. Pretty embarrassing for auckland.”

Auckland Fish Market
Book In Advance
More Info
US$138.20*
and up
Auckland Insider Tour: Food Tour with Local Expert
More Info
US$29.88*
and up
Auckland Street Art Walking Tour
More Info
US$231.58*
and up
Auckland City Tour and Kumeu Wine Country
Ranked #6 of 103 Shopping in Auckland Region
Attraction details
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really disappointing quality of fish. Pretty embarrassing for auckland.”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

As one of the few fish mongers in auckland, and being right on the water you'd expect the market to be full of beautiful fresh seafood. Instead each time we've visited we've see old, old fish with dull, cloudy, sunken eyes and dull gills. Sometime the gills or whole heads are cut off so you have no idea how old the fish is. The smell of the market is enough to tell you the fish isn't fresh. It's embarrassing to me as an aucklander that this is marketed as a destination to overseas visitors who are likely to have a strong food culture and who know poor produce when they see it. No comparison to any local fishmonger in Spain, Italy or the quality in the market in Tokyo.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LaChicaSola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    60
    28
    13
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
ipoh
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“As fresh as it gets....”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

If you enjoy your seafood, this is the place to go to in Auckland. We tried it out at the fish and chip shop which was packed and did not disappoint. The tempura style fish and chips was fresh enough and their batter was crispy and tasty. The oysters too were not too expensive and good.

We had bought fresh fish and seafood at the market to be cooked during our trip here.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jeremy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced fish market”
Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

Had a quick lunch here. I didn't try the eating house but I had a fresh packaged smoked salmon which was really nice. The fish is fresh and the varities are good, overall a fish market that deserves a visit when you're in Auckland.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Enelenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadi
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Get fresh sea food while in CBD”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

The Fish market got fresh product even some still alive. You can handpick any fish, prawn, squid, lobster, eel even paua !! They also have few seafood restaurant and seafood school in place. We enjoy fresh sushi, miso soup and squid ring at market sushi while there. Nice place to enjoy snack or lunch while we wondering around Auckland harbor.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank indoninfiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Epic if you know what to do with the produce”
Reviewed 29 April 2013 via mobile

This place has the freshest fish, crayfish, scampi, prawns etc in town. If you know your way around a BBQ etc then you could potentially be in right place for a great dinner. There are several speciality stores about that are worth checking out (outside the main place). They also cook fish and chips that are pretty bloody nice. Now that the area has been developed you can score some takeaways and wander around the cool urban parks nearby

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Auckland Fish Market also viewed

North Shore City, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Auckland Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing