We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“80th celebration and Xmas festivities galore!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
9 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Biggin-by-Hartington, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
andreawo
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“80th celebration and Xmas festivities galore!”
Reviewed 28 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

There were 20 of us coming together to celebrate my father in law's 80th birthday and to spend Christmas together; 10 adults and 10 children! At first, when I saw the property I thought it was never going to accommodate all of us comfortably, it didn't look substantial from the outside. However I couldn't have been more wrong - plenty of parking spaces, easily 7/8 cars, and a perfectly proportioned and well designed house. The upstairs space was excellent, all the bedrooms well presented and a decent size (even the ones with extra bunk beds). The en-suites were all clean and modern, and with each room being uniform in every way it prevented any issues around who got the best room!!
Thankfully the kitchen was really well equipped, especially with the amount of catering we were doing over the holiday. There were 4 ovens and two dishwashers which made light work of the cooking and clearing away. There was more than enough crockery and cutlery and plenty of pans, servers etc. It looked like everything had been recently replaced/refreshed. The only slight improvement I could suggest would be the need for an additional hob as there was only a 5 ring hob, which did not match the abundance of oven space.
The open plan dining and living space was fabulous. All twenty of us managed to eat together with ease as the space was flexible.
There was plenty of soft furnishings for everyone to cosy up infront of the log fire, which was beautiful and added to the festive feel.
The location of the property was brilliant if you like walking or cycling. Located right on the Tissington Trail and with lovely views over the valley, it was beautiful.
I couldn't recommend this property enough both for families and large parties.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian B
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Perfect venue for 2 family groups each with 3 generations from age 20 to 84”
Reviewed 27 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Absolutely ideal venue for a group of 18 to 22 people. Probably the best equipped large venue we've stayed in, 4 ovens, 2 dishwashers and a seemingly unending supply of plates, crockery, pots and pans and the kitchen is a fabulous size, lots of work surfaces and a large hob. The open plan lounge and dining area was perfectly proportioned with a large leather sofa, armchairs and some cushion seats, and the dining table easily sits 18 people with at least 24 dining chairs dotted around the place. The table football (a top quality table) is great for groups. The beds are extremely comfy, the bedrooms are all of a similar size, compact but well equipped for a short 3 day stay (8 en-suite rooms, 1 bedroom with separate bathroom, and a downstairs toilet). The location is right next to the Tissington Trail and the Parsley Hay Cycle Hire which is perfect for walking and cycling. The Royal Oak Pub is a 2 mile walk along the trail and serves excellent meals. Property has a large car park ample for 9 or 10 cars with a really large outside patio and table for al fresco dining and bbq's. We arranged our groceries to be delivered by Ocado just after our arrival. The property is perfect for a group of 18 in every way, (plus 2 of the bedrooms have bunk beds for additional guests).

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan C
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb Peak District large groups venue”
Reviewed 22 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Just retuned from a long weekend at the Telephony be Exchange at Parsley Hay where family and friends were celebrating an 80th birthday. Superb venue with each room having its own bathroom. Bedrooms were small but gave us everything we needed, and the living space was wonderful for sitting, playing games, eating together and watching TV. The kitchen was really well equipped and the location is ideal - just a couple of minutes walk from the Tissington Trail. If you turn right along the track you can walk or cycle for a couple of miles to The Royal Oak which has an extensive and varied menu - Lovely food and ambiance. Bakewell is about 15 mins away by car and we enjoyed a Bakewell pudding cookery experience there, and a local fete and a trip out to the tramway museum at a Crich. This is an ideal location for a friends and family group get together and welcomes dogs too. Thoroughly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimjam23
Durham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing accomodation - perfect for large groups!”
Reviewed 13 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Stayed at the Telephone Exchange this week as part of an away day with my fellow team colleagues. The accommodation is absolutely spotless and has everything you need to cater for your large group, with a super modern kitchen, dining table and seating. The bedrooms were cosy and clean and home from home. Lovely and warm I would strongly recommend this venue.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen, wow, jsut wow!
Liked least: Leaving, I could stayed there for a week!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2016
Great to hear you team event went well - the open plan space seems to work brilliantly for meetings. Thank you for booking with us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnabelSh...
1 review
“What a fab place!”
Reviewed 13 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Everything was perfect, from booking, to answering questions and the venue! Everything had been thought about and was a really high quality throughout. We used Oliver's Chocolate Parties as recommended which was brilliant too, thoroughly enjoyed by everyone!

We will be using Peak Venues again very soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2016
Thanks for the great review, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and welcome you back to any of our venues. Look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Peak District.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouiseGre...
1 review
“Fantastic accommodation in wonderful setting - perfect for 25th Wedding Anniversary House Party celebration for 17.”
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Enjoyed a fabulous long weekend at The Telephone Exchange with a party of 17 to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary. Accommodation was perfect; superb en-suite bedrooms throughout; fabulous living space; excellent well-equipped kitchen (with 4 ovens!!) In a beautiful location in the heart of the Peak District.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnieML
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, well equipped”
Reviewed 4 August 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed at the Telephone Exchange for our annual reunion. This year there were 18 of us, plus two (well behaved) dogs. Ages ranged from 20 to 55.

The house is very well equipped and nicely finished. Great to have a table we could all get around to eat, good BBQ facilities and outside eating was easy too.

Kitchen equipment plentiful as were glasses and crockery.

Beds very comfy. Nice size bedrooms and fantastic to be all ensuite apart from one where there was a bathroom to use anyway - lovely showers. The property was also immaculately clean, much higher standard than other properties we have rented from other agencies.

Great location, right on a walking/cycling path, with bike hire just a minute's walk away - we hired tandems, bikes and an electric bike for reasonable rates and cycled into Bakewell and back - great day out and easy to do. The younger and more energetic also used the pathway for daily runs.

A couple of tiny niggles - the bedrooms upstairs were very warm being in the eaves with quite small windows so not a lot of air as we all wanted doors shut for privacy. So maybe a few fans to use upstairs would be nice - but if it's not a ridiculously warm period, it would be fine - in fact the last night when it was slightly cooler, the rooms were indeed an easy temperature to sleep.

The property could really do with either a second fridge and freezer or a much larger one. We struggled to get everything in and ended up using cool bags for salads etc as there was no room. Perhaps a wine cooler or a beer fridge might be useful? We were 18, but if you had 24 staying there, you may struggle with the fridge capacity! We ate at the owners/ pub up the road - highly recommend, very good service and fantastic food.

There is wifi, but no mobile signal - actually, not a problem as you can walk about 200 yards and get a signal then!

Would recommend this new property wholeheartedly for groups, really, really nice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Not enough fridge space
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2016
Thanks so much Annie - great review and we will look at your suggestions
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing