We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peak Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Peak Hotel”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Our old school reunion was held here in August 2014. There were 16 of us and this hotel was an inspired choice. The rooms are spacious and well appointed, and the hotel, a typical Derbyshire Manor house from 1692, is full of character. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent, as are the breakfasts. Everything you could possibly want. Biggin is ideally situated for the southern half of the Peak District, being very convenient for Dovedale, Chatsworth, Buxton etc. If you stay here you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    110
    29
    17
    11
See reviews for
62
222
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

If I was to pick a fault it was that there was no bar as such, 2 nice small lounges which were always nearly full after dining. The room was spacious and clean but the T.V. was a little on the small side, but if nothing else I would certainly stay there for the food which was excellent, one of the best I have ever dined in. So if you are not bothered about a bar (which there is a one just minutes up the road) then I would recommend Biggin Hall House Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtne16272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Fabulous food, stunning location, worthy of £50 per head menu. Chef deserves a Michelin star. Simply perfect, and a location we will continue to frequent. 10/10!I suggest the prices are raised to reflect the quality of food and service: you can charge far more for the dining experience you provide!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scot W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Second visit. We were amazed and extremely pleased with the outstanding value for money in this superb hotel and location. Excellent food and extremely hardworking staff. I want to make special mention of Rachel who seemed to be working 24/7 and always with a smile on her face. She is the icing on the cake of a terrific hotel. We enjoyed the hotel hospitality and food enormously. Thank you from mr Wilson and joanne

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Have just returned from a short break at the hotel. Cannot fault it, from a fantastic bedroom to complimentary Pimms before dinner and wine with dinner. Food was excellent and a pack lunch was thrown in for good measure each day - so we could get on with walking in the beautiful Peak District

Room Tip: Room 23 in the Lodge is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 550dairyfarmer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Spent a Sunday and Monday night at this hotel in July with Bertie the Jack Russel. Weather hot and sunny making this a perfect location to walk some of the many footpaths radiating from or close to the hotel. Pimms was served before dinner whilst orders were taken which was a nice touch. The three courses plus help yourself to cheese and biscuits and coffee were excellent on both nights and with a carafe of wine/couple included in the rate, made it excellent value.
Rooms were spacious with everything you required including a fridge with a bottle of fresh milk for teas and coffees - much better than those pots of long life stuff. Only downside of the room was a dodgy telly but that was probably due to the lack of signal - there wasn't one for the mobile either which I didn't miss. Wildlife abounds around the grounds including a pen of pigs with a low level electric fence - which is just the right height to catch a jack russels nose - he didn't half jump. All in all a very nice experience - I'm not going to say anything else or they will be booked solid and we won't be able to get in again.
By remarkable coincidence I attended a funeral on the Wednesday following our return and after the burial it was back to Biggin Hall - the catering and organisation for the family and friends in the shaded gardens was excellent. The roamimg band of hooligan chickens making a beeline for buffet plates put down by the unwary lightened everyones mood. RIP Peter.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bigdanDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pulloxhill
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We spent a very comfortable 4 nights at this hotel. The staff were friendly, polite and efficient. The evening meals were excellent with complimentary aperitifs and wine. The room in the lodge, where we stayed, was spacious with a separate lounge area. The hotel is also very convenient for trips to the dales and high peak as well as being in easy driving distance to Buxton where we attended the annual festival.

Room Tip: The lodge was peaceful and quiet overlooking the countryside with sounds of birds and other domest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toorjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biggin-by-Hartington
5.5 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
6.9 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
391 reviews
7.8 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
893 reviews
6.9 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
10.7 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Biggin Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biggin Hall Country House Hotel

Property: Biggin Hall Country House Hotel
Address: Biggin-by-Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Biggin-by-Hartington
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Biggin-by-Hartington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Biggin Hall Country House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Biggin Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biggin Hall Country Hotel
Biggin Hall Country Buxton
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel Biggin-By-Hartington, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing