We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place, charming cottage, warm and helpful...”
other travellers have booked this property
Sitting Room with wood-burning stove
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting Room with wood-burning stove
Cheese Press Cottage The original gritstone cheese press
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
80 reviews
Sitting Room with wood-burning stove
Cheese Press Cottage
The original gritstone cheese press
Sitting Room
Wood-burning stove
Kitchen area
Fully equipped kitchen with granite worktops
Dining area
Pine table in the Sitting Room
Set for dinner
Bedroom
Antique double bed
Bathroom with basin, loo, bath & shower
Enjoy the spectacular views over the fields
Patio
Views overlooking Biggin Dale from the cottage
Another view from Cheese Press Cottage
Enjoy watching the cows grazing in the fields from the cottage
Park your car next to the cottage
All-weather tennis court
Monastic Barn which dates back from the 13th Century is where the property began
Cheese Press Cottage
Cheese Press Cottage is a converted barn in the grounds of our home
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Biggin-by-Hartington, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 80 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sharon F
Commerce, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely place, charming cottage, warm and helpful hosts”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Cheese Press Cottage is a perfect, cozy, delightful pied a terre for this part of the Peak District. The cottage is equipped with everything you will need: very convenient, handy kitchen; comfortable lounge; very comfortable bed and bathroom. And Jane and Richard are both very warm, welcoming, and helpful.
But the most spectacular thing here is the beauty of the surroundings. Biggin Grange itself is lovely and immaculately kept. The views from the door of cottage are sublime, looking out over Biggin Dale to the hills beyond. Beauty, peace and tranquility -- plus perfect comfort and friendly hosts: just what I was looking for! (And Biggin Hall just down the road has a wonderful restaurant for dinner!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beauty and peace of the surroundings
Liked least: Nothing was a problem
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2015
Thanks for writing such a lovely review and I'm glad you enjoyed the peaceful cottage after your flight from the States. Quite a trip you had going on to the Cotswolds but I'm so pleased you managed to explore the area and still have plenty of time to enjoy the view of the hills from the cottage. Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Jul 2015
Really pleased you had a good time at the cottage and thanks for taking the time to write a review. The cottage is a great place to relax and enjoy the views across Biggin Dale and I'm glad you enjoyed your break. Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Terry C
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Idyllic peace and quiet”
Reviewed 14 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Wonderfully quiet little cottage tucked away with great views and sunsets. Very friendly owner living next door.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Watching the Indian Running Ducks - ceaseless entertainment
Liked least: on the small side, quite cramped
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2015
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. The sunsets this year seem to have been better than ever - unless that is me just having a bit more time to enjoy them! But the patio area of Cheese Press Cottage makes perfect viewing with the lovely cattle in the fields and the sun setting behind. So pleased you had a nice break. Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Jul 2015
How nice for you to be able to sit out for breakfast overlooking Biggin Dale and enjoying the view - in England we need to grasp those moments! I'm so glad you enjoyed your time at Cheese Press Cottage and able to make the most of all the lovely walks we are lucky enough to have around us. Do come back and see us again soon! Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting and the way the whole place has been cared for
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Jul 2015
Am pleased you approve of the antique bed - it is a new addition to the cottage and very comfy everyone says! We are lucky to be able to walk straight out onto so many walks and glad you were able to explore the area. Do come back and stay again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Beth89xx
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The perfect getaway!”
Reviewed 4 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My partner and I stayed at Cheese Press Cottage last weekend and could not have wished for a more perfect stay! Set in beautiful grounds, with amazing views over the land, the cottage was exactly what we wanted: quiet, quaint, cosy and with everything we needed.

We arrived to be greeted by Jane with freshly baked biscuits (yummy!) along with freshly cut flowers and some lovely geese just outside our door. The cottage was beautifully presented with every amenity we may require, as well as plenty of games, jigsaws & DVDs to keep us occupied.

Jane was extremely helpful during the booking process and couldn't have done more for us.

I only wish we could have stayed longer!

Fully recommended!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fantastic views over the countryside
Liked least: Too short a stay!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2015
Thanks very much for taking the time to write a review and I'm so pleased you had a relaxing weekend after your energetic rafting on the River Derwent! You needed time to chill out! I'm glad you liked Cheese Press Cottage and it does have amazing views which are very special. It was nice to meet you both. Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna M
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“This is a long overdue Review for such a Wonderful Cottage and Hostess. – Apologies for the time delay and IT Issues but”
Reviewed 19 May 2015 for a stay in June 2014

This is a long overdue Review for such a Wonderful Cottage and Hostess. – Apologies for the time delay and IT Issues but here it is finally.
My Husband and I stayed at the Cheese Press Cottage for two nights in June 2014 Id booked it as a surprise for our Anniversary, he had no idea where we were going when we arrived we absolutely loved it. Jane was there to give us a warm welcome when we both arrived, and show us around the cottage. There were freshly baked Cake and fresh flowers for us upon arrival. The cottage had everything you could wish for it was set in a very picturesque location within the private grounds of Biggin Grange. The cottage was lovely and cosy with the added bonus of a Log Burner although we didn’t need it in June, I was tempted. Sitting outside on the private patio garden with a drink in hand looking at uninterrupted views of Biggin Dale over the fields watching the clouds float was just perfect. A welcome visit from the chickens and the geese... if your lucky the dogs too who are only too happy for an Ear Tickle especially Otto. It’s a perfect way to relax and spend evening watching the sunset.
The accommodation was very cosy, clean and tidy with beautiful white cotton bedding, a totally relaxing and very peaceful cottage with a Large selection of board games, jigsaws, DVD's and plenty of walking guides.; the kitchen was well stocked and it has a nice comfy Sitting area with a large TV although your torn between looking at the TV or the Cheese Press or the Views, there is a large bathroom and very fluffy towels.
The cottage has instant and easy access to rural lanes and routes to places like Hartington which was a stone’s throw away and plenty of other areas a short drive like Ashboure and Bakewell. There are some Lovely little villages of which I’d never been to even heard of and Im from Derbyshire! You can take a turn and feel like you’re in the middle of nowhere. It’s a short walk right outside the gate to the local pub The Waterloo Inn basically a short walk over two fields, it’s very welcoming and fine for eating out if you want good basic pub food.
A visit to Hartington is recommended especially for the Cheese it a nice easy walk. Also take a trip and visited Ashbourne and Bakewell or try out the Tissington Trail and Hire a Bike.
I originally chose Cheese Press Cottage because of its location but Id now choose Cheese Press Cottage because of its charm, character, very comfortable bed, amazing views and very peaceful and private location, as we had fantastic sunny weather it meant we could sit out and enjoy the views this cottage is worth it for the views alone
We really can't recommend this place enough; Jane does a marvellous job and really goes the extra mile to make it a fabulous experience. The only downside for us was that our stay was not long enough but perhaps we can go back this year for our Anniversary.
All in all I'd highly recommend a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: amazing views and very peaceful and private location
Liked least: Not staying Longer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2015
Wow - what a great review. Very happy to wait a few months when guests write such lovely comments. So pleased you had a good time and yes you must come back for your anniversary!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing