We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great get away in the Peaks”
other travellers have booked this property
Sitting Room with wood-burning stove
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting Room with wood-burning stove
Cheese Press Cottage The original gritstone cheese press
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
80 reviews
Sitting Room with wood-burning stove
Cheese Press Cottage
The original gritstone cheese press
Sitting Room
Wood-burning stove
Kitchen area
Fully equipped kitchen with granite worktops
Dining area
Pine table in the Sitting Room
Set for dinner
Bedroom
Antique double bed
Bathroom with basin, loo, bath & shower
Enjoy the spectacular views over the fields
Patio
Views overlooking Biggin Dale from the cottage
Another view from Cheese Press Cottage
Enjoy watching the cows grazing in the fields from the cottage
Park your car next to the cottage
All-weather tennis court
Monastic Barn which dates back from the 13th Century is where the property began
Cheese Press Cottage
Cheese Press Cottage is a converted barn in the grounds of our home
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Biggin-by-Hartington, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 80 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AHeathlig...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great get away in the Peaks”
Reviewed 2 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

As with every other review this cottage is brilliant for an escape. My wife and I used this as a mini break after our wedding. We wanted a place that was in the Peaks, tranquil, away from everything and self catered. Cheese press cottage ticked all the boxes and then some.
The cottage is really nice presented with clear instructions on how to use the equipment and what to see and do in the area. My wife commented that it was one of the cleanest properties we have ever stayed at. Especially the bathroom that looked like it was recently installed it was that clean.
The day we arrived Jane popped round to ensure we were happy and made sure we were looked after with really tasty chocolate brownies. After that we were left to our own devices however we were told that if we wanted more wood for the fire etc we could get in touch.
The kitchen is well stocked with all the items you might need. The one thing I would suggest taking is a good pairing knife for vegetable prep. Everything else was perfect for what we needed.
We found the location great for Bakewell, Chattsworth, the Monsal Trail and Macclesfield. Even though we were there for a short time we managed to pack a lot in to our trip. Its definitely somewhere that we would go back to for a break away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2016
Thanks so much for the lovely review and so pleased you enjoyed you staying in Cheese Press Cottage. I will definitely get some new knives as I'm a keen cook so always want sharp knives! I have just installed a blue tooth speaker so I keep trying to add new bits and pieces. Please do come back and see us again when you need to escape to the hills!
Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FloEddy
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What can I say apart from 5 stars on every level.”
Reviewed 11 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This cottage is like a little sanctuary in a hectic world. From the moment we arrived, explored the cheese press cottage and took in the beautiful views we started to relax.

The cottage is fully equipped down to washing up liquid,tea and coffee sugar and even oil to cook with! Seems like a small thing but arriving at a cottage and finding the basics are already there just adds to the ease and shows the welcome the owners of this fabulous place want to give to their guests. Home made brownies in a tin on the table just added to the warm welcome. Sounds simple maybe but we stay in many cottages all over the country and it is amazing how many don't provide these little touches that somehow make all the difference.

Location is wonderful with a local pub ten minutes walk away. Hartington is a couple miles away and also has plenty of food and drink options as well as the village stores that has beatiful local food and beer to buy if you fancy eating in and enjoying the atmosphere of the cottage and the view. We did just that, cooked a simple meal, opened a bottle of red, lit the fire and admired the view.

The cows in the field, the sheep on the hills, the Indian runner ducks and chickens in the garden and a family of buzzards flying overhead. Just wonderful.

Comfortable, clean, fully equipped and quite simply fabulous.

If you are looking for an escape in the wonderful Peak District. Look no further. I'd have no hesitation returning or recommending to friends galore.

We tend not to return to the same place twice, with so many places to see however this one has made me rethink. We would love to return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2016
Am so pleased you had a nice couple of nights staying at the cottage and thank you for writing such a lovely review. The buzzards have only appeared this year so I do hope they stay! Hartington seems to be getting better and better and I gather now wood-fired pizzas on a Friday night at The Village Stores so I must try that out soon!
I'm sorry I didn't get to meet you but I hope my son and husband helped you.
Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
553morag
Cannock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful, scenic and relaxing”
Reviewed 18 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Second year at the Cheese Press Cottage and just as wonderful as the first. The cottage is small but has everything needed for 2 people, from the amazing bed with 100% cotton bed linen to the tassimo coffee maker in the kitchen.....forgot to say homemade brownies on arrival. The local walks and scenery are breathtaking. Also enjoyed a couple of great steaks at the local pub The Waterloo Inn. Looking forward to our third years break in 2017. Thank you Jane xx

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2016
It's lovely when guests return and I'm glad you had another good time at Cheese Press Cottage. Pleased you discovered the local pub and we are lucky to have that in walking distance. Look forward to seeing you again next year!
Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckanie
London
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Cozy and lovely little cottage!”
Reviewed 7 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Cheese Press was wonderful - just what we needed for a relaxing break! Jane was lovely and had even made us some delicious brownies! the cottage was so cozy and warm, it was ideal. The area is wonderful - the weather was awful so we didn;t get to see too much, but would love to come back in the summer. if you're looking for a cozy romantic break, this is it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall coziness of the place
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Dec 2015
So pleased you had a nice couple of days enjoying the cottage and sometimes when the weather is so awful it is the perfect excuse to not go too far apart from lighting a fire and relaxing! Do come back again when hopefully the weather has improved!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTeache...
Staffordshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic bolt hole”
Reviewed 3 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We just wanted a few days of peace and the feeling of being isolated. A chance to clear our minds and chill out. We got exactly that here. A roaring fire, the sound of the November wind and rain , a comfy couch, fully equipped kitchen and a huge antique bed.Take your supplies, switch off and enjoy. Loved it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Dec 2015
Thanks for taking the time to write a review and really pleased you had a nice couple of days to relax despite all the wild weather!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rural Beauty”
Reviewed 26 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

November isn't the ideal time to visit the Peak District, and true to form it was either gale force wind or driving rain for most of our mid week break at Cheese Press Cottage. That we had a lovely time was in no small part due to the charming accommodation. When we weren't out visiting some of the local Peak towns, we were curled up on the settee in front of the log fire. The cottage is small but ideal for two. It's well equipped, cosy, and has a lovely view. Situated on a private farm estate, it is delightfully peaceful, far from the 'main' road (itself a narrow country lane), yet within a mile of the local town of Biggin and the typically rural Waterloo Inn. This is also a treat, with its real ales and home cooked traditional pub grub.
So, despite the elements trying their best to spoil things, we had a relaxing and thoroughly enjoyable 4 day break. As a bonus the owners are very friendly and live close by.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Charming and quaint cottage
Liked least: The weather!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Dec 2015
We certainly seem to have had our fair share of wind and rain this autumn and I'm glad it didn't stop you enjoying your stay at Biggin Grange. We are lucky having The Waterloo Inn in the village and I'm pleased you managed to go and discover it. Thanks for the nice review and hope you may return in warmer weather!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pootle71
wem
2 reviews
“all the peace and quiet you`ll ever need.”
Reviewed 3 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our time here to the point where we realised 2 nights was to short a stay.The cottage was perfect in every way with the added bonus of no mobile phone signal (shame) so no annoying calls/messages to spoil the quiet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The log burner
Liked least: Having to leave!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2015
I'm glad you enjoyed your couple of nights at Cheese Press Cottage and made the most of the peace and quiet. The mobile signal is patchy but ours do work so sadly it is always ringing or beeping! Come back and see us again when you want to escape to the countryside.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing