We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage with lovely views.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Farrowings

Bedroom with king-size bed and vaulted ceiling
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bedroom with king-size bed and vaulted ceiling
The Old Farrowings Wood-burning stove to make the cottage really cosy.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
74 reviews
Bedroom with king-size bed and vaulted ceiling
The Old Farrowings
Wood-burning stove to make the cottage really cosy.
Kitchen with everything you need for your stay.
Sitting room looking into the open-plan kitchen.
Dining area
Kitchen with granite worktops.
Sitting Room with wood-burning stove
Sitting Room with rugs and flagstone floor.
Bedroom with king-size bed, antique sofa and plenty of storage space.
Antique pine cupboard with plenty of shelves for clothes!
Tennis court
View towards village
Patio area
Monastic barn
Outside The Old Farrowings cottage.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Biggin-by-Hartington, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 74 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Anna_Pear...
1 review
“Beautiful cottage with lovely views.”
Reviewed 19 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We spent the weekend in this cosy cottage and thoroughly enjoyed it. We arrived late so no face to face welcome but inside we found a lovely hand written note and some homemade ginger biscuits. Tasteful decoration throughout, great facilities and all your home creature comforts. Bedroom was really spacious (great nights sleep in very comfy 4 poster bed) and the ensuite very nice too. Would recommend to anyone looking for a home away from home trip to the Peaks.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I am so pleased you enjoyed your weekend at the cottage. It was really nice to meet you both and if ever you need to have a few days break away again then you know where we are! Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hospitality, location, modern conversion
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Oct 2014
It was really nice to meet you and I loved hearing the roar of your Harley - the first one at Biggin Grange! Am glad you managed to explore the area but also have some time relaxing and enjoying the warm weather and views. Thank you very much for your nice review. Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ryton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Woodburner
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Oct 2014
Thrilled you had a nice few days in Derbyshire and glad my Richard was able to scoop you up from Hartington - sometimes trying to get a taxi at the weekends can be hard round here! Also you managed to get to play some tennis. Come back and see us again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sarah P
Hopton on Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect chocolate box cottage”
Reviewed 19 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We have just returned from our four night stay at the Old Farrowings. Words escape us when we try to portray just how lovely and pictures this cottage is. You would be very hard pushed to find a cleaner, cosier cottage in the UK!

The Old Farrowings provided everything we needed and more; well equipped kitchen, beautifully furnished and most importantly wifi! If you're looking for a romantic getaway or an active exploring break this cottage will go above and beyond your needs. Jane was very welcoming and friendly, just an overall delight, which added to the homely feel of the place.

We shan't bore you with any more of our waffle but we could sing this place's praises until the cows come home! We really recommend you experience this place for yourselves.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2014
Thanks so much for the lovely review and I'm so pleased you managed to have some relaxing days enjoying Derbyshire. We are still enjoying some lovely late summer days and everywhere just looks so nice so do come back again and see us again when you need to recharge your batteries!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: cobwebs (on extremely high rafters in bedroom)
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Sep 2014
I'm so pleased you had a nice week and managed to do lots of walks. We are so lucky being so close to lots of wonderful walks and I bet the dogs were hoping you would take them along with you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tokyo
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Sep 2014
I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the nice review. I'm glad you like the cottage and I try to keep all the original features along with all the modern essentials that we all need! It was really nice to meet you both. Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and views
Liked least: Mattress
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Aug 2014
I am really pleased you chose you come and stay with us on your way to the Lake District and glad you had a nice few days.
Even in the summer the wood-burning stove can make the cottage so cosy and I'm glad you made use of it.
It was nice to meet you both and do come back in the future,
Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing