We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ramblers Barn

Log burning stove
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Log burning stove
Plenty of character. It doesn't get better than this. Low lighting for romantic, classics rests away from work and the big smoke
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
66 reviews
Log burning stove
Plenty of character. It doesn't get better than this.
Low lighting for romantic, classics rests away from work and the big smoke
Ramblers Barn is on the left by the road
Paintings for sale
The Round Robin walk up the lane by the barn
A break with a unique different
Home comforts in our beautiful barn
Painters, artists, musicians, writers and walkers are welcome
Parking space
Gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Biggin-by-Hartington, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
caitnee
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ideal”
Reviewed 20 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Had everything we needed and more - quietly tucked away but close enough to local villages to visit a pub in the evening, beautiful walks on the doorstep, hot shower and cooking facilities. Exactly what we were looking for.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travel G
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peak district cottage”
Reviewed 18 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Very nice place, located in a quiet hamlet nearby to lots of great walking opportunities and not far from Buxton either. Cottage was tidy and clean and as advertised. Will be back next time in this area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lily R
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
Reviewed 9 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Thank you so much for the lovely few days at ramblers barn. Everything about our stay was so thoughtful and attentive. Ideal for anyone wanting to see the scenic Peak District, perfect location with great walking routes from the doorstep. Defo would recommend!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh L
2 reviews
“Lovely cottage and lovely weekend”
Reviewed 5 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We had a lovely time staying here over a weekend in July. Very comfortable and cosy and exactly what we'd hoped for when booking the place. Would definitely stay here again!

There were a few spiders as others have said but this wasn't an issue, otherwise perhaps the heating and hot water could have been turned on for when we arrived as was cold! Otherwise not a bad word about the place, didn't get a chance to meet our host but she was helpful on the phone for any questions we had.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard W
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great”
Reviewed 7 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Wonderfully comfortable base for a Morris Dancing Tour - main party indoor camping in the village hall

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waqas s
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Potential to be 5 star let down by little things”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Negatives:

-No sign, or way to identify the building- drove past it twice; even pulled up in the drive, but as the cottage had no name number or sign we assumed it was the wrong one. Had no phone signal to call owner

- Key was in door, no communication with owner. Was nice to be left alone, but a greeting or a hello would have been nice

- Under floor heating in kitchen took forever to work (worked well once it did).

- Other cottages I have stayed at usually have a few food items (just a nice gesture), this had nothing.

- Shower wet room, had no heating it (so was cold), its all on a level floor so water spread to the sink and takes forever to drain.

- No hand towels in Bathroom or kitchen

- The cleanliness was just average. A few cobwebs around

----Positives ----

- Good location

- Beautiful fireplace, with logs available

- Reasonably prices

- Wifi worked fairly well

- Locals were friendly

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2017
Hi thanks for your feedback I'm sorry you couldn't find it we did say that there isn't good reception and we don't want to put a big sign up as we like to be subtle but would have answered through watts app etc the towels should have been on the bed weeevyey not ? And sorry there were cob webs we will sort that out. I'm sorry you had these points we have never had bad feedback before. My mum is very shy and I wasn't there to welcome you please accept my apologies and hope to see you again.
Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarahphil...
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful and amazing”
Reviewed 27 March 2017 for a stay in November 2016

I came here with my husband and 1 young child.we loved it so much. The garden was so beautiful and relaxing. The cottage was the best place I have stayed in my life. It was cozy and very family friendly. We are definitely coming back here again. The surrounding area takes your breath away by its oustanding views. I really recommend this to everyone because it is amazing and beautiful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing